We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great babysitting options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tanjung Rhu Resort to your Saves list
Tanjung Rhu Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
romsey,victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great babysitting options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Travelled with husband and 3 year old daughter. Pure relaxation!! we took all inclusive package which we found to be extremely reasonable. Service from staff was excellent and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We had a gorgeous babysitter who was so kind to our daughter had allowed my husband and I to have time together and participate in activities that were not appropriate for her. Food was plentiful and a great range on offer. Pool is to die for as is the view that goes with it. Only complaint was the family pool did not have enough shallow areas for young children. e found suite to be clean and comfortable with all amenities you could require. Thankyou to staff cannot wait to return for round 2 of tanjung rhu.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    172
    41
    24
    23
See reviews for
176
487
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This resort is excellent - nice beach, great pools, decent food & very clean. The service is good and the staff are generally very friendly, especially at the Sands Restaurant and pool. One of the Sands restaurant managers in particular went out of his way to have a chat each day and talk us through the different food options. Don't really see value in the all-inclusive package as others have suggested (450 RM per room per night) as it does not include alcohol.

Its very quiet and sometimes lacking in atmosphere (a band by the pool at happy hour may have been a good idea), but if you're keen to have a relaxing time away to do nothing but swim, eat and have everything done for you then this place is ideal. We stayed for 8 nights in February for our honey moon and it was exactly what we were after.

The only real dissapointment was at the end of our stay when we were seemingly deliberately overcharged with an "accomodation surcharge" of about 900RM included on our final tab. When we queried what this charge was, the reception staff had a discussion between themsevles, removed the charge and re-printed a revised bill without explanation. When we asked what the charge was for, we were given a vague explanation that "...you don't need to worry about that, its an agent fee..." or something along those lines.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The location of the Tanjung Rhu is the best part about this hotel. The beach is wide and the cliffs beyond are stunning. The small bay is mostly quiet and tranquil, easy for kayaking or walking along a sandbar out toward the cliffs. But it is about a half-hour from the airport or any real townlife on Langkawi, so guests should consider renting a car or scooter while there. Otherwise, taxis could get very expensive as one starts to explore the island.

The hotel takes advantage of its location by offering many water sport activites, which was perfect for us, as spending more than a day lounging by the pool becomes boring for us. We rented kayaks and paddled all around the bay. We could even tie up by one of the small rocky islands in the bay and snorkel. We also saw sea otter.

The resort itself is well-planned and landscaped. The lush surroundings and courtyards between the buildings help ensure privacy and lovely views, even if the room does not face the sea. Each room also has its own little balcony with table and chairs -- perfect for taking in the sunset. The 3 pools are big and offer different options -- one is salt water, one is just for adults, and one is fresh water. But compared to new hotels and resort properties on Langkawi, the Tanjung Rhu falls short. Towels are old and some of the furnishings in our room were broken. We had a sea-view room, and the sliding glass doors to our private balcony were broken too.

The service was very friendly and attentive, with free transport to/from the airport. And the cuisine at the asian themed restaurant (which also provides room service) was authentic and delicious. But these two aspects cannot make up for the aged feel to the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Don't get me wrong. I stand by the fact this is a great resort. So much so my wife and I choose it as our honeymoon destination 7 yrs ago.

Beautiful resort setting, picturesque beach with nearby limestone islands and top notch service that makes this a unique resort experience even by Langkawi standard. The food is still great especially the awesome array of breakfast selections at The Sand. Not an easy feat considering Langkawi probably has the highest density of 5-star resorts in Malaysia.

However, I think its timely that they should consider a more stylish room make over as this is probably the more jarring indicator of what used to be a great room but its room offering has since surpassed by most rcompetitors of this category. And despite the management's best effort to maintain the rooms in the best condition, its not hard to notice its wearing down.

I hope Tanjung Rhu will be able to reinvent itself as a clear leader of its class in Langkawi

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Overall very poor value. The Saffron Restaurant (mediterranean cuisine) by the beach has a nice atmosphere but the dreadful band need to go back to the Phillipines. The Rhu Restaurant took fine dining too far, the portions being tiny and very expensive. The all inclusive deal cost £45 per person and was for food and soft drinks only but it was worth paying that way. The staff (predominantly indonesian) were extremely courteous, friendly and efficient. Disabled vegetarians are not catered for. If you're looking for Malaysia - it's not here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We went there for a quick getaway for 2 nights. We took the all inclusive package which comes with accommodation and unlimited food & beverage. The normal standard room is equivalent to a basic suite in other hotels. A living room separated with a TV console from the bedroom. However, room needs upgrading and refurbishment soon. Huge bathroom with a tub, separate shower and his and hers amenities. You will be spoilt with the choices of F&B outlets. The package also includes room service and mini bar! They have three swimming pool which one is strictly for adults. The fine dining rest is worth a try as they offer lobsters! Very quiet and romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here end of Dec-mid Jan. We last came at the same time of year in 2005 and it's a real shame that nothing has changed since then. It's such a beautiful location, the staff are excellent and the food is fantastic, I just wish they would take the feedback their customers have given about the general shabbiness - everyone was saying the same things. Whilst it's still immaculately clean, they need to replace things instead of just repairing them as they have been. The boards around the pool are rotting away and feel like they will collapse when you walk on them; the tables and chairs are falling apart in the Sands restaurant; the towels in the room and around the pool need replacing; and the sunbeds are old and not as comfortable as they could be. I also found the mattress on the bed a little thin/ Having said all this, you soon start to overlook the flaws because the place is so tranquil and relaxing. The staff are lovely and really helpful - I was ill when we arrived and they arranged for us to have a room on a lower floor and they also accomodated my dustmite allergy by replacing all the feather pillows and giving an extra clean. Because we got on well with the staff, they made sure we always had table bookings and they even gave me a cake and flowers on my birthday! The food really is excellent, we never had one bad meal. Each restaurant and pool has their own menu so there's plenty to choose from (my faves were tempura prawns at the Reading Room, crispy lemon chicken at Sands, and twice-baked gruyere cheese and caramelised onion souffle at the Rhu) and we went all-inclusive so it was excellent value. We'd recommend paying a bit extra to have a BBQ on the beach, where you have your own chef and waiter - heaven! I had a massage at the spa - the massage itself was lovely but again, it needs refurbished. We would definitely go back if they refurbished the place, but the management had apparently promised to do this for the last 2 years so we'll keep an eye on their website!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjung Rhu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.