We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Environment - A Plus / Hotel - So sad !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia to your Saves list
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LIVE. REVERE & INDULGE
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Colpetty, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Environment - A Plus / Hotel - So sad !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. The main reason for us to select this place was because of the awesome experience we had two years back, and wanted to rekindle that feeling. We came to what was I think an hotel establishment which seems to be (sadly) just slipping by. To explain myself, we arrived in the afternoon where we were greeted by a half dead receptionist, who seems to have been over worked, no smile, just robotic response. Then we were shown to the hotel room and the despite our holiday have been great, out hotel experience left us wondering that we would not take the risk of returning again. For future travellers I would like you to consider 3 things.

1. Sea view - When you hear from your travel agent or via their website, sea view means a different thing for Berjaya Langkawi. When you request for sea view, what you expect is to when open the window you can see the sea. That's not what is really mean to them. What Sea View in Berjaya Langkawi means, in some suits you will not be able to see the sea or at least have a glimpse of it, its just that in your virtual mind you need to imagine the sea is some what close by. Most of the rooms or chalets located are amidst this rainforest (which is a real good experience if you love being in a jungle), but if you love the sea make sure that you get one of the few chalets that are actually right in front of the sea or better yet on the sea (which are a bit expensive).

2. Monkey Problem - It must be said that the hotel informs you in advance and there are plenty of signs that informs you of the Monkey issue, but the problem is when you are faced with one, the response from the hotel is not as forthcoming as you wish it would be. One morning when we were off to breakfast a bunch of monkeys were right in front of our door, and when we opened it they just charged at as. So we closed the door and called the operator informing about the issue and ask someone to help us in getting rid of the monkeys. Alas no one came and we just stood inside the chalet until the Monkey's themselves decided to leave. So if you are selecting a room, select one that is closer to the main lobby as its frequented by people outside most of the monkeys don't come that close. The further you go away from the lobby is where you come across monkeys. However if you are an animal lover and loves to experience monkey's first hand.. I guess the best is to find a chalet way away from the lobby. :)

3. Breakfast Menu - I do understand that usually most hotels serve English Breakfast, but this is going to be really frustrating if you are a guest who stays for a longer period of time. There is nothing to look forward for, cuz its the same. Example, the fruits they served for the whole time we spent there (8 days) is Pineapple, Watermelon, Papaya and Honey Dew. I wouldn't be surprised that if you come across the same. Then you have your usual egg station, bread and rice and curry. Just a suggestion, would be nice to mix it up at least invent a theme, so that guests have a delightful experience each morning while having breakfast.

Those are the 3 things that I would like to point out to the staff and the management of the hotel, if that means anything to them. But if you are going to visit a place like that, I guess just prepare yourself for the above 3.

Nevertheless, the environment is absolutely breathtaking, very relaxing and joyful which makes the whole experience not so bad.

Room Tip: Room 3215 is not Sea view..any thing closer to that number is not sea view. If you really want sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel V, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and will endeavour to make the necessary improvements. As regards the seaview room, please be advised that we always market these rooms as partial seaview. The reason is because of the preservation of the rainforest during construction, as such, the rooms do not offer panoramic views of the sea. As you rightly pointed out, our water chalets are just perfect for an unobstructed sea view experience. Concerning the issue of the lack of response from staff when you had monkeys outside the room, please accept my apology for the lapse in service. This matter has been put to the relevant department for improvement. With reference to your comments regarding the breakfast spread, we have two outlets each offering a unique breakfast experience. The Beach Restaurant serves a semi buffet with hot items on the ala carte whilst the Dayang Café offers a full and varied buffet spread. The breakfast outlet options and the wide buffet spread is to cater for the mix of international guests and also for those on a shorter stay. We find this a happy median for all concerned.
With my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    990
    314
    124
    84
See reviews for
634
1,421
44
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

just like the island the resort too is very scenic. stayed wit my wife for 2 days. enjoyed the beach and landscapes. pan thai restaurant is a must try especially in evening.

