We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in a rain forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Datai Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Datai Langkawi to your Saves list
The Datai Langkawi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
London...
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in a rain forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from spending 3 nights in one of their huge villas. Initially they put us in one of the rooms in the main hotel by mistake. They quickly rectified this and when we returned later to the villa, there was a bottle of champagne on ice, awaiting us!! Fantastic service all round. All the staff were very friendly and obviously enjoyed working there. We ate in all the restaurants and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to lie back, kick off your shoes, be surrounded by nature and a beautiful beach

Room Tip: The villas are huge, and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We apologize for any mix up on the room but trust you had a wonderful stay. We can't wait to welcome you back to your new home in the rain forest.

Yours sincerely,
Anthony Sebastian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    152
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
217
761
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Superior Villa. The Villa was beautiful and very private with a giant bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. I brought my girlfriend to the Datai to propose. The Datai arranged a dinner on the beach with rose petals and candle light and our own personal waiter. It was an evening my now fiancé and I will never forget. The service was impeccable.

Everyone at this hotel is extremely friendly. The concierge helped plan all of our activities in Langkawi and we had a blast doing all of them (I highly suggest the Jet Ski tour of the Mongroves).

I would absolutely stay here again and hope I get to again soon. We were very sad when it came time to leave.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Samwshanghai,

Thank you for first choosing The Datai as the location of such an iconic moment in you and your partner's life. It has been an honour for us.

We are so glad to hear that you and your partner had a wonderful stay at the property. I am also glad to hear the beach club staff were attentive and helped you plan your proposal. I will definitely relay the good news to the team, they will be happy to hear that everything went well and you wish to return again soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully next on your honeymoon instead.

Yours sincerely,

Anthony Sebastian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It was the 2nd part of our 4 nights stay in Langkawi. First 2 nights we stay at Bayview Hotel. Our stay here was by chance as we did not choose to stay at The Datai as it was very expensive and beyond our budget. We had instead choose the Andaman. However the Andaman was facing some lodging issues thus they are unable to accommodate us. Being a responsible hotel, they compensate us by topping up for our stay at The Datai which is just opposite of the Andaman. Two thumbs up for The Andaman. Now for the review of The Datai.

Location
The hotel is very secluded and very far from anything literally. In and out of the hotel is via transportation only. Either drive yourself or be driven. Having said that, the hotel offer you the amazing relaxation environment you need. Just being at the lobby gives me the feeling of relax and peace. Peace is their top priority as they reminded us of their children policy which include keeping their volume down at night. Though I think they do not really enforce it as our children was really noisy.

Room
Definitely first class and one of its kind. Not the common hotel, resort layout. Spacious bathroom and spacious sleeping area. I am not good at describing thus I will upload some photos. It is a full service room with free coffee machine, juices, soft drink and mineral water. All topped up daily. Please see photos. Picture speaks a thousand words.

Facilities
Since it is a secluded resort, it is full service resort with everything you need. They have 2 swimming pool, one at the main building, the other one near the beach. Every location shout out luxury and really a class on its own. It is really a huge resort thus you may need to engage the buggy services to move from one place to another.

Services
Service as expectation was great. Very friendly and helpful staff from the counter to the concierge and the housekeepers.

Overall I would say the best resort I have stayed thus far and that is because the price is also high. So if you want a great place you have to pay the price.

Room Tip: If you have the money, do get a villa instead of the rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Depipis,

Thank you for your recent review of the property.

We are thrilled to hear that you indeed had a great time here with us. Your detailed account of the rooms, dining, facilities and service is such valuable feedback for the team and I.

We do hope to have you and your family back at the resort once again.

yours sincerely,

Anthony Sebastian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights last week in one if the superior villas. This is a beautiful hotel and lives up to its 5* but maybe lacks a little down to earth heart.

The villa was huge, huge gorgeous bathroom and high up in the trees. We were woken in the morning by 2 hornbills who kept throwing them self against the glass for no reason. They seemed to want to do this every day which was a little mind boggling, but lovely to be so close to them, even if they were a bit of a quirky couple.

We were visited by 2 species of monkeys at our villa too. The first was a little scary as I had a bit if a stand off with the alpha male but a memorable experience all the same!!

All the restaurants were incredible in terms of the food. We ate dinner at the Thai and Malaysian and had room service. We had lunch at the beach bar. All the staff were friendly and chatty.

The trees opposite the raised reception happened to be in fruit so it was great to sit by the pool and see a range of species tucking in.

If you like getting close to nature from the very big to the very small this is definitely the hotel for you!!

Now on to the niggles. These were mainly communication issues. We booked a massage at the spa but when we got there it was a building site. No body told us that the spa had been moved to one of the pool villas so we had to be rushed in the rain to another part if the hotel and ended up being a little late.

At breakfast every morning we were greeted by name and treated like royalty until our last day when we were barely acknowledged, I had to ask for tea instead of it being offered and they only brought one for me instead of my husband too. Made me think "well you know it's our last day then!"

