We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again. Minor caution though..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would stay here again. Minor caution though..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Pros: Ambience, friendly and helpful staff, 2 pools.

Cons: Take a little walk to reach the hotspot along Cenang where the restaurants and bars are. For safety go in numbers.

CAUTION: General workers at the hotel. We asked to have our faulty AC fixed by some maintenance workers and they lingered more than was necessary and were reluctant to leave our room (we were all female travellers) until we had to sternly ask them if they were done fixing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for staying with us in July 2012 and your recently highlighted review do not allow us to identify the said staff to take any appropriate action as we do take guest comments seriously.

However, it is our disappointment to learn about the nuisance that you encountered with our maintenance staff as mentioned. Although it has been almost a year since the incident, we wish to express our regrets and apologies to you and your other colleagues who have been travelling together.

We are glad that you enjoyed the ambience of two pools - fresh and salt water and also received friendly and helpful services from the staff.

Nevertheless we look forward to your return to The Frangipani Langkawi in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    390
    136
    51
    25
See reviews for
259
321
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I took the sea facing view room and the room given to me was conveniently located which is right in the middle of the two pools. The resort is great if you want to have a relax and calm vacation. I love sitting by the beach doing nothing but just meditate. The staffs were friendly and helpful except that I encountered a overly friendly pool/environment staff which I would warn single ladies or young girls to stay away from, parents with teenage daughter should take note of this. Aside from the very uneasy encounter, my overall stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for choosing The Frangipani as your holiday destination and the kind comments of your stay.

We are very disappointed and regret to note of this incident which the head of the department and HR has been instructed to investigate and take stern disciplinary action on the staff if found guilty. We take our guest comments seriously and do not condone such act in the interest of our other guests in the future.

We hope this incident will not mar the overall enjoyment you have had with your family and look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Frangipani ,Langkawi for 5 days in the last week of April 2013.Was a bit apprehensive after having read the reviews but Agoda was running a good offer, hence booked a deluxe room.

Quite frankly, it was one of the best vacations we have had.My wife and son enjoyed the place, the beach is fantastic, which was a few steps from the Beach Villa, which we upgraded to, once we reached.

The location of the resort is very advantageous, specially, when you're in a place like Langkawi.Right next to the happening Cenang street and beach, with great restaurants like :

1 - Nasi Kandar(Tomato) , - Great Curry Rice options.Malay food was also good.
2 - Artisans - Pizza's to die for(economical as well) and the Mcdonald's/KFC's etc..

Everything is walking from there, if you like to walk. OR rent a car - for about 55-70 MYR a day..or a bike for 40 MYR a day..Very reasonable..
You can drive/ride to all tourist attractions and reach in about 30 minutes to the farthest one.

The resort itself is a bit dated, but still is good value, because of the location.Condition is not really run down.
Rooms were spacious and clean.The Deluxe rooms come with a terrace or balcony each.
The beach villa's face the sea, and you literally walk only 1 minute to be on the beach.

All the rooms are anyway 5 minutes from the beach.

Food, I believe, is a little expensive at the resort with very few options in the room service menu.Breakfast buffet and egg counter was good.

Room service is only from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Staff was not very interactive but friendly though, when you would walk upto them for something.

I am not sure why they did not have a shower option along-with the bathtub?

Check-in was excellent & seamless.We arrived a few hours early, but despite a 3 PM check-in policy, we were given a room at no extra charge.That was good.Specially, when our son was tired and wanted to take a nap.

Wi-fi is a disappointment, since it works only in the lobby and Mentari restaurant.But we were busy with the beach and going around Langkawi, hence did not really bother us much.

Overall, nice location, decent enough place.Could be definitely better being a 4 Star property, but it was a good vacation.Would consider going back, if we plan another trip to Langkawi.

Room Tip: Book the beach villa, if you want to enjoy the beach.The beach villa's are perfectly located to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We thank you for choosing The Frangipani for your recent vacation in Langkawi with your family and glad that you found our resort, being strategically located is very convenient to your expectations.

Your overall lovely comments on the resort in particular and on the Island in general are well received accept the staff at the resort although friendly but not receptive will be looked into for further improvement. The deluxe room that you stayed in was recently being refurbished and the resort being looked upon as a bit dated is being maintained while plans are insight for an upgrade including the additional coverage on the Wi-Fi facilities.

