We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Maintained and Poor Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teluk Nibong, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poorly Maintained and Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We decided to go to Langkawi for a long overdue family trip and we chose Sheraton Langkawi as we felt that a hotel with the Sheraton brand should be a good choice. Unfortunately we were sorely disappointed.

We arrived on 25/3 at slightly after 2 pm and there was no one at the main entrance to take our luggage or to direct us to the lobby. We had to lug all our bags with us to the lobby to check in.

The staff at the check in counter were incompetent and even rude. They took forever to check us in without telling us why there was a delay. And we we asked them if there was a problem we were literally told to sit!

After we were given our keys, we were told to go back out to the entrance where the shuttle bus would take us to our rooms. Again there was no one to help us with our luggage. We had to wait quite a while before the bus came.

Once we got to the rooms, we were again quite disappointed. The rooms were rather shabby and even dirty to some extent. There was soap scum on the tiles in the shower room and cobwebs above the bath-tub. The paint in the bathroom was also quite bad and the bathtub was stained too.

The cupboards were dusty and I had to clean it before I could use it. There were no complimentary bottles of water that I would expect of any 4 star resort.

There was also a discarded and disused air-con compressor thrown by the side of the chalet where our 4 rooms were located. There was also bags of dirty linen or laundry that was left at random places across the resort which we thought was terrible.

Anyway as we were quite a large group - 7 adults and 1 child, we decided to stick with the hotel and not move to another one. If it had just been me and my husband, we would have checked out immediately.

Then we called reception for the shuttle bus to take us back to the lobby, and they took forever to send it. We ended up walking to the lobby.

We spent the day out and came back to the hotel after dinner and wanted to have drinks at the bar. To our surprise there was no one manning the bar and it was only 10pm. There was a board outside the lobby which clearly stated the operating hours of the lobby bar was up to 12 midnight. After much questioning, the reception staff told us we could go down to Chimes, which was by the pool.

We traipsed down there, and guess what it was closed!!! And when we tried the doors, we managed to open it but the smell that greeted us was really foul and stale. We then headed back up to the reception and then they said that no they didn't tell us that it was open, when they very clearly did.

By this time, my father in law was furious and thankfully the F&B manager came and served us some drinks. But it was still a terrible way to be able to get served drinks at a so -called 4 star hotel!

We had 4 rooms in total, all next to each other, but there was no wi-fi in two of our rooms. When we called reception to find out why, they simply told us that there is no wi-fi in the rooms. When we tried to tell them there was wi-fi in 2 of the rooms that were working, they refused to understand that and kept insisting that we had to go to the lobby for wi-fi???

Then on the second day, when we returned from our outing, we found that there were no towels in any of the rooms at all! We had to call for the towels and then towels were sent an hour later after many follow up calls! We were not impressed as we had a dinner reservation and we were unable to have a shower until really late.

All in all, the experience at this hotel was terrible and we will most certainly not use this hotel ever again or recommend it to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are terrible overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Baby_Cleo,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort in this review.

It is regrettable that your recent stay with us did not leave you with a positive lasting impression of the Resort. I would like to apologize for your experience and the inconvenience caused.

Please feel free to contact me at kumar.renoo@sheraton.com with further details of your stay, as I would like to look into the issues raised personally.

Meanwhile, I have also shared the points raised with my team members as to ensure we continually strive to enhance our standards for guest satisfaction.

Once again, I apologize for the disappointment you had expressed and I look forward to hear from you again soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    368
    229
    159
    149
See reviews for
312
559
42
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mashad, Iran
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

It is not as bad as reviews say and not as good as 5star hotel. The main problem is its exhaustion thet a taxi driver said they are going to renovate it in 3 months.
But the rooms are clean,aircondition good,nature fantastic,breakfast good,location good and it is really enjoyable to stay...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Mirsalman,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, which we value very much.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and nice to know that your holiday with us was enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Thanks to everyone making our stay the most wonderful and amazing. Thanks to Silvi who always tried to help. Thanks to Chinese girl who took our lunch order, I saw her moving one outlet to another one, four different areas however all the time she got an excellent smile, unfortunately I forget her name, say social thanks to her. It was a perfect stay. No complaints.
Warm regards,
Khalid

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear dilldillpak,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us.

We strive for guest satisfaction and your comments are a testament to the hard work and dedication that we demonstrate toward delivering the highest standards of service. I will be delighted to pass on your comments to those concern.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

1. Booked 3 rooms for 3 nights and the 1st room I got was a rundown chalet with rotting wood, dirt in the bath tub and a wasp's nest at the balcony.

2. Rude staff at the swimming pool (10/March afternoon). I just got out of the pool to help my relatives get some towels and had to fill up my room number on a form. My hands were wet and some water droplets fell on the paper and the guy said to me " Mdm, this is paper. Not plastic." How sarcastic.

3. Don't even think of calling the buggy in the evening or morning. It will never turn up.

4. We booked a tour with the hotel and when we asked for the pick up time, 4 staff told us 4 different timings. 1 said 6.30am, 1 said 8.30am..

A terrible hotel and will never come back again. Only upside is the friendly bartender at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room near the pool. Easy excess to the pool & lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Natalietans,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort in this review.

I am sorry to hear of your experience and I would like to apologize for the disappointment you had expressed regarding the accommodation as well as the service you received.

Please feel free to contact me at kumar.renoo@sheraton.com as I would like to look into the issues raised personally.

Again, thank you very much for your time and I look forward to hear from you again soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Me and my wife stayed for four days in a sea facing room with Jacuzzi. After reading dozens of reviews, we went to this hotel with mixed feelings. As most of the reviewers complained that the room quality is poor. However upon going there we discovered that even though there are small problems with the room (such as hairdryer is missing, or one of the lamps does not work), but the view from our room was breathtaking. The view from the lobby is also very nice.

The resort is huge so it does not seem very busy. The air conditioning of our room stopped working on the fourth day but we were immediately shifted to a suite with sea view which was very nice.

In a nutshell I will say very Sheraton Langkawi nice place to relax but it is not the right place for a person who is looking to different kinds of activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear kmsa_saamialam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest and I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.

Your kind thoughts are very much appreciated. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

As most people know, Sheraton is one of great hotel. This Sheraton is not an exception, however, there is nothing around the hotel. Need to drive for shopping, food, etc.

This hotel is pretty huge, and you can enjoy lots of trees and flowers as well as beach. Walking around the hotel is really nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear hakiko_5,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which we value very much.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Sheraton, if you have rented a car, is in an ideal location on Langkawi from my perspective. It is a bit of a drive from Kuahtown and that makes it quieter and cleaner overall. It is easy to get to the more populated areas of the island for activities and restaurants. The rocks and soft sand beach area is serene and peaceful. The pool is adequate to enjoy a drink at the pool bar or to laze about in the warm sun.

The rooms are purposely styled to be somewhat more rustic in styling with the heavy wood coverage one would expect of a jungle retreat. It maintains this feel in the room while offering all the amenities you would want on the compound. The balcony area is wonderful and perfect for enjoying the start of the day and coffee or tea in relative privacy (if you get the beach view room, which you should :)).

Enjoying the Indian Ocean sunset on the rocks at the Sheraton is an experience that I will always remember - perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Carl B,

Thank you for this review of your stay at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.

I am delighted to read that you were overall impressed with your recent stay with us. Most importantly you are able to enjoy the privacy and peaceful ambience of the resort.

It is our pleasure having you as our guest and again, thank you very much for your kind thoughts.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Nibong, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.Located on the north western shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.