We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahsuri's Tomb

Mahsuri's Tomb
Kampung Mawat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$36*
and up
Ranked #32 of 38 Attractions in Langkawi
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tomb of an island legend.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Historical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I guess it's only interesting for people who are interested in the Legend of Mahsuri. Nothing much to see besides Museum, the well & some houses & the tomb itself. There are also survenior shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    27
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
878 reviews 878 reviews
668 attraction reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
684 helpful votes 684 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Really struggling to say anything good about this attraction. This the location of the tomb of Mahsuri - she famous for the legend of her bleeding white blood and her subsequent curse on the next 7 generations of the people of Langkawi. Maybe this complex is part of that curse! It was boring, lacking in information in English, full of plastic dummies making up scenes from the past, overwhelmingly filled with tacky souvenir shops and generally a complete waste of time. To add insult to injury we tourists pay extra to get in. Outside are a variety of birds/peacocks in cages too small and some Malay houses .... one of which (surprise, surprise) is a shop. The whole experience was just awful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Boring and fake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

What a disappointment. I was actually looking forward to visiting this place after having read the story of Mahsuri's legend.

But then it turned out to be absolutely fake and boring. Other than some sad-looking exhibits and 2 sets of mannequins depicting the story of Mahsuri, there was nothing else that really related to Mahsuri herself.

There were some kampung houses behind the main building, which though nice, still doesn't provide any further enlightenment about the story of Mahsuri which I seek.

Nice walk through the backyard of the compound with those houses, but then on the overall there's no great loss if one didn't see this place. Or, you can go, and finish seeing everything in 30 minutes or less.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mistake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We thought this was a nice place to visit but find it not worth to visit or to come back. Lots of mess in around the whole place., many empty bottles or paper everywhere. Too many shops....
We did not like it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We walked to this very busy tourist attraction from our accommodation nearby. The place is badly set out with little information about the actual history of the island. The information about the legend of Mahsuri is often repeated. The best bit was seeing the Malay houses out at the back of the museum, wear flip flops as you have to take your shoes off to go inside. Also there were some birds in cages which we found very upsetting. In one cage there were two very sad looking hornbills, a peacock, a peahen, and chickens. It's all a bit unnecessary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahsuri's Tomb also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mahsuri's Tomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahsuri's Tomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.