We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia to your Saves list
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12 Treats of Christmas
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“like a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked the junior chalet and it was like dream, the view was unbelievable. They have many resturants and activities. the service was great and friendly stuff. I did not want to leave the resort :)

look for the activities that are offred by hotel like tennis and archery and try the kayak boat its only for 15 Ren for 1 hour. the hotel is only 5 minute away from cable car and oriental village

Room Tip: look for the activities that are offred by hotel like tennis and archery and try the kayak boat its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    1,037
    322
    133
    86
See reviews for
653
1,485
49
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We traveled late December and stayed for 14 nights. we had a problem with our first Chalet and asked for a manager to visit, she did promply and moved us. All staff were friendly but not to the extent of been overboard, they were genuine. It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever been on and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are a couple get a single chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stunning setting, chalets in amongst the rainforest, beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Chalet was very nice although the bed was exceptionally hard so didnt sleep too well. Shuttle service around the resort, just phone and they will come and pick you up. Would be better if they had electric golf buggies rather than the shuttles they are using which are noisy and smelly. Also some shuttle drivers and scooter drivers do seem to go a bit too fast at times! Food was OK, nothing special, ate at Thai Restaurant twice, first time was better than second, but it was windy on both occasions and extremely windy the second time which meant food got cold very quickly - we ate as quick as we could and left as it was not pleasant sitting in the wind with the salad blowing off your plate!
Monkeys woke us up one morning as they clambered all over the roof and the balcony!
We went on an evening nature walk one evening which was excellent and very informative, saw gliding lemurs and geckos and the ranger was full of interesting facts and information - would recommend.
We booked an island hopping trip but when we returned to our room after dinner the night before the trip we had a note to say it had been cancelled due to insufficient bookings, we didnt have time to arrange another trip.
Cable car was closed for one and a half days while we were there because it was too windy, we did manage to go up later in the week and it is well worth it.
Went to the the Spa for a deluxe foot spa which was very nice.
Overall had a relaxing time in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had been to Berjaya Resort for my Honeymoon, and I should say it was absolutely worth every bit. It is a PROPER resort, just away from everything else and stretching over a large area. What i loved was the way they have merged it with nature. We had booked a Seavie Chalet, but to our surprise, we were upgraded to a premier seaview Chalet for free. And we just LOVED the view from our balcony, overlooking the sea. Service was extremely good. Restaurants are fine. Buffet breakfast at the Dayang cafe was good. Couldn find time for the pool or any activities. Its a bit off from the main roads, so would be best if you hire a car, which is easy in Langkawi. Else you might end up paying a lot for taxis. Check-in and Check-out was smooth. Lots of activities around the resort to keep you busy, we had tried the water scooter, was fun. Would surely recommend this place for anyone visiting Langkawi

Room Tip: Go for the Seaview rooms, totally worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel beautiful and peaceful.....you would think! But beware every evening there is an open air concert on beach provided for a client function by the hotel or in what appears to be a noise vendetta by the resort 200m down the same beach. These parties don't stop until 1am and in our luxury 'upgraded' chalet, with full sea views only part way up the hillside but almost as far away as possible from the staged performers, the bass beat resonated through the concrete piles and walls.
We even suffered over an hour long drum practice session at 3pm with sound reaching our beach lounger at over 70 decibels shattering the peace.
We were only there 3 nights and were so disappointed that it had been totally ruined.
We tried at 12.30am to find out from the manager when the @pirates of the Caribbean' concert would end the receptionist was virtually unable to conduct a conversation with me due to noise her end and finally admitted manager unavailable as he was at the party!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ci
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Well where do I start. We reside on an island so to visit an island has the chance of comparisons, but in this case, it was wow, how great is this.

We can say the staff are the back bone of the resort they are simply fantastic.

We decided to stay in the jungle chalets and what a great decision. We had monkeys visit us, it was cool and most important is was dark in the morning so lots of great sleep.

The resort facilities are great, the travel desk very helpful, but most of all, while a big place it was never crowded. The restaurants were all great value and the food fantastic.

Just bloody fantastic

Room Tip: We live over water so we decided to take Jungle chalets. If you have mobility problems, these chale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 6 nights at Berjaya. The location alone makes it a a very special resort. Berjaya is located on a peaceful private beach with clam warm water to swim in. The sunrise and sunsets we saw were absolutely beatuiful!!! How wonderful to witness both from the one beach.
We stayed in a renovated Rainforest Chalet that I booked at a very good rate through Wotif. Our chalet stood alone amongst trees and wildlife. The over water chalets did not seem as private,although the view from them was stunning. Our chalet was clean and comfortable with king size bed and the usual amenities. Our room was some distance from reception,restaurants etc,but as mentioned by others shuttles run continually throughout the resort.We did wonder though,what happens in the wet season!
We didn't leave the resort often as we were there to relax after a 4 week trip. If you wanted to do lots Berjaya is a distance away from busier areas, but this is also its appeal. We visited Pantai Cenang once during our stay and found it extremely crowded and busy.
As stated by some,the food in the restaurants is not great,but it isn't bad either. The atmosphere of restaurants and their position, view and sunsets ( especially from the Pahn Thai and Beach Restaurant) are wonderful and romantic.
All staff were friendly and considerate. We had an evening flight departing from Langkawi. After midday check out we were welcome to remain at the resort and use facilities. Just before we left for the airport we were given a hospitality room to shower and prepare for our flight. We would love to return to Berjaya Resort.

Room Tip: Some chalets stand alone and others are attached. Some Rainforest Chalets also have water glimpses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, AsiaRooms, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.