We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomely outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Tanjung Rhu Resort to your Saves list
Tanjung Rhu Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesomely outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

4 incredible nights at Tanjung Rhu!Went there for my family holiday of 10 adults 6 children and 3 babies,and I can gladly say each one of us had an wonderful time(not easy to please when there are so many of us).True that from the moment we were picked up at the airport till they assisted us with checking in going home,unforgettable experience all the way.The view was breathtaking!Look out the balcony and window of my spacious room was so amazed every time with the beautiful view.The staff always went overboard when it comes to fulfilling our request.They specially arranged a moonlight dinner by the pool for our family one night,and there was one time they went to the pharmacy in town to get a prescription for my sister. Spent our entire time there at the beach and swimming pools except one day we went on a langkawi bus tour,shopping at duty free shops and to the local historical spots.I definitely recommend this resort to everyone,get the sea view room and full board package that includes 24 hours free room service and meals and drinks,worth each dollar spent!Thanx very much to all the staff for the awesome holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Nieza K,
Thank you for the great review and I am so pleased that we were able to meet the exacting requirements of the whole family. It was our pleasure to have served you and to have provided for a memorable and enjoyable holiday here in Paradise. I am glad that you decided to sign up for the All Inclusive Package as I know that it is wonderful value, particularly for families with children. I and the fantastic team here at Tanjung Rhu, look forward to welcoming you all back Home when you return for your next luxury holiday.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    190
    42
    25
    25
See reviews for
189
518
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent 3 days in April 2012 with my girls and their fiances. The minute you are picked up at the airport you know you are forever spoilt by the excellent service. The check in done in the comfort of your room is just so brilliant. Money well spent..friendly attentive staff,priceless secluded beach and spectacular sunset.All inclusive package was the best choice we made..hassle free and yummy.
Will definitely go back for the peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Request for the 2nd floor if climbing the stairs is not your favourite thing to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear 818Ummy818,
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. It was our pleasure to have "Spolit" you and your family. It will be our pleasure to spoil you again with excellent service, the wonderful All Inclusive Food, the peacful tranquility and the spectacular natural surroundings here in Paradise. Please come back "Home" soon!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 3D2N here recently and thought this resort was excellent value. While there is some wear and tear on the fittings/fixtures, overall we were really impressed. We stayed in the Cahaya room which was massive for the two of us plus our 2.5 year old daughter. They even made up a bed for her which wasn't included in the booking. Service was excellent, super friendly staff, in-room check in, cool refreshment towels and drinks on arrival, good facilities/amenities in the room. Beach was amazing, clean white sand, graded every day, very quiet and relaxing. Pool areas were great, pool for children separated from the adult pool so something for everyone. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Cahaya rooms provide great space for children with separate lounge area and enough room for an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mel J,
It was great to get your feedback and thank you for the wonderful review. As mentioned to you, we are now upgrading the rooms progressively so I hope you will be able to try out the new rooms when you next come back "Home to Paradise". It will be "Great" to see you and the family when you next have the chance for a getaway break from the city!

Warmest persoanl regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at the Tanjung Rhu resort for a long week-end with my family. The location is remote and therefore very quiet, and the sun sets are exquisite.
Upon arrival at the airport I realized that my camera bag with all the video equipment and our 4 passports had dissapeared....the hotel staff drove me free for 2 days between the hotel, the airport and the police and was most helpful. In the end, the police found my bag and we could enjoy peacefully the wonderful facilities. The current renovation work allows to have good deals at the moment and is not disturbing at all.
one thing for families: the food and drinks are eye watering expensive and being in a remote location you have no other option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear FlorenceCarr,
It was our pleasure to have assisted you during that difficult time and it was pleasing for all of us when the bag was found. Pheeww, what a relief to have found it with all contents intact! I am pleased that overall you had a great time at Tanjung Rhu. Whilst the food here is reasonable compared to many Resorts in Langkawi, perhaps next time you should consider the All Inclusive Food option as it is great value and will avoid any "tears" to ensure a further outstanding, relaxing and stress free stay in Paradise - guaranteed!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm a bit tardy in writing this review, as we stayed at Tanjung Rhu in July, 2012.

