We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia to your Saves list
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12 Treats of Christmas
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean rooms, nice staff (they wanted to help wherever possible) wonderful sea view including some monkeys in the trees or on the balcony sometimes, good food in various restaurants, clean pool it was a pleasure to stay here.

The location is perfect: you walk 5 minutes to the cable car and oriental village - the city center is 30 minutes away by taxi (shopping).

In total: we would enjoy coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    1,033
    321
    131
    86
See reviews for
651
1,482
49
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kursk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed by the hillside chalet, very tranquil with silent nights. Food at restaurant was variety, affordable and hygienic environment. Many activities in and around hotel. The beachside is clean and well spread and rather private. Taken side tours such as island hopping, eagle feeding, kayaking, and jungle trekking. You really need a full planned day to do this. Golfing was excellent, very private but challenging course. Try their signature hole par 3 and go for spa treatment after your golfing

Room Tip: Try the one beachside if you luv the sea. Else the hillside are more private and silent for you to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We Loved our 2 night stay at Berjaya Langkawi.

We have read some of the reviews on here and on all honestly people really must be nit picking!

We stayed in a Premium Chalet on the water. It was just perfect. I would really recommend theses chalets.
It had a lovely big comfy bed, a huge bathroom with his and hers sinks and our own little balcony with sun beds.

Some reviewers have complained about noise at night but it was very peaceful where we were.

Do note though, that the rainforest chalets are what they say on the tin, they are set in the rain forest. So they will be sounds of crickets etc. but with the doors shut I can't imagine that being an issue.
(I can't believe one review on here complained that the bugs were too loud!)

The resort is very big so they use shuttle buses to take you to and fro. All you have to do is dial 4 and then go outside to be picked up.
We never waited more than a few minutes for one to arrive.

The pool area was gorgeous. The pool was lovely, it has a water fall and a swim up pool bar.
The beach is right next to it to so you could choose where you wanted to go.

You get breakfast included in the price.
You can eat at either the beach restaurant where you order of a menu or the Dayang restaurant which is just a buffet. Both were lovely and both have a great view for eating your breakfast.

All the staff we came across were very helpful and friendly.

We found Drinks and food cheap.
A Tiger beer was only £2.90 and Carlsberg £2.50

There are serval different bars and restaurants in the resort which will be good for people staying over a week as there is lots of variation.

Also if you book via the website you can get 15% off if you book a certain amount if days in advance.

Over all I would highly recommend Berjaya Langkawi, it's been paradise!
I would advise others to ignore any negative comments.
We wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights. From the website, one gets the impression that chalets are very close to the beach. Partial sea view chalets are a 10 minute walk. The rooms are very clean, well maintained but average in terms of quality.
Is suggest paying extra for a chalet on water or in the jungle, but I'm not sure that 'partial sea views' justify the extra cost.
The location is beautiful and the oriental village next door a lifeline.
All in all, this is perfect for anyone looking for an experience interacting with nature, but is certainly not a luxurious 'beachy' 5* resort such as those in Phuket or Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

After we (as a couple) spent one night with a little confused staff, because my brother was joining us the following night and it was little complex to get a second room close to ours we were a bit skeptical - but: clean rooms, nice staff (they wanted to help wherever possible) wonderful sea view including some monkeys in the trees or on the balcony sometimes (not dangerous, very shy), good food in various restaurants, clean pool and amazing activities to book (snorkeling, ...) it was a pleasure to stay here.
The location is perfect: you walk 5 mins to the cable car and oriental village - the city center is 30 minutes away by taxi (shopping).
In total: we would enjoy coming back again. Recommendation: ask for newly renovated rooms. The others are still great, even though a little "old" - not run down. And if you don't like to walk a lot or driving with a little bus, you should ask about a room close the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERMANY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 6 days at Berjaya and loved it's location in the rain forest, with all the beautiful nature and animals. The beach is totally postcard- like, white sand and palm trees. Unfortunately there are no snorkelling spots.

We stayed in the rainforest studio. The room was renovated a few years ago, so it looked nice and comfortable. The only thing to complain is that the house keeping needs do care more if Berjaya wants to be 5* resort. Our sink did not work properly for the first few days and we had to ask for reperation (I would expect them to notice themselves when cleaning). When we arrived one of the towels had a huge stain on it, one of the kind you really don't want to have on your towel... Also it took the house keeping 4 days to remove one toothbrush somebody lost from the ground in front of the bungalows. We really wondered.

We tried the Thai restaurant and the Chinese restaurant, both were nice. Breakfast was totally satisfying, for an exotic island the food platter variaty was pretty lame though.

The pool is really nice, altough it was hard to get a seat there, happily there were no such problems at the beach.

There is not much to do near Berjaya, except for the cable car (do it!) and the local village. There is a free shuttle service within Berjaya, due to the resort's size this totally makes sense.

We had a scooter lent from a place nearby (the hotel itself has only a limited number of scooters, we did not get one there). By scooter it takes about 30 min to go to busy places on the west coast) and about 45 min to Kuah.
Also, if you want laundry services, we would recommend a laundry outside(ask the hotel staff), Berjaya prices are way too high.

Do the Dev's adventures tour!!! We did the night tour, it was really nice and we loved our tour guide Shu.

Personally we liked our time at Berjaya, but found the resort a little bit too big and crowdy, compared to other resort we visited in Asia. For Langkawi I think it is still one of the best choices to make in the price segment.

Room Tip: There is no direct sea entry from the the beach chalets into the water, the only thing you have here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

BERJAYA LANGKAWI RESORT - A wonderful experience, pleasant staff and comfortable rooms. The chalets in middle of dense vegetation was a beautiful experience.The hotel has access to a lovely stretch of beach.Considering that the hotel has thick vegetation I was expecting to wake up to sounds of birds but was pretty disappointed that there was not even a bug in sight.Food was not the best but good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.