We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar

Sugar
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+60 4-955 3928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 285 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Malaysian, Tapas, Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
jaipur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The place to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent most of my time in langkawi at this place. The food was delicious and for the vegetarians it's one of the few places where one will get a decent amount of vegan options. It's situated right one the beach
The owner is a pleasant fellow and will chat up with you. The evening barbecue is a great time to be around. I happened to witness a wedding at this place which the staff and owner put together beautifully

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good Bar-B-Q”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had one of th best Bar-b-q in this restaurant. It also situated beside the 2nd Cenang beach so also had greaqt view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, just beside the beach !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Can't get any closer to the beach and the service and drinks are great. Food is fine but you come here for the beach and the view! Make it a stop! With the beach at your feet, this is one of the best places to watch the sun go down in Langkawi!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome position on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had dinner and drinks here but unfortunately it was too overcast for the sunset.
Food and service was great, drinks reasonable priced.
Great little spot on the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go for sunset! Eat and drink a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just reviewed their sister restaurant FatCUPID, just down Jalan Pantai Tengah (NOT located where tripadvisor shows it, in the north part of the island) and allllmost walkable.

Staff here rocks. I went first in May and then again in July (everyone remembered me!). They are not advertising a ton yet because they want the restaurant to be exactly what they envisioned first. I totally respect that! Jeremy, part owner, and Richard, chef, are great! Really enjoyed Belle's table service too.

Their drink list is like heaven... try champagne cocktails and the Pimm's lemonade pitcher. Love all their snacks, especially the three dip appetizer and satay. But I want to try more next time.

On a clear day, go here in the late afternoon, about an hour before sunset... hang out and relax. Then you'll see the amazing sunset over the water!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.