It was our fifth time staying there, and we enjoyed it every bit as much as previous stays. Yes, the rooms are starting to get a bit tired in places...but the resort is undergoing a renovation, which we look forward to seeing completed next time we stay! While we were there, The Saffron Restaurant was closed for renovation, but the menu was still available at Sands. We did not once notice any renovation noise, or inconvenience.

The staff are truly outstanding - they smile the whole time, and cannot do too much for you.

The all-inclusive package is excellent, and leads to a very stress-free holiday...particularly as we had our daughter with us, and she was able to order whatever she felt like, whenever she felt like it.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Langkawi, and as we left were already thinking about our 6th visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear MelbourneMummy,
Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us again and also for the fabulous review. A true test for us is when guests come and stay many times and continue to find the same levels of service and enjoyment each time. It comes down to the wonderful staff (who are more like family members) and the exquisite natural environment at Tanjung Rhu - it really does make one feel like they are coming "Home". We can't wait to see you back in Paradise again next year for your 6th magical stay with us - your Tanjung Rhu Family.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My stay at the Tanjung Rhu Resort was most enjoyable. Enjoyable enough, that I call some of the staff friends now. They were brilliant. They make North American hotel service seem like a joke. Langkawi was great for my five day visit—business and some pleasure. The place lives up to what a resort should be: it’s comfortable and enticing—just as the hotel described themselves in their advertising. The place has indeed left an impression on me that has lasted weeks.
The rooms are comfortable. Luxurious too, but not over the top. There’s a charm to the place - it's a casual, unhurried feeling, and you tend to go with the flow after a few days. Perhaps that is due to how we were treated by the staff. Great staff.

The room we had was spacious, with large windows, wood floors and large windows, all set amongst enchanting gardens, with a great sea view. It’s on one of the best white-sand beaches I’ve seen on Langkawi.

I love the Reading Room — a quiet, air conditioned haven with great sea views and an extensive collection of books and magazines. Great for a stop over when you've had enough sun sitting at the beach. Try their English Tea with hot scones, pastries and savouries.

The food is good too. The Rhu is for fine-dining serving East-meets-West cuisine. A little fancy with the string quartet playing, but I got use to it and enjoyed the music. The Sands is a casual all-day restaurant with local, Asian and western fare. Eat the Asian food--they know how to make it. Their Beachfront restaurant serves Asian and Western cuisine too--stick with the Asian food—they know how that should taste.

Good place to stay. Pricey, but not over the top like a few others on the island. It’s the people here that make all the difference. You'll come away feeling your money was well spent and the choice you made wasn't wrong.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mike F,
It was wonderful to read your review and extremely pleasing to know that the staff, the facilities and the fod truly lived up to your expectations. I agree with you and all of our guests who say that it is the staff who make all the difference - the Warm Smiles of Luxury Tanjung Rhu style! Our staff smile from the heart and not just from the mouth - warm, genuine and happy smiles that make you feel at Home in Paradise with your Tanjung Rhu Family! We can't wait to welcome you back home too!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Tanjung Rhu is a great place for a getaway. Wished we can stay longer.

Pros:
- Absolutely fantastic service. Every single staff smiles and greets you, and are also very helpful in our queries and things we needed. The service level is one of the best I've ever experienced. Kudos to all staff!
- Great beach location. The resort is by located by a quiet bay so you get to enjoy the amazing views and beach right by the resort. The views are as good as the ones in Phuket.

Cons:
- The resort is located on the north eastern tip of the island. It's great if you want privacy and getaway from the crowds. However for those who want to visit the restaurants in town or Pantai Cenang, it is a 30 mins drive away, which is not that convenient. However we rented a car and driving is easy in Langkawi, although not advisable at night.

Would definitely come back. A great place if you just want to relax by the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear ytravel18,
Thank you for the great review and I am so pleased that you were able to experience the wonderful service and the beautiful natural environment - Naturally Langkawi, Naturally Tanjung Rhu! I agree that this is a fantastic place to come for total relaxation and complete rejuvenation - you will see the years fall away after just a short time in this pristine Paradise! It's hard to put into words but those valued guests who have been here know the feeling well.

Kuah & Pantai Chenang are just a short and easy 25 - 30 minute drive away for those who wish to venture around the island. Nothing worth visiting is more than 30 minutes from the Resort so while being an idyillic and peaceful haven, everything else is quite close at hand if required. I am glad that you would definitely come back and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back "Home".

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjung Rhu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.