We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for calm and serenity in Langkawi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Tanjung Rhu Resort to your Saves list
Tanjung Rhu Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Paris
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent location for calm and serenity in Langkawi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was under renovation when we stayed so unfortunately, the best rooms with ocean view were not available. Upside was that the hotel was utterly quiet with probably only at a third of its full capacity and management granted all guests complimentary activities as a compensation of the inconvenience caused.
The hotel has truly the best beach in Langkawi and it is for guests only, with a breathtaking sunset.
The Sands pool, for adults only, is great and large enough (50 meters) for real swimming, very clean and well maintained.
The Rhu is an excellent top end restaurant but be prepared to pay the price accordingly. The location is perfect for those who look for calm and quietness away from the frenzy of Pantai Cenang.
As for the areas of improvement, the room we were staying was a bit outdated and humid. It may explain the need for renovation.
The Sands restaurant is also outdated and not so welcoming with ugly mesh nets all around for whatever reason. It would clearly need better decor and refurbishment.
We recommend this hotel especially after full renovation is completed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear phil647,
Thanks for the review and I am pleased that overall you had a nice stay at Tanjung Rhu. As you have noted, the rooms and restaurants will be completely renovated soon to further enhance the overall guest experience. The reason for the nets at the Sands Restaurant is to keep the Minor Birds away from the guests and there is really no other way to do this. Most guests do not find the netting a problem but I understand your view. I am sure the next time you visit us in Paradise you will be even more satisfied due to the new rooms and restaurants. This will just make Tanjung Rhu and even better Paradise for everyone to experience and enjoy.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    172
    40
    24
    23
See reviews for
175
487
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zedelgem, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We thought that spending 300$ in a 5 stars hotel will give us a lovely happy ending holiday, but this was not the case! This hotel need urgently a general MANAGER! All hotel is under construction, only 4 part are open and only one is renovate! Of couse webgot the old part and I tell you room are very old, shower doesn't work, on the stairs window are broken, floor is dirty, furniture very old with a coach old with dirty spots! This is 2 stars more than what it should be! No chanel tv!!! How can this happen in a five stars hotel? Almost all hotel is close so to get to the restaurant you have only one way, very long way!
The only positif thing of this hotel is the location and beautiful beach, even the water is not blue!
I will not say that this is a 5 stars hotel ! It doesn't deserve it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear tiger2669,
Thank you for your review and for outlining your concerns. I understand that you were moved to a new room on the second day of your stay and that this was more to your liking. I realise that you had not been advised about the upgrading works by your agent and this is a shame but it seems that that last few days of your stay were much more enjoyable for you both. I am sure that you will be entranced by the Tanjung Rhu magic the next time you come to stay with us here in Paradise.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm booked for a trip in early August , but they've just call to tell me they can't get the rooms renovated in time, so they'll offer me a downgrade to a Garden room ... how disappointing!

I am totally unhappy that just days before I leave for my vacation, I have to deal with this sort of stress.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear mozilla_monster,
Thank you for your feedback and may I once agin extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the changes. The upgrading works unfortunately were slower than expected in releasing our sea view rooms for sale in time for August and we had no option but to offer a one level downgrade for all guests who had booked thius category. We had tried to get in touch with you via Expedia several times some time ago but received no response. We were finally able to get in touch directly in the past couple of days. I trust that you have been able to make other satisfactory arrangements for your holiday booking and hope that we can make this up to you when the Bayu Senja Seaview rooms are once again available later this year.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've been there in January 2013. we liked the hotel very much. Food was delicious- 5 stars!
The staff was nice. Thanx to Manager Labazda Azzedine, who was very friendly and helpful.
The only dissapointed thing was that there were many mini lakes that didnt have barriers. it was not safe for my children 5 and 2 years old. They could fell down.
I hope administration will make area safe for kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear assel k,
Warm Greetings and thank you for you kind review. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Resort, the Food & the Service. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the water feature ponds at the Resort. We will look into this as well. I hope to see you once again when you return to Paradise!
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for one night at this lovely resort whilst taking some pre-wedding photos. The grounds are amazing and this hotel has by far the best beach on langkawi with stunning rock formations occasionally accessible via a sandbar. Rooms are in blocks rather than indvidual villas which is a bit dissappointing and are rather dark and damp. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try out all the restaurants but we'll surely return and stay in a beach front room next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear The_loyal_traveller,
Thanks for your review and I hope that when you come back you will stay a little longer so that you may be able to enjoy the full experience here at Tanjung Rhu. Certainly a Sea View Room will be the best option and do try the All Inclusive Package to be able to fully sample the extensive restaurant and wonderful menu options. We all look forward to seeing again soon here in Paradise.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved this resort. The in room check in was just what we needed with small children. We took the all inclusive deal, which included room service. Wonderful! After an active day our kids needed and early dinner (5pm) and to be put to bed so room service was a godsend. There is nothing worse than trying to wrangle tired children at a nice resturant, so this added bonus was extra relaxation for us. The room service attendant even set the little table for them just like a mini resturant. Once they were in bed, we were then free to sit back on our seaview balcony and enjoy the delectable desserts and cocktails which were brought to our room. Our son had an accident in the pool where he split his lip open (his fault) and the staff response was excellent, first aid trained staff attended to him and the lovely hotel driver took us immediately to the clinic to have his lip glued back together. Thank you Tanjung Rhu for making the event as smooth as possible. The scenery was indeed beautiful and the grounds exceptional. I ended up having my own private yoga class (no other guests turned up). The yoga instructor was fantastic and I throughly enjoyed my class. I would like to see a stand up paddle board added to the watersports equiptment. I would have loved paddling in the bay but I do understand that these type of watersports are not popular in Malaysia. We will return and hope Tanjung Rhu doesn't change too much!

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear TLWE,
It was lovely to see your review and thank you so much for the kind words. It was nice to meet you briefly whilst you were here and I am so pleased that everything was as you expected and that you had such an excellent stay together with the family. I trust your son has recovered well from the little misadventure and I was pleased to know that you were looked after so well after the incident.
The All Inclusive option really is great value, especially for families like yours and I am happy to know that you and the children all enjoyed being pampered at meals time. You can be assured that all the important things will not change here at Tanjung Rhu and will remain as they have for the past 19 years. We will however try hard to provide even better service so we can achieve our goal to be Number 1 in Asia. So, please come back soon and we will look after and pamper you all over again here at your second Home in Paradise!
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights after reading so many positive remarks about this hotel in trip advisor.
Check in was very fast & seamless. I am very impress.
Staffs are very helpful & friendly & one of the staff even team up with my son for a table soccer with me. That is very nice of the staff.
As hotel is in the mid of renovation, they are very thoughtful to organise complimentary city tour for the guess. It's a very nice gesture from the hotel.
Foods in this hotel is very good & up to standard and we end up having most of our meals in the hotel.
Awesome beach that keep the wife & kid very happy.
One area that need improvement is the room. Since renovation is underway, I believe once renovation is completed, it should make stay at this hotel even a wonderful experience.

Overall experience is great. I am very happy that the family enjoy their stays here.

See you again when you have completed yr renovation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Garysoon68,
Thank you for the wonderful review and it is very good to know that overall you had a great stay with us. It was pleasing to see that the whole family was able to enjoy their time here and we look forward to welcoming you back Home to Paradise soon - the new rooms will be rolling out progressively from August onwards so please feel free to contact us at any time so we can advise you on the dates you may have in mind.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjung Rhu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.