We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Tanjung Rhu Resort to your Saves list
Tanjung Rhu Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“First class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just left tanjung rhu after a magical week. We were there in the midst of major renovations but heard no noise and there was little disruption. The beach and surrounds are very beautiful and we never tired of looking out at the islands in the bay. The true heart of this resort lies in the staff who are professional, friendly, helpful and completely focused on ensuring guests are happy. We were there with our two children ( 8&5) and there were very few other children there but they were very happy with the pools and casing crabs on the beach.

I will mention some negatives which really didn't impact our beautiful time there but may be important to others. I think these may be well addressed once the renovations are complete.

1. Wifi was free but slow and limited to the room
2. A convenience store is desperately needed as it is a distance for any shops
3. Some pieces in our room were dated and tired
4. Small balconies

Now the big list of positives:
1. Big spacious rooms
2. Comfortable beds
3. Superb service from staff
4. Great breakfast
5. Beautiful food and not expensive for high level resort
6. Great beach with beautiful view
7. Peaceful, quiet, serene, not crowded
8. Lots of lovely small touches like chocolates and fresh fruit each day

Activities we enjoyed were batik painting at the artisan hut and a great mangrove tour with Zoher who was passionate and informative and fun.

Overall we would happily return and once renovations are complete, I think it will be a first class resort and certainly one of the best in langkawi.

Thank you to everyone at Tanjung Rhu for sharing such a magical part of Malaysia with my family.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra money. Top level floors mean a lot of stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    192
    42
    25
    25
See reviews for
195
523
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarawak
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Was at Tanjung Rhu in the month of August..and goodness me..this resort is really to "die for" not just in term of its scenery @ beach but as well as its tip top service. Everything is just perfect and lovely!!. Wish that we were there longer (as we just stayed there for 3D2N)...but hey..we will be back for sure. And this time, its gonna be a longer trip...at least 5 days to a week time.

Although the resort now is going thru a major renovation (quarter of the resort was close) but hey,,it doesn't affect our stay or holiday at all. No sound..no noise or any hassle..at all. Regarding some others that comment about the long walk from rooms to the restaurant - it is not far at all my dear....its actually fun. U have a long walk from ur room to the restaurant thru the pathway near the beach - at the same time, it gives u a chance to enjoy the nice view and enjoy the clean white sand there. U will love it. And..even then if it's rain..if just a teeny weeny bit of rain..they do have 2 big umbrella prepares for u in ur room, just use it and enjoy the walk with ur family or love ones at the beach..under the rain till to the restaurant then. If worse comes to worst, if its a massive down pour, well just order the in room dining service then. Everything is handle efficiently and professionally...........

This is really one of the amazing place...oh ya..if u stay here..must include the All Inclusive Package into your package. U will certainly be pamper. Oh dear, miss their ravioli and steak now...yum! Well done Tanjung Rhu! =)

Room Tip: They are having a renovation works going on now to upgrade the whole resort but it won't affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The renovated rooms are great, the pools are huge, the food is fantastic, the service is excellent and I'm running out of superlatives to describe the awesome week we spent at the Tanjung Rhu.
The design of this hotel is fresh and modern and fits in the local surroundings like a glove - the pools are as I mentioned huge, all with exceptional views, and the beach is gigantic, private and offers a brilliant scenery.
The service is great, everyone is friendly and helpful, and the food is exceptional - all well as the activities (mangroves boat tour, massages at the spa).
We spent an unforgettable week and I would seriously recommend this resort to anyone going to Langkawi!

Room Tip: Until they have all been done, ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here and it was magic! The private beach was beautiful and breathtaking. The sea was warm and the sunses amazing! Although there is a lot of renovation going on it ddnt affect our stay and the staff really were so friendly and helpful. There were trips on offer free every day so we took a boat up the mangroves and kayaked with a guide. We tried out archery and kayaking across the bay and walked out along the sand spit for a mile into the sea. The food was excellent in both restaurants and happy hour set us up for the sunsets every day so we never saw anything of the island beyond the resort which is so unusual for me. That's how good it was here! And the weather was excellent too despite the rainy season.

Room Tip: If you can see the sea and catch the sunset....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went to the Tanjung Rhu Resort 12 years ago for my honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. Recently I went back with 4 girlfriends from Australia. My experience was the same but I must admit the hotel had dated and the renovations works we were warned about weren't in action. The food was still wonderful and the chef made extra special effort for my friend with food allergies. The service was great and the very friendly nature from the staff was comforting although some of my friends found it a bit too much especially when they started telling their own personal stories. We did find out that the staff had been gossiping about us and had given us a nickname as well!
All in all I recommend this resort especially for couples but as a group we still had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If not beach views go for the garden view and not on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Indeed. If there was one choice in all of Langkowi it has to be the Tanjung Rhu. Their secret is simple: you are treated as an individual- not just another one of the crowed and unlike The Four Seasons nearby, "you get your money's worth and more"-- which should really be the resorts theme line. Fabulous beaches, great cuisine, lovely accommodation, and best of all the nicest people ever.
This is THE resort famous for return customers like me. If that's not the best accolade of all, I don't know what could be.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this miserable hotel in room 1212 for 3 days, everything was good except that THE HOTEL LITERALLY STOLE MONEY FROM MY WALLET WHICH WAS IN THE SAFE BOX IN MY ROOM. I found out that I lost money when I left the city so I called the hotel and they did nothing for me, they said they will take it seriously but it's been 3 months now and I got nothing.So if you are thinking of visiting this hotel try doing it without money in your wallet because they will steal it from you. Plus they do not have security cameras in the resort .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjung Rhu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.