We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel & good location, undergoing renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helang Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Helang Langkawi to your Saves list
Hotel Helang Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel & good location, undergoing renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Main points: beautiful rooms with lovely swimming pool - lovely showers & bath tub - good customer service

we stayed here with a very large group for the World Cup Asia Langkawi International Paintball tournament. This is an excellent hotel with excellent facilities in spite of undergoing renovation. The rooms are clean (though stone floors are cold - no carpeting style) bathrooms have both a large shower and a large bath tub and is in excellent condition. Beds are lovely soft and yet firm. There is an amazing swimming pool downstairs with the bar next to it. Staff is always smiling and will remember you from your last trip ! Although the hotel is undergoing renovation, which means the cafe/restaurant downstairs is not available you can still order drinks and food in the lobby. I hope this hotel will have a high standard barista once renovation done.

***do check out Pantai Cenang both during the day and night time !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    145
    85
    22
    15
See reviews for
62
49
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having gone to Langkawi for the first time, locating the hotel as soon as we got off the flight was a piece of cake.

Taxis were easy to order, and the costs between getting from the hotel to local attractions (underwater world and kadawang night market) were about RM$18 which is quite reasonable.

The hotel seems like it could use a bit of work, there are certain areas that have stained walls with nail holes all over them. The restaurant is pretty good too, it's very convenient for when you're stuck inside from the rains. The breakfasts are also great, large variety from local dishes to western meals such as toast and cereal.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It is a good hotel located just adjacent to Langkawi Airport. The staff are fantastic. The hospitality is very good. Swimming pool is very clan. Food is excellent. Only disadvantage is that it is far away from all attractions.

Room Tip: rooms facing airport will be nice choce
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Where to begin? The only redeeming feature is the location about 100 metres from the airport terminal.

Mould in shower growing on the sealant, lights that are so dim it is impossible to read in bed, housekeeping minimal - dirty plate left in room for several days, bathroom never cleaned properly, towels supplied reluctantly - one towel most days occasionally two. Internet very slow when working, typically not working in the morning as the technical does not start work till around 9 am. Worst of all, i went down the fire exit and the ground floor door was locked.

Room Tip: Chose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed there because we needed to get early ferry to Koh Lipe. So we decided for to stay here as it is only 5 minutes walk by foot from the exit of the airport. First impression, grand but empty. Made us feel like we were in a hotel in Russia. Well, we have never been in Russia! but it felt like that. The room was clean and equipped with necessities. Breakfast, there is nothing good to say, so I'd rather not say. This hotel is good if you just need a place to stay JUST for one night and not more. We paid 207MYR which is almost 70USD. Not worth the price, so NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

as I am writing this, I am still in Helang. Will be staying for a month for the aerospace exhibition going on here. I am just very disappointed with their cleanliness. I would still understand if some hotel are lack of service or facilities but cleanliness?

Breakfast was terrible not because of their food but the plates, glasses, cutlery are stained and dusty, as if it was taken out from box and serve to their guest. So many fly in the coffee house and no one does anything about it - to stop flies get near to the food, I mean. The food counter looks like never been wipe before.

The whole lobby of room floor smell like cat poops. Smell will be gone after complained but the it will come again the next day. I can even see the staff lift is very dirty. Thrash and dirty plates every where on the floor and this lift is at the main walkway to all rooms where all guest can see every time their going to the main lift! So many stains on the room floor lobby carpet as well.

Will not stay in this hotel unless desperate ;p

Room Tip: the best option if u want hotel nearest to airport. 5 min walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stay there during Chinese New Year holiday . The room is dirty ,very dusty especially the bathroom.Yucks!The corridor carpet are full of stain & very very dusty with weird smell ! The stuffs are not well trained .Food are not nice at all ! The building is huge but lack of maintainance !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.2 mi away
One Hotel Helang
One Hotel Helang
#33 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
9.3 mi away
Alia Residence Business Resort
0.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
#19 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#39 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kampung Tok Senik Resort Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Address: Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helang Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.