We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel who has lost its Lustre.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helang Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Helang Langkawi to your Saves list
Hotel Helang Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Average Hotel who has lost its Lustre.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I first went here back in 2008, back than it looked good and well maintained, but this time around i was quite dissapointed with what i saw, firstly the lobby has undergone some major renovation and i think it is still a bit of work in progress but being a 4 star hotel, they should have done better to upkeep it...... The lobby was looking good but was dusty..... I checked in with 2 of my frens and the process was rather quick.... When we entered the room, we were very dissapointed.... The rooms were very dusty, imagine i was walking around barefooted and my foot became dark.... had to wear my slippers than after..... The beds and pillow were poor.... The matress were worn out and very springy and pillows were very uncomfortable..... The bathroom looked good though.... and the day bed well its better you just stay away from it as the cushions and linen were stained....... Had a bad sleep over night.... Next day went for breakfast and it was one of the worst with such limited choices..... had like some noodles, fried rice, spring roles, potatoes, bread, porridge and cereals..... For a 4 star hotels, the choices for breakfast was more like a budget hotel..... Overall i would just say its an average hotel, unless things can be improved this Hotel will be left behind...... Pro's - Spacious room, swimming pool... Cons - Dusty room, bad pillows and bed, bad breakfast, old furnitures, bad towels, old tv.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    143
    85
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
49
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is next to airport, it's maybe plus point for some people but for me it was zero point.
No live nearby you was bound to move by car for every small thing so I didn't like it . Overall hotel is quite big and under renovation so you should find so so many unusual sounds which is not comfortable Breakfast was ok not up to mark.
Sorry but i didn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Just move to upper floor and be sure that floor is already renovated otherwise u will suffer from di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Only 1 block away from airport, with reasonable swimming pool.
Breakfast could be considered okay.
But parking facility is limited.

Note:
Please double-check with check-in counter whether air-conditioning facilities are functioning, before tranferring luggages to the room.

Room Tip: Please double-check with check-in counter whether air-conditioning facilities are functioning, befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After 1 night the only words to describe this hotel is IT IS A DUMP DON’T EVEN CONSIDER STAYING HERE! The air con in the 1st room was not working and the room was so stuffy, windows can’t be opened! requested for a change of room, staff says wait for maintenance to check, after 20 minutes no one turn up, call reception told them if they can survive for 10 minutes I will stay in the room or else change my room. The new room slight better since it is late,have to bear with the discomfort, and all the staff can say is we are under renovation, can’t help it.

The following morning came the big shocks! Breakfast was served in makeshift dining area with no air con, just a few stand fans blowing and no comments on the food, the same arrangements for lunch. Conference was held in the ballroom, you guess it right! No air con as well, it became so unbearable half way that a few stand fans were brought in.

No fault of the conference organisers but the amount of complaints to them you can imagine. For those paying by credit card, the hotel charged for the whole duration of the stay upon checking in, so changing hotel was not an option as credit card refunds takes months.

All the staff can say was ‘We Are under Renovation’, if under renovation, then don’t sell the rooms. Never again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here and attended a conference organized in this hotel for 5D4N. Air-cond was not functioned properly due to renovation and we were actually suffered from the humid environment in hotel throughout the conference.
However, staffs of the hotel was nice and helpful, they also apologize for the inconvenient caused due to the renovation. Hotel room is clean and spacious although total 4 of us were sharing a room with 2 queen size bed. Breakfast provided was quite satisfactory. The advantages of staying in this hotel is that it is only 5 minutes walk distance away from Langkawi international airport.
There's no any tourist attraction and shop lots nearby. Those who wants to stay here must rent a vehicles to travel around the island. We traveled around the place by taxi and it's very easy that we can just call for taxi from the hotel reception. Overall, I think that our stay here is satisfactory. Hopefully one hotel helang will provide better accommodation for their guest after upgrading and renovation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

