We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late March. The location is a 15 min drive from the airport and is right on the waterfront with the rooms a 30 second walk from the beach.

The resort has 2 pools and plenty of deck chairs around the pool/bar area and also along the shore overlooking the beach. The rooms were a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment, but were clean and spacious. Only one thing i would prefer is if the air con wasn't pointing right onto the bed as it gets cold.

The staff were friendly and the in house meals were great. We had an early check out on the last day so missed the breakfast... wish i had known about the breakfast to go option! I did mention an early departure but didn't specifically ask about breakfast.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

You were pleased with our location that is a15 minutes drive from the airport and you found our room clean and spacious which was only 30 seconds away to the beach front. We have met your expectations with two swimming pools and plenty of deck chairs around them as well as at the beach area. Besides, the meals were great and the staff friendly, while plans are underway for a renovation soon.

We thank you for selecting our resort and we are earnestly looking forward to your return in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    379
    133
    51
    24
See reviews for
250
314
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I went to Langkawi on a solo trip for 5 days and stayed at this resort. I enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were a good, big size. Waking up each morning with the ocean on your door step and having meals at the hotel restaurant that overlooked the beach. I found myself spending a lot of my trip at the hotel as there was so much to do there. Beach, water sports, pool bar, amazing band each night, great food, gym and a beautiful view of the sunset and sunrise. The staff are so pleasant and try to do everything they can to make your stay pleasurable. I would definitely stay here again. Amazing resort within walking distance of spas and restaurants!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights in March 2013 and had a nice relaxing time. We arrived at midday (after arriving from the Lanai 2 hotels down the road) and they let us check in straight away which was great.

The room was very nice - big & modern with a separate dressing area & nice bathroom. The air conditioning seemed to be really struggling & on the first night (after being on for 6 hours the room had barely cooled down) we let reception know on our way out in the evening & they said it would be looked at. When we returned later reception told us no problem but the room still didn't feel cool. Thankfully the next morning it felt cooler - might have just taken that long to cool the whole room.

We were very close to reception & near the pool & pool bar. The pool was surprisingly small but nice. The beach is nice sand but is a steep hill down to the sea - this was a bit disappointing having come from the cheaper Lanai resort down the road where the beach is really wide & flat.

The food at the beach bar is actually quite bad & I am quite easy to please. We tried it twice but gave up on our last day & went to the Indian restaurant next door which was really nice. there is also the boat restaurant which is a 5 minute walk away which does lots of cheap Asian foods.

I was really looking forward to a massage at the hotel but when I enquired at reception they made a phone call to someone & was told the lady is away for 3 days - this seemed a bit odd as the hotel has spa in the title.

The breakfast was included & was very nice in a lovely area next to the beach - a nice selection of food including an egg station.

Places to go:
Boat Restaurant over the road - cheap Asian food good for lunch
Beach Garden Resort in Cenang - one of my favourite places - lovely cocktails on the beach.
Brasserie Bar in Cenang - 2-4-1 cocktails 4pm-6pm - definitely do this it's so cheap 18 ringitt for 2 cocktails on the beach -lovely setting.
Baan Thai restaurant - really nice food right next to Brasserie.
Oasis bar on the beach - lovely beach setting again.
Orkid Ria in Cenang - very popular seafood restaurant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for selecting our resort considered to have a big modern room with a separate dressing area including the bathroom to your liking which is close to the reception and pool bar area and a small but nice swimming pool. The air conditioning that took a bit longer to cool has already been rectified and replaced.

Although the sand of our beach is nice, due to the natural conditions of the sea with low and high tide constantly changing within a day, the contour of our coastline varies dramatically from low to sloppy. Perception on the wideness of the beach will depend on the time one see’s and experience it at that moment.

While the breakfast was considered to be nice with a good selection of food and a separate egg station that met your expectations, your negative comment on food served at the beach bar has been seriously taken into consideration by the Chef who faces a real challenge to satisfy all types of taste buds of many nationals. We are constantly gauging our food quality to meet the satisfaction of all guests.

Our Spa which is always open is being serviced by masseurs on call for the time being while we are in the midst of selecting the best candidates for permanent employment. Regrettably our receptionist had erred in handling your request to have a massage in-house. We apologize for the mistake by our staff.

We trust your stay had been an enjoyable one and not marred by our short-comings and we certainly look forward to your return to a new experience in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Well located as its at the bottom end of a couple of miles is hotels, shops, bars and restaurants, while being a very peaceful place to relax.

The rooms are a little tired but are spacious and cool (once you get the aircon working!)

The staff are lovely and very helpful and the hotel restaurant is great for local or international cuisine.

The hotel manager is very friendly and is always present to engage the customers.

For spa treatments, I recommend leaving the complex and going to the cheaper but equally as good spa's on the road outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

It delights us that you find our resort charming while the location is peaceful and relaxing yet near to the shops, bars and restaurant outlets. You liked the spacious room and found the lovely staffs very helpful and a great restaurant that caters for local and international cuisines. We will be embarking on the third phase of our room renovation beginning next month in April.

