We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel - for good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helang Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Helang Langkawi to your Saves list
Hotel Helang Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Gdansk, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel - for good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really nice stay for couple of days. A bit far from beach, but right next to the airport. Good variety of food for breakfast. Clean pool, very big rooms. Just enjoy. To get the most famous beach Pantai Cenang you have take taxi or rent a car. Good for short and long stays. Both for families and travellers.

Room Tip: Take deluxe rooms - lots of space. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    141
    84
    21
    15
See reviews for
60
47
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of us decided to spend a night on Langkawi and found this hotel advertised as 4 star with a super special of AUD$60 a night per room. The photos looked great so thinking we had scored the bargain of the century off we went.
On arrival it all looked wonderful and after a ridiculously long time to check in we were off to our rooms.
1st Problem - when we got out of the lift (with broken hand rail) onto our floor the signage for room numbers did not show ours. After wandering around aimlessly for several minutes we ultimately found our rooms whilst noting stained and water damaged foyer carpet. The rooms were quite spacious and appeared clean but were quite dated, light fittings and switches were hanging loosely from the walls and the bathrooms were quite drab with mould in places.
TV reception was not great.
2nd Problem - We ventured off to the pool to cool off and grab a drink. Three staff behind the bar and 15 minutes to get a beer , coke (as they had run out of lemonade) and one cocktail. 45 minutes to get pool towels which we requested and still we assume they were for us as they were placed on the counter of the pool hut on the opposite side of the pool to us.
The pool needed to be vacuumed and there were several broken tiles, none of the water features were turned on, we assumed they did not work.
Problem 3 - if you want a taxi arrange it yourself as the reception staff either did not understand us or won't get you one.
Problem 4 - Room service you have to request more than twice and even then it still may not turn up.
Problem 5 - Nothing is provided in the room not even a cotton ball, teaspoon or water.
Problem 6 - No hot water. Spoke to reception whose response was there wasn't any and to perhaps try the bath instead.
Positives - hardly heard a plane even though right next to airport and a comfy bed.

It appears that once this was a lovely hotel but they have no money so cannot maintain it.

All in all what did we expect for AUD$60, not a lot but I will say that I do not understand where the 4 star rating has come from as we were staying in a 4 star in Penang and it was 100% better than this.

Room Tip: No Idea, perhaps try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

You simply get off the plane and walk for about three minutes and your there. Very spacious rooms....some what very tired rooms and building. Found it very annoying to be swatting flies whilst you eat breakfast...but hey Aust can't talk. Staff are great, and when it came time to get a taxi, we just walked over to the Airport and booked one and set off from there. Your only about $24 RMI from Pantai Cenang Beach...main tourist area....heaps of eateries etc and your only $24 RMI from The Oriental Hotel...starting point for Skywalk etc. The staff made the hotel , very friendly and helpful....breakfast was basic but plentiful. The Hotel certainly does not rate a 4 star, (Going by very old framed Four Star rating above the reception desk) but then what do you measure that by....pleasant surprise was the fridge in the room, so it was a visit to the airport to pick up our wine etc. If your a plane watcher, then make sure you ask for the rooms that have a view of the airport....pool times were a bit disappointing, only from 0900 hrs to 1900 hrs????. Having said that, had a great time with the bar staff by the pool . Prices for this Hotel are very reasonable.....certainly wouldn't want to go any higher.

Room Tip: If your a plane spotter, ask for the rooms that over look the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

DON'T COME HERE.
We got the deluxe king, but the reception ended up giving us two single beds. We didn't know until we got to the room. And the room was absolutely filthy. There was mould on the glass and the entire room was dusty. I started getting skin rash. And then we requested to change rooms.
The other room was cleaner, but still really crappy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was at first skeptical about this hotel after reading mix reviews. However due to its location which is just next to the airport and about 5 minutes drive to Port Langkasuka, I booked it anyway. When I reached, the exterior design of the hotel looked posh and clean. Parking spaces are available
At the reception counter, the service given was fast and friendly. Upon reaching 4th floor where I say, the hallway was wide and clean as well.
The room is big with a king size bed and 6 pillows! Bathroom is big and clean. Bath tub and shower is separated. Iron and hair dryer are also available. Rooms also have free Wi-Fi coverage.
The breakfast is buffet style with both local and international dishes available. However the food tasted average. The nearest restaurants are located at Cenang beach, about 15 minutes drive or to Kuah town, about 25 minutes drive from the hotel.
The pool is big but during my stay, it is not that clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

the hotel has all you need for a short holiday in langkawi when u have a car.
the rooms are clean and big, so is the bathroom. breakfast is standard but includes asia and continental ingredients as well as eggstation.
the pool is big as well as the lobby.
tv is not functional with 4 channels only.
details in finishing of room and surrounding might be not 100% but who care if the basic needs
are met.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay with my inlaws back in Feb 2012. Friendly staff, clean and quiet hotel.
Buffet breakfast was good quality and lots of choices.
Our room was big with 2 queen size beds and a nice view as well. We'll definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Address: Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helang Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.