We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco resort with fantastic beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eco resort with fantastic beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently renovated "garden view" room, well designed with separate dressing/bathroom area. Great aircon and mountain / garden views. Spacious grounds, situated on absolute breachfront with pools and restaurant / bar views over spectacular bay. Beach exceptionally clean. Eco resort seems to be serious about ecology and reuse. Wifi only available at pool / bar not in room. Jacuzzi out of order. Some facilities in need of repair. Staff consistently friendly. Breakfast has some solid credentials for Western taste including freshly ground expresso and egg bar cooked to your liking included in the room price (check deal). A few semi-hostile cats inhabit this resort but can be placated with offerings of protein. The beach has a nice small island 1000 metres from the bar, I'm heading ova soon Aussie-crawl style, If you don't hear from me again I haven't made it. Restaurant resonably priced with broad range of cuisines. Grounds could do with some additional grooming. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: room close to the bar if you want wifi - also close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words on our resort, the newly renovated rooms and the holiday experience. Your feedback will be shared with our team to help spur us on to do even better for our guests.

Our Jacuzzi is currently being repaired and we aim to have it fixed very soon. We hope you enjoyed the use of our two swimming pools in the resort.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the grounds. This is a constant effort that we will continue to maintain, more so now with the recent rains.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    334
    122
    47
    22
See reviews for
219
281
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Eco in a gentle way but not as far as it could be. About 30% too expensive for what it is (often luke warm food). Lovely pool and the beach with sunsets are great. Jacuzzi? Ten days there and still "under repair". Restaurant has small portions with high price. It reminded us of Bali in the early eighties. Relaxing , pleasant and just a little amiss. Noisy air con in the rooms and no baths. Make sure you are near the beach or you could be back amongst the staff quarters. Hotel going up in front so beware for late 2013 for construction noise. There are better choices. Its PR is better than the reality.

Room Tip: facing and on beach or give it a miss. Make sure it is single story or the chairs dragging on the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the resort and your stay experience. We regret to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

The resort is recognized as Malaysia’s greenest resort, where more than 200 green practices are implemented. Guests are always invited to join in our free guided Eco-Walk Tour within the grounds of the resort, conducted dailywhich will give a detailed insight to our over 200 green practices, both the seen and the unseen. It is truly an enriching and educational tour.

All of our Villas and some of our Deluxe rooms are equipped with a bathtub. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us of your preference for a bathtub during your stay with us, or that you were not happy with the air condition of the room while you were in the resort. We would have happily changed you to a room to accommodate your needs and request.

The Jacuzzi pool is currently being repaired. We trust you enjoyed experiencing the two swimming pools in the resort (the fresh water pool and the salt water pool)

Our restaurant prices are at par with other hotels and resorts of same category in Langkawi. Nevertheless I am sure you also agree that our location makes it very easy to find restaurants at the entrance of the resort that offers different varieties to suit every need and expectation.

There is a new hotel coming up and it is located at the entrance of the resort. It is well away from the resort rooms and pools and beach. The construction has started and we have never received any noise complaints from our guests while they stay in the resort, as this site is quite far away.

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion. We once again regret to hear your stay experience did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and to meet your needs and requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very disappointing Staff unfriendly, breakfast poor quality, whole resort run down, stayed there four years ago and was happy with the resort, hence the reason for going back, moved out a day early as was so disappointed No wifi except in reception area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

We thank you for opting to return to The Frangipani Langkawi and we regret to hear that your stay experience did not meet your expectations.

Due to the proximity of the rooms to the beach and sea, maintenance and upkeep of the resort is a year round effort and we constantly work on this. Recently we have just completed the painting of the villas on the beach.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to connect to the resort wifi. We provide complimentary wifi reception in the lobby, restaurant and swimming pool areas of the resort.

Once again we regret to hear that your stay experience did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in March as the first stop of our honeymoon, in a beachfront bungalow.

This was the perfect destination for the start of our honeymoon. The bungalow, which faced directly onto the beachfront, was well-appointed, and decked out with petals with a heart reading 'Happy Honeymoon', and an enclosed outdoor shower in a rock garden setting.

The setting was beautiful, frangipani flowers everywhere, a lovely restaurant with a scrumptious breakfast buffet and tasty menu, two pools (one saltwater), a spa and massage centre, and a sweet covers and karaoke band in the evenings.

We also had a romantic dinner on the beach inside a beachside pagoda in front of a magical sunset, after which the rain (which had stayed away from the island for the previous three weeks) poured down outside. Absolutely magical.

The location of the resort was fantastic, not far from the main beach Pantai Cenang (fifteen minutes walk away), which has plenty of bars and shops. For other places on the island, taxis are cheap and hiring a car is also an easy and inexpensive option.

Thanks also to all the hotel staff who never failed to be courteous, helpful and kind during our stay, not least of all the manager who was always available to lend a helping hand or three.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront bungalow, they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was really amazing.we went for honeymoon.we were in a superior room.clean and we like it.the bathroom was very nice.
The welcome decor in our room fot honeymoon was lovely.
The hotel outside room us green,gives you fresh air and you feel the peace there.
All employees are friendly and helpfull...
One last thing,the location of hotel in Langkawi us excellent.
Next visit to Langkawi,for sure we will stay in Frangipani.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 7 night.. Stunning location, sweet and friendly staff, beautiful pool, chilled beach bar and yum variety of food available on the menu, cute garden villa with lush outside shower... ohhh and not to forget the scooter rentals and massage spa's scattered along the road outside.. We loved it.
The spa at the resort didn't have someone available at the first time we visited, so we walked outside (2min) and got addicted to the local Alun-Alun Spa!! The security guards were always about and they and every other staff member greeted us with a warm hello and goodbye. The villas are older but it adds to the cuteness, it's not pretentious and over the top but cozy, clean and just perfect really.
There was no wifi in our room, but it got us out and by the pool/beach more often.. ya can't really complain about that... Thank-you Frangipani Resort :) we're telling our friends to visit!!!

Room Tip: if you really need wifi in your room perhaps requesting a room closer to reception/restaurant/pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Myself husband and daughter stayed here for 6 nights, concluding our tour of Malaysia. What a wonderful end to a superb holiday we loved this resort. All staff were friendly and the resort has a lot of eco friendly ideas in place.
I can't understand the previous negative reviews, so what if the decor is a bit old, who goes on holiday to stay in the room? We had a beach front villa, which was nice and we loved the outdoor shower. The beach is lovely and deserted, the sea is very warm. there are signs up for Jelly Fish, but we never saw any and we all went in the sea loads.
The breakfast was great a really good spread in a great location, we didn't have dinner there, purely because we like to go out and about, we did see dinners coming out and they looked nice. There is happy hour for cocktails and beers, 30% off between 4 and 7.
The resort was very quiet whilst we were there loads of sunbeds available, we only used the freshwater pool which was very nice.
We loved our 6 days here, found it so relaxing and would definitely go back if we ever go back to Langkawi. On the last day my daughter adopted a tree, which was a really great idea, she got to help out planting the tree and was issued with a certificate and a sign was put in front of the tree with her name, country of residence and date. The resort sends yearly photos and updates, the lovely thing is that when we returned home there were already 4 photo's emailed through.

Room Tip: The beachfront villa is well worth the extra, nothing like walking out of your door straight onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.