I thank you for your kind words to me as a Resort General Manager whose duty is to ensure guest happinness from arrival till departure. To achieve this he has to be guest friendly so as to gauge guest expectations and satisfactions in conversations.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again here at our charming resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a room at the far end of the hotel next to the salt water pool. We arrived at the hotel just after 9am and didn't expect our room to be ready but it was! Our first impressions with the lobby was that it was a bit tired and dated but the staff were friendly,welcoming and helpful. Our room was large with plenty of space for clothes in the dressing room. The bed was comfy but the bathroom was old and needed work. The bath tub looked dirty when I went to have a shower so I cleaned it myself with face wipes which came up grey with dirt! Not great!
The view from our room was lovely straight out to sea.
Breakfast was good, there was plenty of choice, lots of fresh fruit, an omelette station, pancakes and pastry's and much more. We had lunch a couple of times which was really good and couldn't fault it. The fresh pineapple juice is addictive!! The bar area around the pool was ok, but wasn't particularly comfy to sit at.
Although the parts of the hotel could do with updating, it was still a relaxing place to be with the private beach.
We never had any problems with the service here, they were all very friendly and quick to help.
The hotels location was good as its out side the main touristy bit, but close enough to walk in 15 min walk or you can get a cheap taxi. So its quiet in the evenings. There are few places to eat just outside the hotel. In particular the Sun Cafe across the road was excellent!
We also like the fact that the hotel recycles and is making an effort to inform the guests to do the same.
The 3 star rating is for the property overall, but I would give the staff and service a 5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We acknowledge with great satisfaction the compliments bestowed on our service staffs not only for their friendliness and helpfulness in the welcoming upon your arrival but also by other service staffs throughout the Resort during your stay. You appreciation on our strategic location that is 15 minutes walk or cheaply by taxi to the main tourist vicinity is second to none.

You were satisfactory happy with the large room that has a good view of the sea and a comfortable bed with a spacious wardrobe. You seemed very relaxed in the overall concept of this Resort with the comment that the building needs a bit of updating are being attended to in our maintainence schedules. Corrective action on the chambermaid for being careless in not maintaining a clean bathtub has been addressed.

It is heartening to share your enjoyment on our good food especially during breakfast with vast choices of selections. Being a ‘Green Resort’ it is encouraging to get recognition support for our recycling efforts not only for ourselves but also for guest participations as well. One of our boastful highlights is in the bar stools that are made out of recycled bullock cart wheels. Cushions are being looked into for comfy.

All in all, our sincere thanks for selecting our property for your holidays that we believe were truly well spent and to know that you had a enjoyable time too in our Reort in particular and Langkawi in general. Meanwhile we welcome you to a warm return soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a Sea view villa in the second week of August 2012. Reached Frangipani around an hour before the stipulated check-in time but to our pleasant surprise we were checked-in immediately. The actual check-in involved charging our credit card and handing us vouchers for free drinks and breakfast buffet (included in our price). Our villa was a row behind the beach villas but still had a decent view. The room was quite clean and the daily house-keeping did a great job. Their outdoor shower was an amazing experience. The resort was never too crowded and the beach lounges were always readily available. The beach itself was nice and private. Breakfast buffet was good and we loved having a leisurely breakfast by the beach. The only negative, if one were to nitpick, was the morose and unfriendly demeanor of the poolside bar-staff. But you don't really need to use the poolside bar at all, since alcohol is so cheap elsewhere on this duty-free island. We had an early morning check-out and could not have the regular breakfast buffet so it was nice when they wrapped-up some breads, puffs, fruits for us to have on the way to the airport!

The resort is around 10-15 min walk to the main Pantai Cenang where there are innumerable restaurants and bars, though most of them do not open until 2pm or later. It is a sleepy little place, which may be a pro or con depending on what one is looking for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We thank you for selecting our Resort, which is a10-15 minutes’ walk to the main Pantai Cenang area, where innumerable restaurants and bars await you. We are glad the smooth and precise manner accorded to you during checked-in had impressed you.

Not only did you like the sea facing room but also found it clean with an outdoor shower that never failed to amaze everyone and believe you enjoyed the experience, including the nice private beach that was never too crowded and the leisurely buffet breakfast that was good having it by the beach.

Show causes have been issued to the staff for their unfriendly short-comings. Pre-packed breakfast is always part of our commitment not to leave any guest out when opportunity to consume them at the restaurant was not convenient due to early departure.

We wish to see you back to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We loved the laid back atmosphere here and the beach just there. Lovely food and good service. Really nice to see all the plants that had been planted by happy visitors. A perfect start to a wonderful family holiday in Malaysia.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We are happy you had a perfect start to a wonderful family holiday where you loved the laid back atmosphere and the beach of the Resort in particular and Langkawi in general.

Thank you for having rightly selected our Resort of your choice that suited your expectations found in good food and services and not to mention your admiration of the ever green planted trees by our guests who stayed here,

We wish you to come back soon to stay with us and to further explore the many more things we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.