We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice eco-friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice eco-friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located in a convenient place, the Frangipani offered a great stay for our 6-day trip to Langkawi. Our room was great, no complaints there, staff were friendly (security guards always saluting as you drive in to the hotel, housekeeping staff greeting whenever you passed by, etc.), and the view from the beach was splendid. It's great to see a hotel adopting eco-friendly practices as well, with tree plantation for guests, reusing plastic bottles, having recycling bins throughout the grounds, and lots more!

The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to provide better food, especially for breakfast. If you come down early, like 7-8am, you can expect the food to be hot and eatable. One day we went after 9am, and were disappointed to find that the food was not fresh, the pancakes were hard, hash browns cold, etc. We were glad that omelettes were freshly made in front of you, so at least those were hot. I suggest if you do come across cold food, the best thing to do is go for the cereals and toast some bread.

Apart from this one complaint, the rest of the hotel was fine. The facilities were nice, the swimming pools were clean, there were more than enough lounge chairs on the beach, and you get free parking too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday on the island. We are happy that you found the room was great, friendly staff and splendid view from the beach. It is really heartening to receive such kind words of appreciation on our green practices which are part of our efforts to preserve mother earth.

All our breakfast items are freshly prepared and the impression of not fresh could have resulted from the food sitting longer under a burner or that the food cover was left opened longer than it should. Nevertheless, the kitchen is aware and will pay more attention to the short-comings for which we would like to apologies.

Meanwhile we look forward to welcome you at The Frangipani Langkawi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    368
    132
    51
    24
See reviews for
242
306
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a beach villa in March 2013. Yes, it has a few hundred metres of beach frontage which many resorts do not have, however the beach is quite ordinary compared to many Malaysian beaches. The resort is over 20 years old, the rooms are drab and look tired, and it totally lacks the "wow" factor that many Malaysian resorts have. Maintenance has clearly been minimal and done on the cheap; bathrooms need renovating; walls have been partially scraped before being repainted; paint flakes are everywhere. Many of the rooms, especially those close to the restaurant, are inflicted with the roar and smell of the kitchen exhaust fans that run all day and night. Do not expect tranquility at night, as the second rate live entertainment can be heard all over the resort until late at night, even over the sound of the airconditioner in your room. Unless you want to come home with memories of your Langkawi holiday being at a budget resort then spend a little extra per night and stay at a more up-market, quality resort.

Room Tip: It is not a quiet and tranquil resort so get a room as far away from the restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in this resort with my family (wife, 4 yr old son and infant daughter) for 3 nights and I must say that I made the right choice. The experience from arrival till departure was simply great. Not only the staff at the reception was very humble but even the cleaners across the resort would greet you with smile when you would pass by. The pools were great and so was the bar between pools and the private beach. The buffet breakfast was simply great. The beach was amazing, clean and far stretched out and since it was private to the resort, we enjoyed a lot without having to worry about crowd. I really enjoyed at the resort and so did my family, specially my 4 yr old. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who's looking for a comfortable stay in Langkawi for value of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in March. The location is about 15 mins away from the airport. Just booked a taxi at the airport to get to the hotel. The hotel is nice.. it has all the basic stuff a good hotel should have. The hotel could do with a makeover and seems a bit dated. But everything is very clean and the staff are just brilliant.
There is just 1 restaurant with a big menu but if you are unable to make it out for a meal then it could get a bit boring foodwise. They lay out a big breakfast in the morning.
The pool is nice and big and there is another saltwater pool too. The beach is a few meters from the pool/bar
Currently the spa is not in service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for choosing our resort during your recent holiday in Langkawi and your kind review here.

We are happy that your kids and you found a relaxing break with all the basic stuffs a good hotel should have to fulfill your needs, overall surroundings cleaned, brilliant staff, breakfast with wide varieties, choice of fresh and salt water pools and the beach is walking distance from the pool bar.

Our Spa is opened from 11am to 7pm daily and masseur services are supported by appointment basis.

Plan is underway for a renovation soon, being part of our goal to meet guest satisfactions and expectations.

We earnestly look forward to your return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late March. The location is a 15 min drive from the airport and is right on the waterfront with the rooms a 30 second walk from the beach.

