We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fav hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia to your Saves list
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK EARLY, SAVE MORE!
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baku, Baki, Azerbaijan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My fav hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in Berjaya hotel in Dec'11-Jan'12 period. What I liked most about the hotel is that you stay in the forest in a little chalet surrounded by trees, nature and...monkeys ) we were told in the reception not to leave food at the balcony as it attracts monkeys. So we never left anything there, but one day I forgot some chocolate on the balcony and in 10 mins lots of monkeys were at out balcony eating it )) it was so funny watching them )

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    1,146
    363
    146
    94
See reviews for
727
1,640
50
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Where do i begin? Firstly, if you are reading this review researching resorts on Langkawi then please do yourself a favour and read no further - just book!!

Its hard to single out any one aspect of our stay at the Berjaya which stood out above any other, everything was absolutely fantastic.

Every single employee we encountered, from airport driver, to receptionists , to shuttle drivers, to concierge, to maids, to restaurant staff were happy, efficient, helpful and always welcoming.

We were booked into a rainforest chalet on track 5 which is a bit up there at the back but still within walking distance to the lobby area. Every morning we had our own little nature trail on the way down to breakfast, spotting flying lemurs, monkeys and lizards. It is quite steap though so we made good use of the shuttle service back up the hill to our room, we were on holiday after all!! The little shuttle carts were very efficient and you never have to wait long, they even go over to the Oriental Villiage which is a nice service. We thought our room was great quality, everything from the bed to the air con seemed in good condition and while there was no bath the walk in shower was out of this world) We really couldnt understand the negative reviews some guests have left regarding the rooms seeming old and dated, this definately was not our impression of our stay.

There are 4 restaurants on the resort to choose from aswell as room service and the sunken pool bar, we ate in only a couple and found the food to be very reasonably priced considering the high standard. Eating fresh fish and chips and drinking cocktails in the beach restaurant whilst looking our over the bay was one of the highlights of our entire holiday (watch out for the Berjaya Green tea though - those things are lethal! :0P )

The pool area is outstanding with plently of beds to go around, there was only a single occassion where we couldnt find one but this just meant we ended up on the beach where there are loads more and the change of view proved a hit. The resort has its own stretch of beach but we stuck to swimming in the for convenience only, the water looked clean and inviting but it is a natural beach so expect crabs and the threat of jellyfish.

We loved the Berjayas remote location, while it may be a fair distance from the jetty for boat trips, Kuah and some of the islands attractions it is only minutes away from the Oriental village, the cable car and the Seven Wells Waterfalls.

As you have probable guessed, our stay here was a wonderful experience and we were actually sad to leave for the next stage of our holiday. We spoke to a few other couples who all shared our opinions, a few of them were on their 9th visit with no lacking in their enthusiasm. Coming back to experience one of the sea view chalets is now definately on our list of things to do!

A big thank you to all who made our stay so memorable!!

Room Tip: Chalets nearer to the lobby would no doubt be more convenient but if youre up for a walk then being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It is too expensive for what it offers. Even though the location is spectacular, in the nature, it is pretty isolated from the island life. For going outside the resort, you need a taxi or to rent a car. The hotel is pretty overdue, needing, badly, refurbishment. Old hotel reception and for the water chalet we stayed, old furniture, old air conditioner, old bathroom tiles, old bathroom everything. I have never seen in my life, going to other hotels, such dirty towels!!!
Also the sea water is pretty dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Upon checking in at the Berjaya, my husband and I were greeted with smiles and information. Our room was "on land" but barely, so we could hear the splash of the waves on the rocks, but were far enough away from the trees so as to not to have to deal with monkeys. Breakfast was good, I would recommend going to the buffet one day and then the beach the next, get a nice balance. The shuttles were timely, even though it was Chinese New Year. Beach was clean and quiet, we did not use the pool. BBQ night at the buffet was AMAZING, the Thai food was mediocre, but the spicy beef salad was fantastic. Our flight was later, so we checked out and were offed a "hospitality suite"...which was nice.