We are delighted that your overall stay has been satisfactory and we always look forward to welcome you and family to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently renovated "garden view" room, well designed with separate dressing/bathroom area. Great aircon and mountain / garden views. Spacious grounds, situated on absolute breachfront with pools and restaurant / bar views over spectacular bay. Beach exceptionally clean. Eco resort seems to be serious about ecology and reuse. Wifi only available at pool / bar not in room. Jacuzzi out of order. Some facilities in need of repair. Staff consistently friendly. Breakfast has some solid credentials for Western taste including freshly ground expresso and egg bar cooked to your liking included in the room price (check deal). A few semi-hostile cats inhabit this resort but can be placated with offerings of protein. The beach has a nice small island 1000 metres from the bar, I'm heading ova soon Aussie-crawl style, If you don't hear from me again I haven't made it. Restaurant resonably priced with broad range of cuisines. Grounds could do with some additional grooming. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: room close to the bar if you want wifi - also close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words on our resort, the newly renovated rooms and the holiday experience. Your feedback will be shared with our team to help spur us on to do even better for our guests.

Our Jacuzzi is currently being repaired and we aim to have it fixed very soon. We hope you enjoyed the use of our two swimming pools in the resort.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the grounds. This is a constant effort that we will continue to maintain, more so now with the recent rains.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Eco in a gentle way but not as far as it could be. About 30% too expensive for what it is (often luke warm food). Lovely pool and the beach with sunsets are great. Jacuzzi? Ten days there and still "under repair". Restaurant has small portions with high price. It reminded us of Bali in the early eighties. Relaxing , pleasant and just a little amiss. Noisy air con in the rooms and no baths. Make sure you are near the beach or you could be back amongst the staff quarters. Hotel going up in front so beware for late 2013 for construction noise. There are better choices. Its PR is better than the reality.

Room Tip: facing and on beach or give it a miss. Make sure it is single story or the chairs dragging on the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the resort and your stay experience. We regret to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

The resort is recognized as Malaysia’s greenest resort, where more than 200 green practices are implemented. Guests are always invited to join in our free guided Eco-Walk Tour within the grounds of the resort, conducted dailywhich will give a detailed insight to our over 200 green practices, both the seen and the unseen. It is truly an enriching and educational tour.

All of our Villas and some of our Deluxe rooms are equipped with a bathtub. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us of your preference for a bathtub during your stay with us, or that you were not happy with the air condition of the room while you were in the resort. We would have happily changed you to a room to accommodate your needs and request.

The Jacuzzi pool is currently being repaired. We trust you enjoyed experiencing the two swimming pools in the resort (the fresh water pool and the salt water pool)

Our restaurant prices are at par with other hotels and resorts of same category in Langkawi. Nevertheless I am sure you also agree that our location makes it very easy to find restaurants at the entrance of the resort that offers different varieties to suit every need and expectation.

There is a new hotel coming up and it is located at the entrance of the resort. It is well away from the resort rooms and pools and beach. The construction has started and we have never received any noise complaints from our guests while they stay in the resort, as this site is quite far away.

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion. We once again regret to hear your stay experience did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and to meet your needs and requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very disappointing Staff unfriendly, breakfast poor quality, whole resort run down, stayed there four years ago and was happy with the resort, hence the reason for going back, moved out a day early as was so disappointed No wifi except in reception area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

We thank you for opting to return to The Frangipani Langkawi and we regret to hear that your stay experience did not meet your expectations.

Due to the proximity of the rooms to the beach and sea, maintenance and upkeep of the resort is a year round effort and we constantly work on this. Recently we have just completed the painting of the villas on the beach.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to connect to the resort wifi. We provide complimentary wifi reception in the lobby, restaurant and swimming pool areas of the resort.

Once again we regret to hear that your stay experience did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in March as the first stop of our honeymoon, in a beachfront bungalow.

This was the perfect destination for the start of our honeymoon. The bungalow, which faced directly onto the beachfront, was well-appointed, and decked out with petals with a heart reading 'Happy Honeymoon', and an enclosed outdoor shower in a rock garden setting.

The setting was beautiful, frangipani flowers everywhere, a lovely restaurant with a scrumptious breakfast buffet and tasty menu, two pools (one saltwater), a spa and massage centre, and a sweet covers and karaoke band in the evenings.

We also had a romantic dinner on the beach inside a beachside pagoda in front of a magical sunset, after which the rain (which had stayed away from the island for the previous three weeks) poured down outside. Absolutely magical.

The location of the resort was fantastic, not far from the main beach Pantai Cenang (fifteen minutes walk away), which has plenty of bars and shops. For other places on the island, taxis are cheap and hiring a car is also an easy and inexpensive option.

Thanks also to all the hotel staff who never failed to be courteous, helpful and kind during our stay, not least of all the manager who was always available to lend a helping hand or three.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront bungalow, they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#9 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.