We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Save Saved
You added Tanjung Rhu Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 99 hotels in Langkawi
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had the most wonderful 8 days at theTanjung Rhu and could not recommend it more highly. From the moment we were picked up at the airport we were incredibly well looked after and this set the standard for our stay. It was impossible to fault any of the staff who were all so friendly and genuinely wanted to make our stay as perfect as possible. The setting could not be more beautiful and having dinner at Saffron, sitting right at the edge of the beach overlooking the sea was one of the highlights. Breakfast was excellent too, we were completely spoiled for choice. We stayed in a Baya Senja room which was lovely even though it had yet to be renovated, it had great views from both balconies. We had a small problem in our bathroom and were immediately moved to another room with equally great views.

We didn't leave the hotel apart from a mangrove tour organised by the hotel which was great fun and highly recommended. The guide even managed to wade through mud to take a photograph of a mangrove snake with our camera.

This is one hotel that we would love to return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    160
    37
    23
    21
See reviews for
163
461
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent service from the resort staff---very friendly, courteous and personalized! The place was just breathtaking. The private beach is very clean and truly relaxing. The pools were designed beautifully. They were made one with nature. The food and drinks were all good. The fish and salad dishes I tried from Saffron were delicious and very fresh. Other restaurants also offered a good variety of food---more than enough to choose from. It's a place worth going back to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Aleli C,
Thank you for staying with us an for your very kind review. I am pleased that you were able to fully enjoy your Tanjung Rhu experience and I will be very pleased to welcome you Back Home to Paradise so that we can look after you all over again sometime very soon!
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent five glorious days and nights at the Tanjung Rhu and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly, attentive staff that showed us to our room and completed our check-in with a cold drink. We were upgraded to a partial sea view room with two balconies. It was incredibly spacious, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were great.
The picture perfect private beach was one of the most relaxing beaches I've ever been on. There were plenty of lounge chairs with umbrellas around the property. We used all 3 pools and each one was unique and relaxing. They were like swimming in a Zen water feature.
The food was terrific and the staff and service were wonderful.
The concierge went above and beyond duty when changing plane reservations for us. The attention to detail by all the staff was noticeable. As soon as you were seated in the concierge area, someone thought to turn on the overhead fan. A small but thoughtful touch.
We really enjoyed the boat tour of the mangroves with our guide, Fendi. We had many great photo ops of the Long Tailed Macaques.
For true relaxation, this is the place to be. We would definitely love to return to the resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TravelistaDubai,
I am so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful location, great facilities and the wonderful service from our lovely staff. It is nice to know that you have found a special place to enjoy and where you can fully relax. We all look forward welcoming you back to your home to your "Peaceful Paradise" some time very soon!
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my wife visitied Tanjung Rhu at the beginning of February and can safely say it was the most memorable holiday we've had. We had read such fantastic reviews on here before visiting and after speaking to Enzo before we'd booked I was looking forward to our stay.

Firstly I must comment on how great the service is at the resort. The sheer attention to detail is what we found so impressive. When we were greeted at the airport with cold towels and mineral water we just knew this was going to be a special stay. Having stayed in the new rooms we can confirm that they are indeed very good and spacious. The service throughout Tanjung Rhu
from front desk staff to the gardeners around the resort is genuine and warm and made us feel very welcome.

The resort as a whole was absolutely amazing with so much to do. The view from the beach is absolutely priceless and you can spend most of the day just relaxing and taking in the view. My wife spoke very highly of the Spa and I think she sampled everything there was to offer so was a good judge! Towards the end of our stay we discovered the Artisan Hut which was absolutely amazing and we wish we had spent a bit more time there although we did manage to make 1 wood carving and my wife tried her hand at Batik painting as well. Ara and Ardy were absolutely fantastic and having something so unique at the resort is just another thing which
sets Tanjung Rhu apart from other resorts.

The all inclusive is an absolute must, it's great value and gives so much choice without having to worry about the bill. It includes room service and the mini bar as well which was fantastic.

The mangrove tour was arranged through the hotel and was really good. We were on the tour with 4 other guests with plenty of room in the boat. We passed a number of other tours that had closer to 15 people on the same sized boat which didn't look particularly comfortable. Zoher at the hotel recommended that we do the sunrise tour which was incredible. We had to wake up quite early but were taken out to the Malaysian peninsula with Thailand where we waited for sunrise. We were then taken to a nearby island and left alone to have breakfast specially prepared by the hotel. It was an absolutely unforgettable trip and I would highly recommend it.

The service across the resort was exceptional from everyone we came across but there were a few individuals who really stood out. Fendi was absolutely brilliant on both our tours, we loved his passion and his desire to make sure we got the best pictures possible. We have some absolutely incredibly pictures from our sunrise cruise thanks to him. Caren at the
sunset pool bar was looked after us really well, always with a smile and a fantastic
attitude. Further mentions also have to go to Christina at the Spa who my wife spoke
highly of and Ara again at the Artisan hut who was really great. The service is really genuine and I just can't fault it. We met a lot of couples at the resort who were visiting for their 5th or 6th time which I think speaks volumes for just how good the resort it.

