We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to excellent paradise - not quite there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer For Less
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Close to excellent paradise - not quite there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

"Welcome to paradise" - that was the greeting I received when I arrived. Yes, it is close to paradise, but not quite there.

The service is good - not excellent, the restaurants are OK to Very Good, but not top of the rank.

The beach is very nice, an the service there is great.

The entertainment is good in the hotel.

The rooms are good.

I probably would check for different options since Langkawi is paradise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear “Freiro”,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our beach. As you may know, National Geographic said that this is the “9th best beach in the world”, and whilst I know that I am biased, I would have to agree. I’m also delighted to know that you enjoyed the presentation of your room, the entertainment and that you were well taken care of during your stay with us – just as you should be.

I do note that you had experienced some glitches during your stay. I would be grateful if you might contact me personally anne.scott@luxurycollection.com in regards to the issues in order for my further investigation. I would very much value the opportunity to handle any booking through my office – and to restore your faith in our resort should you be returning to Langkawi.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    525
    177
    72
    30
See reviews for
609
906
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've just been to paradise! The best resort you can imagine. Fantastic,relaxing place with friendly and serviceminded staff. The best restaurant there is Jala (seafood) Danish chef Renee has created an awesome menu. Beautiful rainforest surrounding the beach in a guiet private bay. Sunset is out of the world sitting at Jala with peaceful chillmusic. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Fourth floor south wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear “ABSJPerth_Australia ”,

Well…your review has really made my day! Thank you for your warm and generous comments on Trip Advisor. I’m delighted to know that you have indeed found paradise.

Kudos to you for taking the time to try our latest addition – Jala which offers exquisite seafood dishes. I’m glad to know that you had enjoyed this new alternative. Thank you for your kind mention of Chef Rene! He is thrilled with his new “on-line fame” and will continue delighting our guests with his wonderful creative cuisine. We continue to get fantastic feedback from guests who enjoy Rene’s culinary interpretation of Malaysian ingredients, delicious fresh fish and a Danish “philosophy”!

I’m also delighted to know that you would be planning a return, my team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thanks to My Holiday Centre who booked a majical holiday for us in Langkawai and thanks also to Asian Trails for their wonderful assistance. Fantastic positioning for a resort - away from the maddening crowd. Let's start with the staff - absolutely on the ball in every department, could not have been more helpful. The Resort is almost self contained with plenty to do and see - it's up to you, from long walks on the exclusive beach, ocean or pool swims and kayaking. Wildlife abounds in the wonderful surrounding rainforests with monkeys, squirrel, gecko and sun skinks and much more. Great variety of restaurants. The seafood restaurant was a stand out. Breakfast in the dining room was full of variety with something for everyone. Nightly musical entertainment was relaxing.

Room Tip: Stay in the Treetops......watch out for the cheeky monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear “Dave H”,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our website and on Trip Advisor. I do understand that some guests may prefer the hustle and bustle of the city but like you, we do think that this combination of 10 million year old rainforest with this amazing bay is a little bit magical. I give credit to the original architect of The Andaman for designing the hotel inside the rainforest – and because so many of the trees were protected, the flora and fauna were maintained from the very start and indeed you would be able to spot many exotic birds, animals and insects. I’m delighted to know that you were well taken care of during your stay with us – just as you should be.

I’m so happy to know that our food quality met your expectations. Kudos to you for taking the time to try our latest addition – Jala which offers exquisite seafood dishes. I’m glad to know that you had enjoyed this new alternative.

I do hope that we may welcome you again at The Andaman soon. My team and I remain at your service.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Phyllis Loh, at The Andaman , was my son and daughter in law's wedding organiser for their beautiful wedding.
She was very accommodating in every way. The staff at the hotel was brilliant, the service and hotel itself was out of this world. The food was brilliant.
Everything was just picture perfect!! Thanks Phyllis and the great Andaman staff.

Ruby Yeo was their photographer, and she is brilliant too! Highly recommended.

There is no other place to have your wedding than The Andaman!!

Room Tip: The suite in the Rainforest was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear “maltese255118”,

Oh we do love romance!! I’m delighted to know that your son and daughter in law had chosen The Andaman as their wedding location. Thank you for your kind mention of Phyllis! She is indeed an excellent wedding organizer and ensures that each couple’s ceremony runs smoothly. She and esteemed are excited to hear that you have mentioned them here and is thrilled to continue delighting our guests. I do hope that you would be planning to Langkawi again (for a family reunion ??! :-).

My team and I remain at your service.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

nice hotel , nice room , clean ,beautiful , nice beach , nice breakfast... not-so-nice-thing is just the location; even its located at Andaman Beach, but its too far from the Kuah Town / Cenang Beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear “azscute”,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay at The Andaman. I do note that you had found our location a bit far from town. This is definitely the location to choose for people who would enjoy a secluded and tranquil resort surrounded by rainforest and nature. There are other parts of Langkawi offering more night life, jet skis et al…but not here.

One option if guests prefer more activities is to hire a car and explore the island. The roads on Langkawi are in relatively good condition, and easy to navigate. We also provide complimentary shuttle bus into Kuah Town and Cenang Beach on alternate days.

