We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naturally Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Save Saved
You added Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FamilyStay & Enjoy Nature
Ranked #9 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Naturally Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Berjaya for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The resort is not far from the airport around 15-20 minutes. Since we booked with flight centre we had the extra privilege of MYTime which me3ant we had our own check in and we were greeted promptly and given a welcome drink. It also included 15 percent discount on food and beverages as well as 10 per cent off spa treatments. We were upgraded to a Premier Land Chalet, this was beautiful, completely renovated and full view sea view. The resort is huge, you only realised how busy the place was till it was breakfast we felt it still had a secluded feel about it. Our chalet was room 1201 and we were not far from the main areas of the resort so did not use the shuttle, we only used it when we had dinner at the Thai Restaurant and had a treatment at TARAS Spa. The shuttles were always on the go and fairly prompt. We found the staff very friendly and willing to help in anyway. Breakfast we felt was hit and miss, I think the Dayang could do with a facelift as well as the Beach Restaurant. Breakfast at the Beach Restaurant was a la carte as well as a small buffet offering toast, pastries, fruit and cereals available. Our favourite thing to eat was the Roti with maple syrup. We had dinner at the Beach Restaurant twice it was very nice the Tandoori Sea bass was very fresh. We found coffee to be of a fairly good standard for an Asian destination just the milk was froth but they do their best. Wifi in the rooms was fairly poor and there were a lot of people frustrated and often we would resort to the business centre for quicker service. House cleaning was excellent and often found our bed decorated with a towel arrangement like swans, and chocolates every night. We were given an anniversary cake as well as a bottle of wine for our meal. The resort is a 5 minute shuttle ride to Oriental Village for the Cable Car but you will have to walk back or Taxi as the service is only one way.
The beach was beautiful we went for walks everyday, yes the water is murky but beautifully warm, we hardly swam in the pool. The Flora and the Fauna is spectacular we had Dusky Leaf Monkeys, Macau Monkey (very cheeky), tree snakes, hornbills, flying lemurs, squirrels all at our door step, you just did' t know what was there when you opened the door of your chalet. We found the location of the Berjaya to be perfect its only a 20min ride into Pantai Cenang by taxi a cost of 26RM, we did have dinner one night at the Andaman and yes its a beautiful hotel in a beautiful spot but it is a bit far to get anywhere. We had our dinner at the Pahn Thai on our anniversary this is a must food and views are well worth it .We also had a spa treatment at the Taaras spa which is brand new.This was a very peaceful and relaxing holiday and would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,156
    927
    296
    111
    76
See reviews for
577
1334
44
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The chalet was awesome, clean and they have almost everything you need. Clean and tidy, newly renovated. Lots of facilities, the pool is not too deep (1.5m at it's deepest, child friendly). But in order to get to your room, you need to take the shuttle in the lobby or you walk. Sometimes the queue can be quite long. The distance of the resort from Pantai Cenang or Jetty Point is far, it's going to take you almost half an hour to reach there. Overall, it was a great experience and if you're on a tax free shopping trip, try to avoid going langkawi during public holidays as lots of shops will be closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A fabulous beach side resort. Very large and sprawling but shuttle service well organised to return to chalets. Not so good on pick ups. We had a sea view room which had a superb view over the top of the water bungalows. I have to say that I would have been very disappointed if we had paid considerably more for one of the chalets over water as some had no view at all and when the tide went out there was just mud and rocks underneath.
Food was good and reasonable by UK standards. Would recommend the Peking Duck in the Oriental Restaurant. The regular portion was half a duck and was plenty for the two of us.
Walk to the Oriental Village was pleasant. You could get the shuttle down but an easy walk for a very good cheap lunch in the Sole Cafe in the food Court there. Also to buy beer and wine in the duty free shop. Large cans of Carlsberg only 2.8 rm and wine from 24 rm.
Lovely beach and pool area. Plenty of sun loungers and beds when we were there. Pool towels were always available.
Overall a good quality resort. Beach could do with more regular cleaning but that is my only criticism.

Room Tip: We didn't feel it would have been worth paying the extra for a water chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous setting unparalleled by any other resort in Langkawi. We were 2 families with kids. We needed 2 connected rooms for each family and wanted to be close to each other. The hotel accommodated out request and even upgraded our rooms in the process at no charge. We got awesome rooms yhat were bigger than the orginial one AND with sea view!!! We were extatic esp the kids. We were in rooms 1256 & 1257. The restaurants are all nice. Food is delicious. Staff is very friendly. The sports bar with pool, ping ping, and foosball tables were a getaway for our weary kids.

