We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frangipani” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Frangipani”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very disappointing Staff unfriendly, breakfast poor quality, whole resort run down, stayed there four years ago and was happy with the resort, hence the reason for going back, moved out a day early as was so disappointed No wifi except in reception area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Bennett Peter, Executive Assistant Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies :

We thank you for opting to return to The Frangipani Langkawi and we regret to hear that your stay experience did not meet your expectations.

Due to the proximity of the rooms to the beach and sea, maintenance and upkeep of the resort is a year round effort and we constantly work on this. Recently we have just completed the painting of the villas on the beach.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to connect to the resort wifi. We provide complimentary wifi reception in the lobby, restaurant and swimming pool areas of the resort.

Once again we regret to hear that your stay experience did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    332
    122
    48
    22
See reviews for
217
280
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in March as the first stop of our honeymoon, in a beachfront bungalow.

This was the perfect destination for the start of our honeymoon. The bungalow, which faced directly onto the beachfront, was well-appointed, and decked out with petals with a heart reading 'Happy Honeymoon', and an enclosed outdoor shower in a rock garden setting.

The setting was beautiful, frangipani flowers everywhere, a lovely restaurant with a scrumptious breakfast buffet and tasty menu, two pools (one saltwater), a spa and massage centre, and a sweet covers and karaoke band in the evenings.

We also had a romantic dinner on the beach inside a beachside pagoda in front of a magical sunset, after which the rain (which had stayed away from the island for the previous three weeks) poured down outside. Absolutely magical.

The location of the resort was fantastic, not far from the main beach Pantai Cenang (fifteen minutes walk away), which has plenty of bars and shops. For other places on the island, taxis are cheap and hiring a car is also an easy and inexpensive option.

Thanks also to all the hotel staff who never failed to be courteous, helpful and kind during our stay, not least of all the manager who was always available to lend a helping hand or three.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront bungalow, they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was really amazing.we went for honeymoon.we were in a superior room.clean and we like it.the bathroom was very nice.
The welcome decor in our room fot honeymoon was lovely.
The hotel outside room us green,gives you fresh air and you feel the peace there.
All employees are friendly and helpfull...
One last thing,the location of hotel in Langkawi us excellent.
Next visit to Langkawi,for sure we will stay in Frangipani.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 7 night.. Stunning location, sweet and friendly staff, beautiful pool, chilled beach bar and yum variety of food available on the menu, cute garden villa with lush outside shower... ohhh and not to forget the scooter rentals and massage spa's scattered along the road outside.. We loved it.
The spa at the resort didn't have someone available at the first time we visited, so we walked outside (2min) and got addicted to the local Alun-Alun Spa!! The security guards were always about and they and every other staff member greeted us with a warm hello and goodbye. The villas are older but it adds to the cuteness, it's not pretentious and over the top but cozy, clean and just perfect really.
There was no wifi in our room, but it got us out and by the pool/beach more often.. ya can't really complain about that... Thank-you Frangipani Resort :) we're telling our friends to visit!!!

Room Tip: if you really need wifi in your room perhaps requesting a room closer to reception/restaurant/pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Myself husband and daughter stayed here for 6 nights, concluding our tour of Malaysia. What a wonderful end to a superb holiday we loved this resort. All staff were friendly and the resort has a lot of eco friendly ideas in place.
I can't understand the previous negative reviews, so what if the decor is a bit old, who goes on holiday to stay in the room? We had a beach front villa, which was nice and we loved the outdoor shower. The beach is lovely and deserted, the sea is very warm. there are signs up for Jelly Fish, but we never saw any and we all went in the sea loads.
The breakfast was great a really good spread in a great location, we didn't have dinner there, purely because we like to go out and about, we did see dinners coming out and they looked nice. There is happy hour for cocktails and beers, 30% off between 4 and 7.
The resort was very quiet whilst we were there loads of sunbeds available, we only used the freshwater pool which was very nice.
We loved our 6 days here, found it so relaxing and would definitely go back if we ever go back to Langkawi. On the last day my daughter adopted a tree, which was a really great idea, she got to help out planting the tree and was issued with a certificate and a sign was put in front of the tree with her name, country of residence and date. The resort sends yearly photos and updates, the lovely thing is that when we returned home there were already 4 photo's emailed through.

Room Tip: The beachfront villa is well worth the extra, nothing like walking out of your door straight onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

One of the best resorts in Langkawi. Checked in a beach villa, it was just amazing with everything specially for the sunset view.
If you're looking for a romantic thing to do ask the restaurant for a "Salla dinner" which is a romantic dinner by the beach.
Helpful staff and great environment.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located in a convenient place, the Frangipani offered a great stay for our 6-day trip to Langkawi. Our room was great, no complaints there, staff were friendly (security guards always saluting as you drive in to the hotel, housekeeping staff greeting whenever you passed by, etc.), and the view from the beach was splendid. It's great to see a hotel adopting eco-friendly practices as well, with tree plantation for guests, reusing plastic bottles, having recycling bins throughout the grounds, and lots more!

The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to provide better food, especially for breakfast. If you come down early, like 7-8am, you can expect the food to be hot and eatable. One day we went after 9am, and were disappointed to find that the food was not fresh, the pancakes were hard, hash browns cold, etc. We were glad that omelettes were freshly made in front of you, so at least those were hot. I suggest if you do come across cold food, the best thing to do is go for the cereals and toast some bread.

Apart from this one complaint, the rest of the hotel was fine. The facilities were nice, the swimming pools were clean, there were more than enough lounge chairs on the beach, and you get free parking too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday on the island. We are happy that you found the room was great, friendly staff and splendid view from the beach. It is really heartening to receive such kind words of appreciation on our green practices which are part of our efforts to preserve mother earth.

All our breakfast items are freshly prepared and the impression of not fresh could have resulted from the food sitting longer under a burner or that the food cover was left opened longer than it should. Nevertheless, the kitchen is aware and will pay more attention to the short-comings for which we would like to apologies.

Meanwhile we look forward to welcome you at The Frangipani Langkawi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.