The only negative was that we were only there for a week and it really
wasn't long enough! We will certainly be coming back and will make sure it's
for a lot longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Zaheed,
It was wonderful to read your review and it was also great to meet you and your wife while you were here in Paradise celebrating your special wedding anniversary. I know all the fantastic staff who you have mentioned will be very excited to know that they were able to contribute towards making your time here with us just that little bit more special. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and let everyone know of your experience and we are all anticipating your next visit (and all the subsequent ones) back to your Home to Paradise.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our 7th consecutive annual visit to this perfect resort. Brilliant service from everyone, General Manager downwards.All genuinely friendly and very helpful,a pleasure to be with. The private beach is a sandy, clean, joy as are the two swimming pools especially the adults only pool although to be fair there weren't many kids anyway. Restaurants offer a good choice of beautifully cooked and presented dishes. The newly refurbed rooms are an improvement but still manage to capture the original essence of the place.We have travelled to many 5 star resorts but this takes some beating. Thank you staff, all of you, but especially Leni who seemed to know what we wanted and when, before we did, and Fendi for his knowledge of wildlife and friendliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear LondonTtravel,
It's fabulous to know that your 7 visits have all been perfect and we are looking forward to seeing you back Home again next year for the 8th Magical time. Leni, Fendi and all your family here will be looking forward to making your next trip, and every trip, another wonderful & relaxing time with us here in Paradise - a time to enjoy the beautiful environment and wind down and completely forget about the stresses of life for a while. See you both again soon.
Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

For the fourth time we stayed at the resort from Jan 28th untill Feb 6th. Again we had a great time there. It's the complete package that makes Tanjung Rhu a great place to stay, the location, a private beach, the 3 good restaurants, 2 great pools, nice rooms and most of all the staff.
They do everything to make your stay as comfortable as they can.
Thank you mr.Caren and Triyono for the great service at the sunset pool and the Rhu, thanks Fahim for the fun at the Rhu restaurant, thanks Nida for the laughs at the Saffron, and thank you Lina for the drinks at the Sands pool bar and offcourse your great singing!!
Our last night we had a surprise dinner at the Rhu restaurant arranged bymr.Don, it was fantastic, thanks Don !!
So thank you all very much for a great 10 days!
We will be back !!

Ivonne Willemsen and Jan Ploeg
Holland

Room Tip: We stayed at the Banyu Senja, sea view room, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ivonne and Jan,
Thank you for the great review and it was wonderful to know that you had another "Great Stay" with your Tanjung Rhu Family. It was so nice to meet you both and to know that the Team here has once again worked their magic to make it another memorable holiday back here in Paradise. Thank you for mentioning Caren, Triyono, Fahim, Nida, Lina & "Mr. Don" and we will make sure they are all recognised as service heroes for their heartwarming service efforts. We will all be looking forward to welcoming you back Home very soon.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited Tanjung Rhu for the 6th time in Nov 2012.
It is still one of the best hotels we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. This is predominately down to fantastic staff who are always happy, smiling and eager to help. The promised refurbishment was underway and the block of newly completed guest rooms, which we were lucky enough to see, have managed to retain the natural, relaxing flavour of the resort that we love so much. We didn’t experience any noise or disruption and the management arranged complimentary trips and activities for the guests as a result of the work. . I struggled to find as good a selection of books in English in the library, possibly because I had already read a lot of the titles. The second reading room / TV area located next the sands is also a good move.
Enzo, the GM was as always visible, mingling with the guests and happy to listen to any comments or suggestions and provide assistance when needed. Thank-you for the 5km run
When we were there the Saffron restaurant was closed. Some of the Saffron menu was available in the Sands but this meant that there was less choice available on the Sands menu than in previous years. Unfortunately we had a small problem, our first in 5 years, when we were there but the staff responded quickly to resolve the issue, exactly what we would have expected. A special thank you to everyone who made our last night so special, particularly the chef at the Rhu for preparing a wonderful meal, and a huge thank-you to the wonderful staff who as always are the resorts best asset.
It remains a wonderful resort if you want peace, natural surroundings, fab views, excellent food and great staff. Not so good if you want nightlife or outside restaurants

We always enjoy our stay at Tanjung Rhu and have already booked our 7th trip for November 2013. Can’t wait to go back to “our home in paradise”. See you all soon. Glenn and Samantha Davies

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Samantha & Glenn,
As always, it is a real pleasure to hear from you and thank you for the wonderful review. It was great to see you both and I am very pleased that the 6th time is still as good as ever for you both. I am also happy that you liked the new room design. We have had lots of return guests both stay in and look at the new rooms over the past 2 months and everyone has given them the big thumbs up. So we are looking forward to having the rest of the rooms upgraded during the balance of this year, along with 2 of the 3 restaurants, so that you can try them out when you return. All your Tanjung Rhu Family are looking forward to seeing you both again when you come back for your 7th visit to your Home Away From Home with us here in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjung Rhu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.