We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Save Saved
You added Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FamilyStay & Enjoy Nature
Ranked #9 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Berjaya Resort in Langkawi at the beginning of February 2013. The hotel is actually a large group of about 500 chalets dotted about in a rain forest.It was unlike any where that I have stayed before and i loved it The resort is huge, but easy to get around because of the shuttle buggys that are always available. You can call for one from your room, and it will be there within minutes, or just wave one down as you are walking anywhere.There is a choice of restaurants to use, and a variety of food available, as well as an efficient room service.The staff are exceptional, and I have never met such friendly people.Everybody makes you feel welcome and has got a friendly wave or smile for you. The chalets vary in size and style, from detached, to semi detached to two storey blocks of 6 or more. Many of them have recently been modernised internally and are very nice. The environment is very 'back to nature' and you will often see monkeys and exotic birds as you walk around. The resort is fairly remote, but is only a 5 minute walk to the Oriental Village wher you will find some touristy shops and cafes grouped around a river with ornamental bridges.This is also the location for the cable car,which takes you up to the top of the mountain for incredible views. If you want shopping, the Berjaya is not for you, although there is a gift shop on site. If you want a different experience , a unique resort with a great beach and amazingly friendly people,then the Berjaya is definitely the place to find it.

Room Tip: choose the location of your chalet which suits your needs. Some are right on the waters edge, most a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,150
    929
    294
    110
    77
See reviews for
579
1339
44
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a family chalet which consisted of 2 rainforest chalets joined. The room had a King bed and 2 single beds, 2 seperate bathrooms and 2 verandahs - more than enough room for a young family.

The room was set in a rainforest location with the sound of the insects, monkeys and other wildlife adding to the overall appeal of the resort. As part of the Berjayas environmental focus you can place a green tag on your bed to tell the room service staff to re-use the sheets that you currently have on your beds. If you don't put the tag on the bed, the staff will change out the sheets for fresh ones.

The resort staff were very friendly and quickly learned to recognise you and always greeted you with a friendly smile.The staff also loved having interaction with our children and made them feel just as important as the parents.

We found the meals to be very good at the resort with the breakfast being outstanding. The breakfast selection was as good, if not better as any Resort or Hotel that we have ever been to and you would be hard pleased to not find something new to tempt you each morning. We also ate several lunches and dinners at the resort and also found these to be wonderful. Two of our dinners were at the beach restaurant where the setting was magnificent just prior to sunset.

The resorts pool was fantastic and we found that we spent more and more time as the week went on. The poolside bar also provides drinks and food all day which was very handy.

As we had never been to Langkawi before we spent a lot of time out of the resort viewing the local sites, but have agreed that next time we return we will make more use of the varied facilities and activities that the resort provides.

The shuttle bus service worked very well but I wonder if an electric/hybrid cart service would be more appropriate. The longest time that we ever had to wait for a shuttle was 5 minutes. Our family also enjoyed walking along the roads to get to the main lobby, pool, restaurants as it let us appreciate the gardens and wildlife inside the resort as well as speaking to the resort staff.

I would highly recommend the Berjaya Langkawi as both a destination in its own right or a base to see Langkawi, although I would also recommend hiring a car to get around the island, especially if travelling with a family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked the junior chalet and it was like dream, the view was unbelievable. They have many resturants and activities. the service was great and friendly stuff. I did not want to leave the resort :)

look for the activities that are offred by hotel like tennis and archery and try the kayak boat its only for 15 Ren for 1 hour. the hotel is only 5 minute away from cable car and oriental village

Room Tip: look for the activities that are offred by hotel like tennis and archery and try the kayak boat its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We traveled late December and stayed for 14 nights. we had a problem with our first Chalet and asked for a manager to visit, she did promply and moved us. All staff were friendly but not to the extent of been overboard, they were genuine. It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever been on and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are a couple get a single chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stunning setting, chalets in amongst the rainforest, beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Chalet was very nice although the bed was exceptionally hard so didnt sleep too well. Shuttle service around the resort, just phone and they will come and pick you up. Would be better if they had electric golf buggies rather than the shuttles they are using which are noisy and smelly. Also some shuttle drivers and scooter drivers do seem to go a bit too fast at times! Food was OK, nothing special, ate at Thai Restaurant twice, first time was better than second, but it was windy on both occasions and extremely windy the second time which meant food got cold very quickly - we ate as quick as we could and left as it was not pleasant sitting in the wind with the salad blowing off your plate!
Monkeys woke us up one morning as they clambered all over the roof and the balcony!
We went on an evening nature walk one evening which was excellent and very informative, saw gliding lemurs and geckos and the ranger was full of interesting facts and information - would recommend.
We booked an island hopping trip but when we returned to our room after dinner the night before the trip we had a note to say it had been cancelled due to insufficient bookings, we didnt have time to arrange another trip.
Cable car was closed for one and a half days while we were there because it was too windy, we did manage to go up later in the week and it is well worth it.
Went to the the Spa for a deluxe foot spa which was very nice.
Overall had a relaxing time in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had been to Berjaya Resort for my Honeymoon, and I should say it was absolutely worth every bit. It is a PROPER resort, just away from everything else and stretching over a large area. What i loved was the way they have merged it with nature. We had booked a Seavie Chalet, but to our surprise, we were upgraded to a premier seaview Chalet for free. And we just LOVED the view from our balcony, overlooking the sea. Service was extremely good. Restaurants are fine. Buffet breakfast at the Dayang cafe was good. Couldn find time for the pool or any activities. Its a bit off from the main roads, so would be best if you hire a car, which is easy in Langkawi. Else you might end up paying a lot for taxis. Check-in and Check-out was smooth. Lots of activities around the resort to keep you busy, we had tried the water scooter, was fun. Would surely recommend this place for anyone visiting Langkawi

Room Tip: Go for the Seaview rooms, totally worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel beautiful and peaceful.....you would think! But beware every evening there is an open air concert on beach provided for a client function by the hotel or in what appears to be a noise vendetta by the resort 200m down the same beach. These parties don't stop until 1am and in our luxury 'upgraded' chalet, with full sea views only part way up the hillside but almost as far away as possible from the staged performers, the bass beat resonated through the concrete piles and walls.
We even suffered over an hour long drum practice session at 3pm with sound reaching our beach lounger at over 70 decibels shattering the peace.
We were only there 3 nights and were so disappointed that it had been totally ruined.
We tried at 12.30am to find out from the manager when the @pirates of the Caribbean' concert would end the receptionist was virtually unable to conduct a conversation with me due to noise her end and finally admitted manager unavailable as he was at the party!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, AsiaRooms, Venere and Otel so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.