We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime....treat your self!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Barcelona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime....treat your self!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose to stay here as a treat with the family. We wanted somewhere family friendly (not full of honeymooners), great food, unspoilt beach, privacy, and good vibe (so no drunk yobs). Four Season immediately feels very exclusive, like the best we've seen/exprienced. We have stayed in various hotels around the world, but everything from the valet to the receptionist, decor, services, I mean they are ALL top quality and you definitely feel like a A-list celeb. Yes, the price is quite expensive but it's definitly worth it as a once in a lifetime trip. Some highlights for us:
- Unspoilt private beach (great views, loads of islands like the ones from film "The Beach")
- All day kids club (free)
- Mangrove tour (see loads of wildlife)
- Adults (have private booths/dual sunloungers) & Family pool (free ice cream/deserts, sun tan lotion!)
- Fully kitted out modern gym
- Jacuzzi in every room
- Great restaurants

Basically, this is a top end hotel that you should save up as you will not forget about it!

Room Tip: If you want the ultimate privacy, then book the detached villas at the end of the island, although w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    155
    33
    16
    15
See reviews for
284
448
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having stayed at the Datai on previous visits, I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at the Four Seasons. Unlike the Datai, which is more of a jungle resort (at least where the rooms/villas are concerned), the Four Seasons is much more beach oriented, despite having a large factory of some sort blighting the view somewhat from the pool and beach. Service is typical Four Seasons great, although I felt that the bathroom could have replaced the large pink square stone tub with a proper jacuzzi. Breakfast was spectacular in terms of quality and variety. Wifi was slow and patchy, and only free for one or two devices. Not much to do within the immediate surroundings of the resort, but Langkawi isn't all that big an island.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a large square bathtub and ours had decent view of the beach/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
238 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

this place is great to spend your new years eve. the resort was well decorated ,beautiful and well maintained. the staff was extra ordinary. the resort is clean and beautiful. the rooms are huge and happy.... had a great stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed in a beach villa which was outstanding
a resort where your every need is satisfied. Great facilities, great food, excellent staff.

Nothing was a problem and the team were genuinly working towards their guests having a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel of the famous hotel chain. Beautifully decorated rooms, pools and breakfast were a absolute plus! Compliments to the attentive staff throughout the resort. Hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
406 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We were happy to compare two different room types: "lower pavillon" and "beach villa". If staying at a pavillon, we recommend partial sea view (not garden view) and the lower floor, even as at some pavillons the upper floor is a bit more expensive (because of more sea view). This beacause at the lower floor you have more space with the garden (not only a balcony). The rooms are very spacy, you have a nice bathroom, and many details are carefully implemented. I was travelling with my wife and our little son (18 months old), and they providet also a nice baby bed. There is also an outside jacuzzi: great to relax, and of course covered from outside views, it's private within a small but beautiful garden with tropical trees and plants. So, although the room rate is relatively high, it's worth it, as the rooms as well as the whole hotel complex, including pools, spa, restaurants etc. is lovely, they look for details and the staff is very friendly in a natural and authentic way.

If you can afford a beach villa, go for it! Even as the pavillon is already very much to recommend, the villa is outstanding. Very spacy, with private pool just in front of the beach, a great lovely tropical private garden just with the sea, a wonderful view to the closeby islands, great inside and outside jaccuzzis - in all points of view to recommend.

A bit less convincing are the restaurants within the hotel. Some dishes are not really tasty and overprized. Some other dishes are very good and (more or less) worth their prize. So there is some room for improvement concerning the kitchen.

Overall, a wonderful resort to relax which can be recommended very much.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On the plus side the hotel is a design triumph but thats it. Its on a windy man made beach opposite a cement factory.
The bar lacks any atmosphere ant the two nights we tried it the waitress hid between rounds and we had to search her out despite us being the only people there.

The Italian restaurant is appalling food and sppalling service.
My starter of carpaccio arrived on a warm plate and the met was very warm. I left two thirds as i was suspicious and rightly so as i awoke at 2am with severe stomach cramps and omiting for 6 hours.
All the food was over cooked and close to inedible.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLangkawi, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear HertsFred,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret to hear that your stay at our Resort has not lived up to your expectations and we extend our sincere apologies.

We have reviewed your feedback regarding service and dining standards and discussed them in detail with the team.

With regards to your comments on the cement factory, the resort is oriented away from it and it is quite a distance away; although I apologise if it affected your view of our beautiful, natural surroundings.

Should you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me at +60 4 950 8888 or alastair.mcalpine@fourseasons.com

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Resort Langkawi again.


Warmest regards,
Alastair McAlpine
General Manager
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
10.7 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.6 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
The Datai Langkawi
#3 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 14 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#6 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Andaman Sea off the northwestern coast of Malaysia, the archipelago of Langkawi is south-east Asia's first UNESCO Geopark – a geological and ecological wonderland of 550-million-year-old rock formations, precipitous rainforest and deserted islands. Just minutes by boat from the world-renowned mangroves of the Kilim Karst Geoforest Park, Four Seasons Resort Langkawi combines artful design and all-pervading serenity with a wholesome connection with nature. The Resort’s traditional Malay kampong-design weaves through acres of beachfront gardens dotted with al fresco restaurants, palms and lotus ponds. An endless sense of space encourages clarity and calm. UNESCO-protected mangroves showcase labyrinthine adventures between land and sea, supported by the on-site Geopark Discovery Centre, while the Geo Spa draws on the ancient healing energies of the surrounding nature. Throughout the Resort, private cabanas, endless hideaways and landscaped pools (including one for adults only) offer the freedom and flexibility to reflect and reconnect – individually, with one another or as a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Four Seasons Langkawi
Langkawi Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.