Room Tip: We loved the chalet "on land" but would have adored "on the water". The rainfore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went back again!
There's something about the Berjaya which calls you back - again and again!
We visit because we love the place for the following reasons: the unique and fantastic wildlife, the climate, the amazing staff who can't do enough for you, because we feel totally safe and the excellent food.
We spent 4 weeks here again, mainly photographing the wildlife.
Sadly, there are a lot of people who do not value the wildlife: whether it's from ignorance or because they just don't care, it's sad.
We have seen people trying to hand feed Macaques, despite warnings in every room. This results in these clever monkeys not fearing anyone, and being very clever in order to get any sort of food for free., eventually someone will get bitten.Many have learned to open doors and windows to the rooms, and you would be amazed at the carnage they can cause in a relatively short time! This means that the monkeys will have to be controlled.
All wildlife at the Berjaya is just that - WILD!
The rare Dusky Leaf Monkey has also suffered from the ignorance of some of the guests.
They eat absolutely nothing but leaves: some people will not believe this and try to force all sorts of junk food on them. They, unlike the macaques, are totally non aggressive and harmless. We saw an entire family of Chinese guests throwing rocks at them and pursuing them across the flower beds and grounds of the hotel; all the monkeys had done was amuse better educated guests by playing on the swings and slide in the children's play area!
We were also told that the rare Tokay Geckoes, which used to be common, are now really hard to find: apparently some 'guests' last year were catching them to sell!!!!!
Too many unsupervised children have also been chasing the wildlife, from monkeys to monitor lizards!
Please, if you're not prepared to respect this wonderful wild collection of often rare wildlife, don't come to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are fabulous, but also Rain Forest rooms are very good, especially since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We first stayed at the Frangipani for 7 nights then came here for 5 nights. So glad we did this.
After being able to eat out every night and get a good meal cheaply, we knew we would be paying extra. Overall the breakfasts are good, however the Beach Restaurant was the better of the two options. We booked to eat at the Thai twice and not disappointed. They were fishing for squid on Wednesday night whilst we ate our meal. One night we decided to stay in, Order room service and for £10 each got a large sirloin steak cooked to our liking and enjoyed a night dining on our balcony. Slightly less than in restaurant. Harbour park is 8rm away and we ate at the Tapaz, tapas but they do greek food too. was a lovely little restaurant and had a lovely meal. There is also a Lebanese, Italian, and other restaurants so didn't feel cooped up as this was in easy reach.
Take advantage of seven wells waterfalls being in close walking distance. We got up at 7am, had breakfast and before 9am we had battled the 1000 steps and with no one else around bathed in the pools and enjoyed the peace and wildlife. We walked back down to the resort.
Shuttle bus takes you to cable car (try to avoid weekend for this as busy).
We were in room 7115 which is near the tennis courts and we could walk to the lobby and not rely on the shuttle buses, however most other rooms would depend on the shuttle.
Spa treatment was bliss. Massage and facial for £70. Left feeling so relaxed.
There are the 2 monkey species. One lot are loveable hooligans which sat on our balcony disappointed that we were not feeding them. The other group are shy and play pass the baby and adorable. Wildlife just never gets boring here.
Staff are friendly. We were here for Chinese New Year and so was very busy with the holiday season so at times it was packed round the pool and restaurants.
As a treat was a nice place to stay, however I agree, try somewhere else first or after so you balance both worlds on the island. Eating in the beach and having a gorgeous Indian curry with tiger beer & cocktails for 2 for less than £16 is a must. There are lots of hidden beach bars and places to eat further round the island, so give yourself freedom to try. Also don't forget tax free so the duty free shop at the mall ended up with us getting Morgan's rum and jim beam for £7 a litre. If we'd have stayed at the Berjaya for full holiday we would have spent more in the airport duty free. Oh and take time to look at the little mangrove stream at the back of the beach. Mudskippers, fish and crabs a plenty busy getting on with their day whilst you sunbath.
Anyway! I got back this morning and have not slept in over 30hrs since we left yesterday. Would I go back. Yes! Would I stay here! Yes!.

Room Tip: 7115 easy walking from lobby and cable car & waterfall. Take ear plugs as the wildlife car be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just spent 9 days at the Berjaya Langkawi. 9 days was way too long here I would recommend no longer than 5. The resort is completely isolated so you start to feel trapped after awhile.
The resort itself is very beautiful and well maintained. We booked a rainforest chalet for $110usd a night through hotels.com. The resort was completly booked during our stay and we managed to get a single chalet that I guess was renovated and fairly close to the lobby. The resort is really spread out so it would have really sucked to be where most people were. The chalet itself is quite nice and the balcony was a great place to view the animals. We had a monkey come sit on our patio chair one day. All the staff do a tremendous job maintaining the resort. The pool was nice, but good luck getting a chair there are some ignorant people whom seem entiteled to keep the chairs the whole day whether they are there or not. The beach private and same issue with the chairs. If you like looking at almost naked seniors than this is the resort for you! The sea itself is cloudy and boring.
The real downer of the Berjaya is the food. Grossly overpriced and not very good. You could spend a small fortune eating here. Our first night we ate at the beach restaurant where I paid $20usd for a small cut up tandoori chicken breast and some flavorless briayni rice. It was either the rice or naan bread no option of ordering either. I love my Indian food and this was a insult to Indians and my wallet. The biggest joke of the food is pretty much everything comes with fries. The guy in charge of food should be fired!
Anyways after this first experience I refused to eat at the hotel anymore. They need to send Gordon Ramsey here cause this resort is a kitchen nightmare. However many guests eat this food and pay the exorbitant prices so I doubt it will ever change.
We ate the rest of our meals at the food court in oriental village for 1/5 of the price.

All in all if you can get a great deal like we did and a good room this place is worth the visit, but you might not want to stay too long like us. If you don't mind easily paying $60usd a person a day to eat mediocre food than enjoy. We definitely will never stay here again, but we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Get a single chalet. Eat at the oriental food court sole cafe for dinner and Tweenz corner for break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.