The resort has 2 pools and plenty of deck chairs around the pool/bar area and also along the shore overlooking the beach. The rooms were a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment, but were clean and spacious. Only one thing i would prefer is if the air con wasn't pointing right onto the bed as it gets cold.

The staff were friendly and the in house meals were great. We had an early check out on the last day so missed the breakfast... wish i had known about the breakfast to go option! I did mention an early departure but didn't specifically ask about breakfast.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

You were pleased with our location that is a15 minutes drive from the airport and you found our room clean and spacious which was only 30 seconds away to the beach front. We have met your expectations with two swimming pools and plenty of deck chairs around them as well as at the beach area. Besides, the meals were great and the staff friendly, while plans are underway for a renovation soon.

We thank you for selecting our resort and we are earnestly looking forward to your return in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I went to Langkawi on a solo trip for 5 days and stayed at this resort. I enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were a good, big size. Waking up each morning with the ocean on your door step and having meals at the hotel restaurant that overlooked the beach. I found myself spending a lot of my trip at the hotel as there was so much to do there. Beach, water sports, pool bar, amazing band each night, great food, gym and a beautiful view of the sunset and sunrise. The staff are so pleasant and try to do everything they can to make your stay pleasurable. I would definitely stay here again. Amazing resort within walking distance of spas and restaurants!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights in March 2013 and had a nice relaxing time. We arrived at midday (after arriving from the Lanai 2 hotels down the road) and they let us check in straight away which was great.

The room was very nice - big & modern with a separate dressing area & nice bathroom. The air conditioning seemed to be really struggling & on the first night (after being on for 6 hours the room had barely cooled down) we let reception know on our way out in the evening & they said it would be looked at. When we returned later reception told us no problem but the room still didn't feel cool. Thankfully the next morning it felt cooler - might have just taken that long to cool the whole room.

We were very close to reception & near the pool & pool bar. The pool was surprisingly small but nice. The beach is nice sand but is a steep hill down to the sea - this was a bit disappointing having come from the cheaper Lanai resort down the road where the beach is really wide & flat.

The food at the beach bar is actually quite bad & I am quite easy to please. We tried it twice but gave up on our last day & went to the Indian restaurant next door which was really nice. there is also the boat restaurant which is a 5 minute walk away which does lots of cheap Asian foods.

I was really looking forward to a massage at the hotel but when I enquired at reception they made a phone call to someone & was told the lady is away for 3 days - this seemed a bit odd as the hotel has spa in the title.

The breakfast was included & was very nice in a lovely area next to the beach - a nice selection of food including an egg station.

Places to go:
Boat Restaurant over the road - cheap Asian food good for lunch
Beach Garden Resort in Cenang - one of my favourite places - lovely cocktails on the beach.
Brasserie Bar in Cenang - 2-4-1 cocktails 4pm-6pm - definitely do this it's so cheap 18 ringitt for 2 cocktails on the beach -lovely setting.
Baan Thai restaurant - really nice food right next to Brasserie.
Oasis bar on the beach - lovely beach setting again.
Orkid Ria in Cenang - very popular seafood restaurant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for selecting our resort considered to have a big modern room with a separate dressing area including the bathroom to your liking which is close to the reception and pool bar area and a small but nice swimming pool. The air conditioning that took a bit longer to cool has already been rectified and replaced.

Although the sand of our beach is nice, due to the natural conditions of the sea with low and high tide constantly changing within a day, the contour of our coastline varies dramatically from low to sloppy. Perception on the wideness of the beach will depend on the time one see’s and experience it at that moment.

While the breakfast was considered to be nice with a good selection of food and a separate egg station that met your expectations, your negative comment on food served at the beach bar has been seriously taken into consideration by the Chef who faces a real challenge to satisfy all types of taste buds of many nationals. We are constantly gauging our food quality to meet the satisfaction of all guests.

Our Spa which is always open is being serviced by masseurs on call for the time being while we are in the midst of selecting the best candidates for permanent employment. Regrettably our receptionist had erred in handling your request to have a massage in-house. We apologize for the mistake by our staff.

We trust your stay had been an enjoyable one and not marred by our short-comings and we certainly look forward to your return to a new experience in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.