We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fish to see, Small beach, Crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pulau Payar Marine Park

Pulau Payar Marine Park
Jetty Point Complex, Langkawi, Malaysia
04-9667318
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$123*
and up
Pulau Payar Marine Park Snorkeling Tour from...
Ranked #19 of 38 Attractions in Langkawi
Type: Parks, Reefs, Water sports, Outdoors
Attraction details
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fish to see, Small beach, Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Snorkeling was amazing! There were fish everywhere and we swam with 7 baby sharks and saw one larger shark, eeek! The beach was somewhat disappointing and quite small. There wasn't much space on the beach to lay out and relax, it was way too crowded and had a lot of trash. I personally wouldn't pay to do this tour again despite all the fish we saw while snorkeling. Bathrooms there were disgusting and didn't even have running water!

We took the Coral Island tour and paid 90 ringit per person. Once we boarded the boat we literally sat there for ONE hour just waiting to leave. They really know how to waste our time which was really frustrating. They also charge you 20 ringit for "renting lockers" which are equivalent to plastic bins.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    132
    85
    44
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lymington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shark lovers required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Amazing sea and beaches, peaceful and great for diving!!!

Make sure you have a good breakfast though!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was rather disappointed with the place as it is basically a place strictly for snorkeling as I was expecting it to be a place to be more educational since it is named as Marine Park. But it has rather clear and nice water where you can see lots of fishes as well as a few black tip fin shark swimming around. You didn't have to swim far to be able to see all those as most fishes do swim at even your calf/ knee level.

The worst part would probably be their toilet where the taps do not have water but there's big tubs filled with water (which we believe should be clean), for you to clean yourself up after snorkeling and washing hands.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Snorkeling was a total disappointment. Not a lot of marine life and no coral, it has all been destroyed by greed of the operators. The large numbers of visitors are not controlled and the amenities cannot cope with the large numbers i.e. the toilet/change room facilities overcrowded resulting in blocked toilets and the unbearable stench!! There is a desperate need for maintenance and clean up!
Would not recommend the visit. Unfortunately the human element and greed of the operators have destroyed what I could have imagined was a peace of heaven.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great activity, nice lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

the lake is a serene place with an option to go and swim in it. I thoroughly enjoyed going to this place. The view to other island from boat is astonishing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulau Payar Marine Park also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pulau Payar Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulau Payar Marine Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.