Notwithstanding that, thank you once for your comments regarding our beach and services. I do hope that my team and I may be of service in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a great 2 days 2 night stay at The Andaman Pool Suite!Newly refurbished room with a lap pool right outside our balcony.Very quite and lots of privacy , great for couples on honeymoon.Convenient location to the Quay and Cable car .Love the pool and beach very quite ,private and clean too!Good for short quite break not for those shopperholics for sure far far remote away from any malls.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear “rizS-pore”,

Thank you for your warm and generous review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. Balted Merry Christmas!!
Kudos to you for reserving a stay in our brand new Luxury Pool Access rooms – I do agree that it is rather amazing and enjoyable having a private pool within a rainforest environment. I’m also delighted to know that you had enjoyed our beach - as you may know, National Geographic said that this is the “9th best beach in the world”, and whilst I know that I am biased, I would have to agree.

Thank you once again for your kind comments. I’m glad to know that you would be planning a return, my team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I chose Andaman for our family vacation prior to Chinese New Year. We were there the week before CNY this year. My group comprised of my husband and I, my parents, my elderly aunt with Alzheimer's, my brother, sis-in-law and their 3 young children. Upon arrival we were greeted by a sea of smiles. Check-in was a breeze and we were quickly ushered to our rooms.My parents/aunt had an adjoining room to my brother and his family, so that was nice as we did not request it.

We were very satisfied with the rooms, they were clean, adequately furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The rain shower was pampering and in general, the quality of the room was great. There's warning against opening the balcony doors because of monkeys.We kept ours locked the whole time.

The real test of Andaman's service came about when we dined. For our 4 days trip, we ate at all the restaurants in the hotel for all our meals. We enjoyed ourselves and yes, even though the prices were steep for Malaysian standards, it is at the Andaman afterall. I'm not complaining because they were very accommoding towards my niece who has gluten sensitivity. When dining with children, things get messy quickly and the servers were mostly smiles throughout. They were always assisting with the water bottles sterilisation and ensuring the children enjoyed their meals as much. They accommodated my aunt's dietary requirements too. I strongly recommend the breakfast buffet as the selection is vast and rather delicious.

On the end of the spectrum, we borrowed a wheelchair for my elderly aunt who was experiencing sciatica pain. I was surprised how wheelchair friendly the resort is. It was easy for us to wheel my aunt around, even to the pool area. Unfortunately, she had a clumsy stumble when she was walking into the room. There's an elevated stoop in front of the door and she missed it.It is easily missed because there is minimal color differentiation. She suffered a huge bruise and pain, which was thankfully relieved by some rest and ice compression. We took her to the doctor on site to ensure there's no fracture. He was kind and provided a bandage. He paid a quick visit to her when we were eating our breakfast the next day. All was well thereafter.

The pool and beach areas were comfortable and inviting. For the period we visited, it wasn't busy by the pool. Kids were by the wading pool and adults could swim around to the deeper ends. My husband and brother decided to take a trip across to an island- which you could see from the beach. It looked beautiful, secluded and possibly with decent snorkelling. Unfortunately, when they got there (by boat RM30/hr), snorkelling was almost non-existent as there's tons of sea urchin. They were disappointed and do not recommend it. I suppose it would have more fun if they rented the kayaks instead, so they could go around the island.

One complain is the bathroom at Jala: - during a lunch break, the water pipe just erupted while my elderly aunt was using the bathroom. She was soaked and it was a hazard because her ambulation was unsteady. We weren't happy about this but I suppose my aunt has forgotten about it already.

All in, our stay was pleasant and we are all very pleased with the service and products. I would recommend this for anyone, regardless if it's your honeymoon, company conference, family trip, girls getaways etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneEScott, General Manager at The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear “LittleMoney”,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to know that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us. I do think that family holidays are so precious, even more so at this very special time of year.

I’m delighted to know that you had enjoyed the presentation of your room, the pool and our beach. As you may know, National Geographic said that this is the “9th best beach in the world” – thank you for your recognition of our beautiful beach.

Thank you for your kind mention of dining at our restaurants. We do try to offer a balanced and nutritional meal for kids dining with us – and most certainly to offer a variety of choices for the adults. I’m glad to know there was something for everyone in the family.

I’m sorry to hear about your aunt’s stumble. I also noted your comment in regards to the bathroom at Jala. I’ve taken note of this and have discussed with our engineering department to rectify the issue in order to protect our future guests. I offer no excuses on this matter. Thank you for your candor on this.

I’m glad to know that you’ve truly enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you would be planning a return soon. My team and I remain at your service.

Warmest Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#5 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort located in an idyllic tropical setting on Malaysia's Langkawi Island, is cosily tucked away between a 10 million year old rainforest and the tranquil Datai Bay and an 8,000 year old fringing coral reef. Abundant with rare wildlife and exotic flora, The Andaman's magnificent locale enables guests to partake in a wide range of activities that integrate the surrounding nature while still enjoying the luxurious trimmings of a five star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andaman Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Andaman Langkawi
Andaman Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.