We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with great privacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with great privacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful tropical resort with very friendly staff. We stayed in the lower level of their two-storeys houses and it was just like having our own villa; with sun benches and a nice patio where we can order breakfast delivered to our door step (alternate to the breakfast buffet at the restaurant).

Buggies is readily available at all time, or you can request a bicycle to ride around the resort, which is quite popular among the guests. It has two pools (adult and family) adjacent to the private beach, the adult infinity pool provides great privacy and is very quiet, you can also request to have a massage on the spot.

The resort is relatively far away from Kuah town (20mins) and Pantai Cenang (25mins) beach area, so it's best if you have a car (RM100-120/day) or bike (RM40-60/day) of your own. The road is great for both and there's very little traffic on the entire island.

Great experience overall and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms near the adult pool (west wing) are quieter, lower floors have sun benches while upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    127
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
223
391
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything is amazing about this hotel, from the moment you step in to the moment you leave the place. The staff are friendly and their service is outstanding. I recommend this hotel and its such a perfect spot for a getaway.Loveee it, its beautiful in every way !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived through the gates to this property we were treated like long lost friends. All the staff were welcoming and accommodating to all of our requests. We stayed in a beach villa which was spacious and luxurious and the pool was private and large enough for 4 of us. The bath was incredible! Waking up on the beach was worth the cost of upgrading to a villa. The food at all the restaurants was wonderful, even the snacks by the pool. The Rhu bar at sunset is truly spectacular. We visited during the wet season and there were several typhoons in south east Asia whilst we were in Langkawi, I doubt there is a better place to take refuge. It was however, very disappointing that the sea was really dirty and consequently quite a lot of rubbish was washing up onto the beach. We couldn't see it from our villa, only along the shoreline but it was not the crystal clear emerald waters I had been expecting. The hotel was regularly cleaning the beach but it appeared to be a constant battle. I'm not sure if this was just due to the storms around or if the water is always like that. The pools were terrific though, very large and with plenty of sunbeds. We had hoped that our kids would spend at least a few hours in the kids club but they absolutely loved it and wanted to go everyday. Everyone in the family was happy! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for a fantastic, memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Befast, NI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel .... Rooms amazing, pool areas fabulous, arrival check in area fabulous, restaurants are just lovely ... Service second to none..... Just fab all round !
Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a stay here if you are going to be in the Langkawi area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

An amazing resort and probably the best Four Seasons hotel we have visited. Incredible location, beautiful grounds, stunning pools and impeccable service. You would have to look very hard to find any fault of significance or any fault at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My bf was here at Four Seasons Langkawi about 10 years ago and ever since, he was bragging about how good it was. The bragging got to stop and I've to experience it for real and he actually surprised me with this trip of 4d/3n. I must say I'm definitely impressed with the landscape, spacious room and the excellent service.
We are both city dwellers and our working hours never stops so this short break was considered a blessing for us. 2 things I love most in our room are the spacious bathroom and a heavenly bed. We had such good rest and that itself is worth every penny.
I booked myself a spa treatment and I can only wish that the 90 minutes last longer. I was totally relaxed and the room has a serene view too. I was left alone with the masseur in a huge room and I enjoyed every moment of my peace and quietness.
My bf had another surprise for me which was a romantic dinner for 2 by the beach. He booked the tent and we had dinner there. Just the 2 of us. I'm just glad it didn't rain that night. The food was really good and the service is just excellent which I must emphasize again.
1 of the night, we had issue with the electricity and when we called to have it fix, the electrician was there soon after and fixed the issue.
As mentioned on my subject, this is my first Four Seasons experience and will not be the last for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were in Langkawi in the middle of September and decided to split our stay between Four Seasons and The Datai. We have stayed at The Datai almost 10 years ago. Both resorts are excellent, each with its own distinct flavor so it is down to individual preference (see other review). I won’t mind going back to either place.

Four Seasons stretches out across a wide expansive white sand beach with most accommodations having close access to the beach. As such, the pavilions/villas are designed with extensive glass walls to maximize views. It also means you get a bit less privacy unless you close them off with curtains. It also has an effect on temperature control so the air-conditioners are quite strong and seem to be turned on at all times. Having said that, the accommodations are quite spread out so you rarely encounter passer-bys (mostly working staff). It is a large property (buggy service is available) but we enjoyed walking around and you can pretty much get everywhere via the beach. The water is quite calm but I miss the sound of pounding waves and we could do without a view of the massive cement plant in the horizon.

We stayed in a ground floor pavilion. It is quite spacious with a nice big bathroom. There is a nice outside lounging area at the front and an outside tub area next to the bathroom (enclosed for privacy). You probably want to get the staff to set up the tub if you want to use it as it was empty and needs to the tidied up with all the tree droppings. The provisions within the room are generally in line with expectations for such places. However, there were a few quirks that can be addressed. We accidentally broke the ceramic shampoo bottle and no replacement was provided for the remainder of our stay so no shampooing for us. Also, we didn’t quite appreciate the call to remind us to check out before 12 noon – any such call should come after 12 if at all. The aloe soothing gel was a nice touch. If I go back, I would stay at the upper-level for more privacy (unless I am splurging for one of the beach villas, then I would pick the ones at either end of the resort for more privacy).

Aside from the wide long stretch of white-sand beach, the standout feature is the adult pool. I thought it was quite well-designed providing a visual connection to the beach with sufficient length for doing proper laps. Best of all, it has enclosed areas that provide a high degree of privacy with direct access to the pool. You almost have the benefit of a private pool without the claustrophobia usually associated with the size of such pools within a private villa. The other family pool, in comparison, seems a bit small. There is a good gym (where the glass wall is a nice touch) and a good relaxing spa. They could also do a better job of highlighting available activities within the resort. We didn’t know about the yoga classes until well into our stay.

The food at the Four Seasons was more expensive than The Datai but they seem to be aware of that as our (non-hotel) package came with dining credits that made it more comparable. The dining outlets are open-air with a view of the beach and we tried the Malaysian restaurant, the beach side grill, pool side service and room service. The food quality is slightly above average with the Malaysian restaurant as a stand-out. They seem to have improved their breakfast buffet since some of the reviews as there is quite a good and extensive selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#4 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Andaman Sea off the northwestern coast of Malaysia, the archipelago of Langkawi is south-east Asia's first UNESCO Geopark – a geological and ecological wonderland of 550-million-year-old rock formations, precipitous rainforest and deserted islands. Just minutes by boat from the world-renowned mangroves of the Kilim Karst Geoforest Park, Four Seasons Resort Langkawi combines artful design and all-pervading serenity with a wholesome connection with nature. The Resort’s traditional Malay kampong-design weaves through acres of beachfront gardens dotted with al fresco restaurants, palms and lotus ponds. An endless sense of space encourages clarity and calm. UNESCO-protected mangroves showcase labyrinthine adventures between land and sea, supported by the on-site Geopark Discovery Centre, while the Geo Spa draws on the ancient healing energies of the surrounding nature. Throughout the Resort, private cabanas, endless hideaways and landscaped pools (including one for adults only) offer the freedom and flexibility to reflect and reconnect – individually, with one another or as a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Four Seasons Langkawi
Langkawi Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.