Rosalaura from reception was very helpful and accommodating. She remembered our name every time we asked for something. The staff at the transportation desk are great. I forgot my mobile in a taxi. The driver was very honest. He came the next day to find me to give me the mobile. He couldn't reach me so be came the day after. His name is Sabry. A true gentleman. He could've easily taken the expensive smart phone for himself.l but his honesty and concious wouldn't allow him. He came back out of his way to return it. Great people. Who are welcoming and gracious. It is a pleasure having the chance to visit Langkawi and be hosted by its people.

I will visit this place again in the future and will highly recommended for all my friends who plan to visit Langkawi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel has many great features. I'd first like to mention the staff. They are incredible, especially the restaurant workers. Nothing is to much effort and they don't seem to stop smiling.not only this but the food is amazing. The breakfast is buffet style and there is a huge range from fruit and cereal, to on the spot cooked omelettes and beans with much in between, definitely worth paying for when you book online. For dinner you can choose from 5 restaurants, all of which are fairly expensive compared to other places we have travelled in asia but not as expensive as England. The 5 restaurants have different themes, the best of which we found to be the Thai, mainly for the location over the sea and the view of the sunset. Be sure to book in advance as they are normally fully booked on the day and they can't accommodate people just showing up. The room we were given had an incredible view overlooking the sea. Although it was supposed to be a rainforest room, I'm fairly sure other rooms of the similar price range didn't have quite as good a view so try and request room 3204!! I would also like to mention the shuttle service the hotel provides to get people around the resort. Its is beyond phenomenal. You never have to wait more than 30 seconds for a lift anywhere in the hotel. It sounds like a pointless thing to mention but the resort is fairly large, especially if your room is at the far side to the lobby and it is fairly handy when you have trips booked for early in the morning. The pool and the beach are also kept immaculate, although there aren't that many beds around the pool, you can always find one at the resorts private beach.
In terms of trips, we booked all of ours though the hotel. We travelled to the main strip of hotels and restaurants which costs 26rm each way from berjaya as this is where we were told we could find the trips for cheaper. After asking everywhere some would do it cheaper but then when you tell them where you are staying they won't pick up from the berjaya as its to far away, which means you have to add taxi cost each way which makes it the same price as the hotel, except you get the security of guaranteed pick up if booking with the hotel.
The trips we did include:
Cable car - cost 30rm, you can walk to it from the hotel, don't take a taxi, its literally 2 minutes away. Worth doing, unfortunately the sky walk part is being fixed and won't be open until 2014 but you still get an incredible view.
Waterfalls - free, also able to walk to, about 15 minutes from hotel. Really amazing, you can get right underneath it.
Sun set dinner cruise - cost 260rm, amazing views, good dinner, worth doing, just try and check the weather forecast as it would be disappointing if there was any cloud.
Island hoping - cost 65rm, good fun, shame it's only half a day and they don't take you anywhere to do go snorkelling in not cloudy water. The pregnant maidens lake is cool tho and weirdly hard to swim in.
The only negative for this hotel could be its location. Although its an amazing setting in the forest and on the beach, the 26rm taxi to any sort of restaurants or other beach is annoying if you like to get out in the evening,

Room Tip: Room 3204, standard rainforest room but has an incredible sea view room no others for that price has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of four stayed in a family suite (two inter-joining villas) for four nights. Not a great start as hotel forgot got our airport transfer. But the location and resort layout is fantastic, and spread over a large area, nestled in the trees, but never too far from the sea. Great safe beach for kids with lots of chairs and drinks service for mum and dad. Pool excellent too. The villas we stayed in were clean well maintained and in excellent condition with everything we needed - and fortunately quite close to the main complex, beach, kids club etc etc, so walking to and from the room was no drama. We thought this was a benefit as the villas at the far end of the resort are a long way away - however frequent jeeps relay people to and from those rooms seemed to fix that problem. The problem for us, was that the jeeps were noisy and operated all night, so our peaceful villa was not as peaceful as we would have liked. We heard the Thai restaurant was fantastic, but missed out due to no reservation, not for lack of trying - if only the restaurant answered their phone the several times we tried. All in all fantastic resort - could be a 5/5 rating with attention to the detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you very much for the review as it is with such invaluable feedback that allows us the opportunity in gauging where we stand with our service delivery and product.

On behalf of the team, please accept our sincerest apologies for the minor inconveniences experienced during your recent stay. I have since share your comments with the rest of the team and rest assured we will endeavour to make the necessary improvements.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you should need any further assistance whatsoever. We do look forward to be able to serve you again in future.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent Christmas and New Year's Eve 2012 at the resort. Magical, we got upgraded, enjoyed a fantastic view of the sea. The root beach is lovely and our entire trip was spent in the resort! The rainforest borders the resort, so you get the best of both world.s really. Would love to head back for another magical holiday

Room Tip: Get the sea view villas. Built on stilts they offer a magnificent clear view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.