On our second trip to Langkawi, we stayed in this hotel (lobby still under renovation) on the 20th to 23rd August 2012 with our 2 teen kids. The hotel is old and the walkway carpets are stained but the big room of 2 queen size beds were still in good condition and floor stone tiles were well maintained. On the first night we were allocated a room with faulty air condition and on our complains we were given another room of the same size on the second night. The room came with breakfasts for 2 persons and we found the food provided was basic and no frills. The Hotel is just next to the airport but far away from many shopping centres. The swimming pool is also old, but guests are allowed to use the all facilities of Sheraton 4 Points, a sister hotel next to the beach (just turn left from the exit gate of Helang hotel and drive 500 metres to a T junction and turn right for another 200 meters). The swimming pool of 4 points is super size that blends with the beautiful beach front. Because of the distance of Helang Hotel which is at least 15 kilo meters from Kuah Town, one must have a car to move around the island.

We had our dinner in Kuah Town, near to Citin Hotel, its direction as described in our previous trip. Along the same road there are at least more than 6 restaurants serving Thai, Chinese and other oriental food.

We did our shopping mainly in Pantai Cenang duty free area next to the under water aquarium and Saga Shopping Complex which is near to Eastern Native, the direction is as described in our previous trip. As for the prices of imported mainly belgium beers, they remained the same as previous year. But as for single malt whiskies such as Macallan 18. a bottle of a liter is already more than RM400, Glenivet 18 and Glenmorangie both around RM190. Most of the prices quoted is for credit card sale and you will pay less for cash. For instance absolute volka a liter can be bought between RM35 to RM37 for cash.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are currently at the hotel and I just thought I'd share a couple of lines on trip advisor in case people were looking at this hotel.
Prior to the check in we were expecting very little knowing that we are moving into a hotel with much lower standards than our previous accommodations. Nonetheless with some construction going on at the moment, the lobby area is unrecognizable which gave us an impression of complete chaos in this hotel. It is very run down and the whole place just looks exhausted; nonetheless, the rooms are spacious and appropriate for the price that we have payed.

The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with a bathtub, shower cabin sink and a toilet, still leaving a lot of space to maneuver. Water pressure is quite good, hot water comes out instantaneously. There are a couple of darkened spots between the tiles, perhaps mould or something else, but it is bearable. And also make sure you bring your own amenities, there are soap shampoo and a sanitary bag available here.

Air conditioning does its job and keeps the room cool which is great apart from the constant noise that it makes. But we spend majority of our time out and about the town so it never bothered us during our sleep. If you are a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend staying here.

My greatest concern was the cleanliness of course and I can say that Helang's level is satisfactory, apart from the old sofa that has yellowish and grayish stains all over. We have no bugs or any sort of insects in our room which is a main concern for me and housekeeping visits us everyday.
The fact that there is no safety box in the room concerned me a bit, but supposedly there are some available at the reception.
Room Service is until 11:00pm, but the menu is only a single page long with high prices. We were thinking about ordering in, but eventually decided to go out to Red Sky on Pantai Cenang instead and it was a good decision.

At breakfast there were very few basic things available: Fried noodles with vegetables, fried rice with vegetables, chicken sausages, baked beans, plain rice porridge, 2 types of fresh fruit, basic selection of bread, egg station and more noodles. I didn't find curry or any type of sauce for the rice which was sort of disappointing.

In Helang Hotel WiFi isn't free even in public areas, therefore we had to purchase it. Its 10RM for a single device valid all the way until check-out, which I guess is okay considering the decent speed and strong signal.

We haven't gone to the pool area yet, but it looks clean and good in size. There is a metal bar separation between the adult (deeper) area of the pool and the children's (shallow) section. There is also a small jacuzzi dedicated area near by, I'm not sure if it functions or maybe bubbles are just aren't visible from our 5floor room...

Overall, this hotel definitely needs at least a brief face lift everywhere. Because, frankly, the general atmosphere is 'worn-out' everything: carpets in the hallways, elevators, furniture and walls. Helang has a great potential as it is quite spacious and very close to Panai Cenang (18RM only by taxi). I was concerned with the airport being right next door, but we can't hear anything from over here.

P.S. Reception staff is helpful and provided a swift check in. However, at breakfast there were very few serving personnel at sight and they seemed not to understand any English.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Address: Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helang Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.