We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

On arrival for our honeymoon we were not greeted with any congratulations, nor were there any touches in our room as we had in the previous hotels we stayed at. This was our final hotel on our honeymoon and we had high expectations but we were disappointed. The first night we had no sleep as the mattress was so old and soft and had no springs left in it. We had back aches and felt awful the next day. To be fair, when we reported this the management changed the mattress straight away, however I would expect better beds in the first place from a Four Seasons. The villa smelt of paint and the air conditioning was very noisy. The door was also broken and had to be fixed. Again it was fixed as soon as we reported it but not what you expect to have to be doing when paying these prices. The resort was almost deserted and felt very isolated. We would be sat at breakfast or dinner with only one other table occupied. It lacked any atmosphere. This is probably a seasonal thing though and can't be helped. Postitives are the food was vey good, staff are very helpful and the pool areas are lovely with nice touches like water and cold towels brought out to you and sunglasses cleaning. The spa was good. Rhu Bar is great for sunsets and the mangrove tour is well worh doing. It's a nice resort but didn't quite meet our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    127
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
225
391
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed in an upper sea view villa at the Four Seasons Langkawi for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon. I would not recommend this resort as a honeymoon destination.

We had planned to stay at the Four Seasons as a final splurge and as the highlight of our honeymoon. We arrived and were surprised that no one offered their congratulations. Unsure whether the lady checking us in was aware, I told her that we were on honeymoon. She smiled and simply said "yes", and changed the subject.

We were then conducted to our room and there were no touches at all in recognition that it was our honeymoon. Having read other reviews (which talked of bottles of champagne and flowers) I mentioned to the member of staff who had conducted us to our room that we were on honeymoon. He phoned the reception and hen ttold us that as we had not booked the "honeymoon package" we did not get any extra touches. He also failed to congratulate us.

My husband and I discussed upgrading to the honeymoon package but decided thatthe moment had gone and that it would be pretty meaningless if the staff had to be paid to offer their congratulations. This reception was extremely disappointing, especially as every other hotel we had stayed at (which were considerably less expensive than the Four Seasons) had greeted us with wide smiles, congratulations and flowers. It was not until the evening at dinner that the waiting staff offered their congratulations (the one and only occasion in 5 days).

Added to this, (1) the cold tap to our bath did not work and we had to complain twice before it was fixed (on the 3rd day and after I had scalded my feet); (2) we found that the buffet breakfast was not replenished regularly; (3) the puddings we ordered one night simply did not arrive and having waited 30 minutes we asked what had happened and were told that the kitchens had now closed; (4) when our bill came we found that the amount we had been charged for drinks from the mini bar was more than the advertised tariff in the room - the reception staff simply said that the price had gone up and they had not bothered to update the tariff cards in the rooms.

On the plus side the hotel is immaculate and the rooms are comfortable, however we will not be back to the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

Recently visited with my son for a short 2N3D stay. Have to say despite some harsh comments here on tripadvisor, we had a lovely time and couldn't really find any shortfalls! Perhaps it makes a difference how crowded the place is when one visits? Now being beginning of rainy season and after Golden Week holidays where bunch of Japanese visit this place (we know our country folks :-), the resort was extremely quiet. Anyway, the service and attention (+ balance of being left to ourselves) we received was outstanding.

The only problem is - that is if you are a snorkeler (can't speak for a diver) there really isn't a great spot. There is a marine park that houses multiple operator, good fun especially for kids and groups, but unfortunately nothing compared to what you'll find in other "snorkeling famous" locations. It is best to indulge and enjoy the hotel itself. For that matter, 3 nites is probably the max you need...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

The place to go to rediscover your sense of awe and retune your inner harmony. Long life memories for the family. As close to paradise as you can get and an amazing staff that are in tune also with the place. Wonderful , will definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brigette1972
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

wow wow wow is what i can say . we had one day off the cruise and found it and snuk in LOL we were in heaven it is quite pricy but i tell you what you pay for is what you get. You are treated like royality and the service is exceptional. i would def recommend this to anyone that wants to get away from it all and needs to unwind. We then decided to go back and spend five days there. we will def keep this spot as our favourite. A must to see

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I’m a thirty-something high end traveler, spending my time between the US, Europe, and the Middle and Far East. I'm a fan of Four Seasons Hotels, though generally have a bias towards urban settings rather than resort style accommodations.

The trip to the Langkawi was on par with what I expected from the Four Seasons - the setting was beautiful, spa facilities were top notch, the pool was elegant and offered great privacy. The surrounding landscape really highlighted the wonderful flora the island has to offer.

We stayed five nights on the top level of one of the villas - wonderfully furnished, beautiful wood, everything one would expect from the Four Seasons. Hotel staff were very good, and the concierge in particular (whos name escapes me...) seemed to genuinely care about the place. Greg Pirkle, the manager of the hotel is a long time 4S veteran, and provided a very personal welcome.

My detracting points - the reason for four stars versus five stars is primarily the quality of the restaurants, which just weren't very good. I read another review that mentioned the best meal the person had was the casual grill on the beach and I concur. Also, staff closed the bar early on us (midnight-ish), though Greg later mentioned to me they're supposed to stay open till 3am. As well, we took an ocean kayak trip out to a nearby island - not Langkawi and not 4S property - but still this was a hour long paddle trip recommended by the staff, and found on this island a beach absolutely filled with trash. We're told it comes from Thailand, which is nearby and again which the 4S has no control over, but it was a real turn-off.

Room Tip: 4S offers 4 nights for the price of 3 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were here in Four Seasons for our honeymoon. We chose this hotel with high expectations and this were exceeded in every way. What struck us the most was the beautiful setting of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the abundance of wildlife in the ground (monkeys, squirrels & birds), the quality of the food and the wonderful spa. We were made very welcome wherever we were in the hotel. Even the gardeners greeted us warmly every time we bumped into them:). That's how friendly everyone is at the hotel.
We stayed for 3 nights, and we went to different restaurants, where the quality and variety of food was superb. When we were in Kelapa Grill, the F & B manager (Putu Jeniari) & the waiter in charge, Akmal, were very attentive and helpful. In fact, all the F & B managers & staff, may it be at the Ikan-Ikan restaurant, Serai restaurant or the Rhu Bar, everyone welcomed us warmly.
The room that we stayed was spacious and opulently decorated, perfect for honeymooners! There is an outdoor bath which makes the room even more luxurious and wonderful to stay in!
To make our last day perfect, when we checked out, the General Manager personally escorted us to our car. The driver was very friendly throughout the drive too.
Overall, this is the recommended hotel to stay if you are in Langkawi. Flawless!

Surainee & Phil Blomfield

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Andaman Sea off the northwestern coast of Malaysia, the archipelago of Langkawi is south-east Asia's first UNESCO Geopark – a geological and ecological wonderland of 550-million-year-old rock formations, precipitous rainforest and deserted islands. Just minutes by boat from the world-renowned mangroves of the Kilim Karst Geoforest Park, Four Seasons Resort Langkawi combines artful design and all-pervading serenity with a wholesome connection with nature. The Resort’s traditional Malay kampong-design weaves through acres of beachfront gardens dotted with al fresco restaurants, palms and lotus ponds. An endless sense of space encourages clarity and calm. UNESCO-protected mangroves showcase labyrinthine adventures between land and sea, supported by the on-site Geopark Discovery Centre, while the Geo Spa draws on the ancient healing energies of the surrounding nature. Throughout the Resort, private cabanas, endless hideaways and landscaped pools (including one for adults only) offer the freedom and flexibility to reflect and reconnect – individually, with one another or as a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Four Seasons Langkawi
Langkawi Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.