food in the restaurants is a bit expensive and very less options in Indian cuisine. the rooms are nice. we stayed in a chalet from with good view from balcony. nice and peaceful. the room side was a bit small.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

absolutely fantastic place complimented by excellent staff that know to take care of guests. This resort is excellent value for money, chalets are very spacious clean. We were 2 adults and 2 young children. One downside here is, there isn't a good Kids Club. Our usual Fijian Warwick resort had a great kids club, that started at 8 am to 4 PM everyday. I missed that Berjaya, nonetheless there is plenty of activities on the beach and around Langkawi to keep the whole family occupied.

One tip for would-be travelers is to stop by at Petronas Gas station at Perdana Quay about 2 kilometers from Berjaya and buy a strong Mosquito repellent, 12 bottles of drinking water before you get inside the resort.

Room Tip: Beach Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Berjaya is such a great place my family and my friends family went to stay there we loved it and wanted to stay longer. We saw so many monkeys we were thrilled. The pools were great. The rooms were so clean. I hope you go. I WANT TO GO BACK!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Berjaya Resort for 10 nights from 18th March 2013 for our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience during this time. We stayed 4 nights in a rainforest chalet and then 6 nights in a seaview chalet, both rooms were very clean, and comfortable and all amendities were great. This resort has about 500 chalets and to get from reception to your chalet there is a shuttle bus, which ran very well during our stay. A down side was the noise of the shuttle buses driving past our chalet late at night and early in the mornings, they are quite noisy, they should invest in electric shuttle buses so they would be no noise.
There was free WiFi internet connection which worked well even right up in the rainforest chalet however we had to constantly put in our password all time time as WiFi didn't remember our mobile numbers.
Resort is in a great location, right on the edge of the rainforest with many different animals to see, including 2 species of monkeys, flying lemurs, and squirrels. It's about 20 min drive to nearest town where great value street food and shopping.
The beach from resort was clean and beautiful.
We would recommend this resort to couples/honeymooners.

Room Tip: We stayed in both rainforest and seview chalets, and would recommend both. If possible maybe get a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a friends wedding - (which was exceptionally organized and a fantastic night) I was particularly impressed by the resorts ability to fill all our requests that were emailed prior to travel. We went with a 14 month old boy and were keen to be close to all the facilities, avoiding the need for a shuttle bus and also wanted to be in a single sea view chalet as some are adjoined. Our chalet (2119) was definitely a winner, the view and position in the resort in my opinion was unbeatable. I personally do not believe it worthwhile to upgrade having seen several of the other options. Unless of course you would like more space, as otherwise features seemed identical.

The pool was a little warm for our liking- although the swim up bar and mojitos made up for this :) the beach was really well set up plenty of lounges available, but water Is not amazing in Malaysia as a whole.

Food was of a really high standard from the buffet breaky to room service and the restaurants. Their only downfall was ability to manage big groups on al a carte menus. Initially I thought this was just the Malaysian way, but we went to a Malaysian restaurant outside the resort at the wharf and the service and food was exceptional. Highly recommend. If u were travelling as a couple I imagine this would not be an issue. I thought the food and drinks were particularly well priced for a resort.

All staff we encountered were great, and our babysitter Mazura was just fantastic- particularly with a very clingy fussy baby.


Thanks berjaya.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here during Sep 2012 and had one of the greatest time ever! At first I was worried about Sep being the wettest month of the year but the weather was kind and rained very little.

The staff at Berjaya were absolutely wonderful and made every effort to make our stay pleasurable. We were upgraded free of charge to the premier suite (I paid for deluxe) and got a room with stunning sea views! Truly enjoyable and very different experience..

The restaurant is a bit pricey (but buffet breakfast was great) so I would recommend people to venture out and eat outside the resort even though it will require a taxi ride (nothing much within walking distance). Definitely go for Island Hopping (boat trip) and also try out the spa facilities --- best ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.