The worst lapse I think was they have a booklet in the rooms that tells you about the wildlife and also recommends 2 signed hiking trails near the hotel. Being nature fanatics my husband and I decided to do this and asked at reception which direction to head. She told us and mentioned to watch out for leeches. If we hadn't spoken to reception we wouldn't have known as no mention in the guide. I was attacked by 5 leeches which are very ferocious and very mobile!! Unlike our UK species. I was wearing thick boots and socks due to warning but had I not I could have been bitten.

Also the first route we took, we searched for 30min in the burning sun for the entrance before going back to hotel to ask where it was only to be told that route "wasnt recommended as the signs had fallen off"'! We weren't told before! Nor was it in the guide!

So we took the 2nd route. This was fine for halfway then the signs are very few and far between ... You have to cross a fast stream at one point, relying on a fallen tree for balance and stepping on wet rocks before climbing through undergrowth before you find the next route marker. Not long after we came across a fallen tree blocking the route so we had to turn back.

The night before we were told the night nature walk they do was off due to a fallen tree but not one person we spoke to informed us that the route we were taking was the same one!!

This really upset me tbh as firstly we had spoken to several people about this walk and not been properly advised but secondly, if we hadn't spoken to anyone and had just taken the route as read in the guide then we would not have known any of the risks and it concerns me that with names like "hornbill trail" it would be very easy judging by the guide for a parent to think it a nice stroll in the woods and take their children and come unstuck very quickly on what was actually quite a risky route. This is something they need to look in to very quickly.

I'm guessing as most people want to lie by the pool instead of getting up and doing something this isn't something that would be highlighted to them, at least not too often.

We also did the mangrove tour which I recommend. The marine biologist who takes it was lovely and informative and it was a great half day out,

The final point of note is that this IS an expensive hotel. Starters £10+ main meals £20+ ... A glass of wine £7+ and a bottle £35 so be prepared to spend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a detailed review of your last trip to The Datai. We appreciate all feedback and comments from our guests.

Let me assure you that the matter of miscommunication between you and the staff has been raised at a recent meeting and that we are looking at ways to rectify this so it does not happen in the future.

On a more positive note, we are glad that you enjoyed having the wildlife within such close proximity. It is such a blessing for us as well and we honour, respect and cherish their presence as the resort is actually set within their natural home.

We hope very much to welcome you and your family back to The Datai again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pros: fantastic location / outlook / stunning secluded private beach / away from all the "low budget" hotels in other parts of Langkawi / great restaurants
Cons: in need of a refurb / service is unimpressive / beach shared with the Andaman / problem with water supply during our trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at The Datai.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not think much of our service and will strive to improve this as it is of the utmost priority for the staff. As for the refurbishment, it has been scheduled to take place in 2014 so trust that on your next visit out, you will see some changes.

We do hope that despite the few flaws in your last trip that you will take the time to visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you and your family then.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our second visit to The Datai and we were treated like members of the family. You couldn't get a better welcome anywhere in the world. They are all so genuinely friendly and pleased to see you. Don't go if you like impersonal, air-conditioned international hotels that could be anywhere. Do go if you like to get "close to nature", enjoy true relaxation and pampering, soft sand, warm sea and a truly personal experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow us to first thank you for taking the time to write us this review.

We are so glad that our efforts to personalize your stay were evident and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely hope to see you back again at the resort, your new home in the Langkawi rainforest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we just came back from 8 wonderful days at the Datai in Langkawi. The property is amazing, beautifully positioned in the jungle and enjoying a splendid white sand beach. Even better than i thought... we rented a villa and loved it: huge room, huge bathroom and a little terrace over a stream of water, immersed in the jungle. the staff is really nice and professional. we hired a baby sitter to watch our boy who sleeps very early as we wanted to enjoy dinner in the various restaurants @the hotel (very elegant and very good food in both the ones we tried) and she was a very sweet lady...really like everyone else working in this hotel!

overall, we hd a very positive experience and we are already thinking of going back, maybe for Xmas!
the only constructive criticism that I would make to the hotel staff is to please improve their kids furniture: the crib that they used was quite old - and they only purchased a mattress on our request as they usually did not use one (which for me was a little shocking) and - just as importantly- the high chairs are really very old (and all the high chairs in the beach club are broken so the baby cannot be tied securely). this is just a small investment, but it would make a big difference for the younger guests and most importantly for their parents!

Room Tip: the villas are beautiful. if you travel as a family you might want to choose a suite, though (this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the beach, the food and the service.

My operations team have highlighted your comments on the crib and the high chairs and we are taking this into consideration. On your next visit back, you should definitely see some improvements in those areas.

We can't wait to see you and your family at Christmas!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Datai Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Datai Langkawi

Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Datai Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1993, The Datai Langkawi sets a new standard of luxury and Asian-inspired design, and quickly became one of the world’s most sought-after and award-winning hideaway resorts. Located on the north western tip of the lush tropical island of Langkawi off the coast of West Malaysia, The Datai is truly an oasis of relaxation and tranquility surrounded by centuries-old virgin rainforest with a private footpath leading to an idyllic white sand beach, swimming pool and spa, and nearby golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Datai Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Datai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Datai Langkawi
The Datai Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Datai Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.