We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rainforest oasis by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Datai Langkawi

Save Saved
You added The Datai Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Datai Langkawi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing rainforest oasis by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the hotel and are having an amazing time. Beautiful hotel, fabulous architecture, outstanding service and a truly unique experience.
We are staying in an 'end suite' which has amazing views over the rainforest, totally peaceful and quite surreal.
We are here with our 6 month old infant who has been treated like a king. The service is exemplary and nothing is too much for the staff, especially with particular requests for our child's needs.

There is a pool for over 16's which is child free and peaceful and the second pool, more for families is on the edge of the property, near the beautiful, serene, clean white sand beach.

This is our second stay here and have no doubt we will return....soon hopefully.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time during your stay to write The Datai a review.

We are glad you are enjoying jungle views from your End Suite. We're also glad to hear that your baby is well taken care of. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your stay and return again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    946
    144
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
195
703
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Quite simply my favourite get away place in Asia. Sure there are bigger places, super international hotels and all those Bali lovers......but in my view the Datai does the business.

Rooms are beautiful and well maintained. Upper pool stunning and quiet. Beach and beach bar super and food a joy. My wife and i have been several times and would not hesitate to return.

Last year we visited during the Rick Stein dinners and were treated to a night with Mr Stein and his cuisine.

Staff are brilliant and everything you need is attended to.

if you want to unwind.....get on the plane and go to the Datai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Your humbling review of The Datai is one we treasure. It is extremely gratifying to be considered not just the best on the island but in Asia as well. We take great pride is preserving the legacy of The Datai and it gives us such great pleasure then this is relayed in a guest's stay.

We do hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic location and surroundings. Exceptional hotel. Exceptional food. Exceptional staff and customer service delivery. All the hotel's existing accolades are very well deserved. Although The Datai has been around for a while, it still is the jewel in the Langkawi crown.

Room Tip: Any room affords a very comfortable experience. If you want to push the boat out, then a beach-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write The Datai a review.

We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review of the property. We do hope to see you and your family back again at The Datai.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated at the beautiful bay, the beach is captivating for the evening walks and great for the swimmer lovers!
The villa where we stayed was very clean. The hotel is very clean in general!
The staff is extremely helpful!
The best hotel I have ever stayed!
The food at the restaurants is very good, though quite pricey!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow us to firstly thank you for a wonderful review of The Datai. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been in 3 different hotels in different parts of Langkawi island and Datai is the best. The sea is amazingly clean and good to swim, the hotel itself shows infinite care for every little detail that affects your stay. Nature lovers, this is the best choice, as the hotel is integrated into jungle and is full of life, we watched monkeys playing from the balcony, lots of giant/flying squirrels and birds, frog pond near the lobby. Best breakfasts I ever had all around the world. Service is amazing, I don't know if they are trained to remember everything about you but very next day they've been calling me and my son by names. Really friendly and helpful too. Below is the review I left at the hotel.

Thank you, The Datai, for amazing experience. We felt ourselves in the middle of pristine rainforest and at the heart of best service we've ever seen at the same time.

Special thanks to your music team, they made our evenings at the lobby unforgettable. We hope to see Nick and Jim again next year, as we are definitely coming back!

Your nature tour guide Irshad showed both encyclopedic knowledge and infinite respect for beautiful nature that surrounds us. He made us aware about what we do to cooperate with the living organism which is Earth rather than fall into parasitic existence. Thank you Irshad, for your concern.

Little Slava wants to be both musician AND nature tour guide after his Datai practice. He is also hoping to gain access to lobby at evening hours and listen to your amazing music arrangements.

Big thanks to Inna for her ability to solve every little problem before it even appears :)

Thank you and hope to see you soon, dear Datai!

Eugene, Irina and Slava.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a such a wonderful review on your most recent stay at The Datai.

We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time during you stay and managed to embrace not only nature but the various activities available here at The Datai.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that you will be returning to The Datai again soon. We eagerly anticipate your return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent the Hari Raya / National Day long weekend at the Datai. As soon as we reached, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from pool villa to the stunning beach villa... amazing facilities, huge swimming pool.free wifi. my family loved it.. Food options are wonderful. Gulai house is a wonderful experience. Wonderful family resort, but ideal for honeymoon couples. Simply put, best place to hole up with the loved one and forget the world! If its langkawi, it has to be the Datai. Period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Datai.

We take great pride in your compliment of The Datai being the best on the island. We can't possibly ask for a better review.

We sincerely hope to see you and your family again at The Datai.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for ten days in May, our fourth visit. We have always had a villa as we love sitting on the balcony early morning and evening with the wild-life all around us, especially in a rain storm. There was a day-long powercut and the communication from management could have been better.
Breakfast was wonderful, it did get busy at week-ends but you can always choose to have it in your room if this is a problem.
We switched between The Pavilion and The Gulai for dinner, enjoying both. We also had room service two evenings as we had bad news from home, and this was just as good and beautifully set out. The next evening I had a cooling eye mask on my pillow from turn-down service, don't know if it was a coincidence but it was much appreciated.
My husband did mention to management about the rubbish on the beach between the two hotels as it wasn't nice when we walked that way, even in front of the new villas. Hopefully someone will take responsibility! The only thing I wasn't too keen on were the heavy toiletry bottles-you know if you drop one on your toe in the bath!
But overall this is still one of the top hotels in the region, and we are planning our next trip already.

Room Tip: If you love nature try for a villa to feel a part of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

As returnee guests of The Datai, we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time and will be returning again soon.

We're also glad you still enjoy the ever changing menus at The Gulai House and The Pavilion.

Please rest assured that we will be changing the toiletry bottles due to other guests having similar sentiments as you. On your next trip back, you will see the new toiletries and we hope that you will enjoy them.

We are also actively looking into the rubbish situation that often floats in from Thailand and are working closely with our maintenance team to ensure a pristine and clean beach for all our guests. We hope this problem will be rectified before your next trip out.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Datai Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Datai Langkawi

Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Datai Langkawi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1993, The Datai Langkawi sets a new standard of luxury and Asian-inspired design, and quickly became one of the world’s most sought-after and award-winning hideaway resorts. Located on the north western tip of the lush tropical island of Langkawi off the coast of West Malaysia, The Datai is truly an oasis of relaxation and tranquility surrounded by centuries-old virgin rainforest with a private footpath leading to an idyllic white sand beach, swimming pool and spa, and nearby golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Datai Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Datai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Datai Langkawi
The Datai Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Datai Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.