We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Datai Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Datai Langkawi to your Saves list
The Datai Langkawi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
2 reviews
“Paradise in jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is situated at the beautiful bay, the beach is captivating for the evening walks and great for the swimmer lovers!
The villa where we stayed was very clean. The hotel is very clean in general!
The staff is extremely helpful!
The best hotel I have ever stayed!
The food at the restaurants is very good, though quite pricey!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow us to firstly thank you for a wonderful review of The Datai. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    177
    57
    21
    15
See reviews for
271
905
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been in 3 different hotels in different parts of Langkawi island and Datai is the best. The sea is amazingly clean and good to swim, the hotel itself shows infinite care for every little detail that affects your stay. Nature lovers, this is the best choice, as the hotel is integrated into jungle and is full of life, we watched monkeys playing from the balcony, lots of giant/flying squirrels and birds, frog pond near the lobby. Best breakfasts I ever had all around the world. Service is amazing, I don't know if they are trained to remember everything about you but very next day they've been calling me and my son by names. Really friendly and helpful too. Below is the review I left at the hotel.

Thank you, The Datai, for amazing experience. We felt ourselves in the middle of pristine rainforest and at the heart of best service we've ever seen at the same time.

Special thanks to your music team, they made our evenings at the lobby unforgettable. We hope to see Nick and Jim again next year, as we are definitely coming back!

Your nature tour guide Irshad showed both encyclopedic knowledge and infinite respect for beautiful nature that surrounds us. He made us aware about what we do to cooperate with the living organism which is Earth rather than fall into parasitic existence. Thank you Irshad, for your concern.

Little Slava wants to be both musician AND nature tour guide after his Datai practice. He is also hoping to gain access to lobby at evening hours and listen to your amazing music arrangements.

Big thanks to Inna for her ability to solve every little problem before it even appears :)

Thank you and hope to see you soon, dear Datai!

Eugene, Irina and Slava.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a such a wonderful review on your most recent stay at The Datai.

We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time during you stay and managed to embrace not only nature but the various activities available here at The Datai.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that you will be returning to The Datai again soon. We eagerly anticipate your return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent the Hari Raya / National Day long weekend at the Datai. As soon as we reached, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from pool villa to the stunning beach villa... amazing facilities, huge swimming pool.free wifi. my family loved it.. Food options are wonderful. Gulai house is a wonderful experience. Wonderful family resort, but ideal for honeymoon couples. Simply put, best place to hole up with the loved one and forget the world! If its langkawi, it has to be the Datai. Period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Datai.

We take great pride in your compliment of The Datai being the best on the island. We can't possibly ask for a better review.

We sincerely hope to see you and your family again at The Datai.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for ten days in May, our fourth visit. We have always had a villa as we love sitting on the balcony early morning and evening with the wild-life all around us, especially in a rain storm. There was a day-long powercut and the communication from management could have been better.
Breakfast was wonderful, it did get busy at week-ends but you can always choose to have it in your room if this is a problem.
We switched between The Pavilion and The Gulai for dinner, enjoying both. We also had room service two evenings as we had bad news from home, and this was just as good and beautifully set out. The next evening I had a cooling eye mask on my pillow from turn-down service, don't know if it was a coincidence but it was much appreciated.
My husband did mention to management about the rubbish on the beach between the two hotels as it wasn't nice when we walked that way, even in front of the new villas. Hopefully someone will take responsibility! The only thing I wasn't too keen on were the heavy toiletry bottles-you know if you drop one on your toe in the bath!
But overall this is still one of the top hotels in the region, and we are planning our next trip already.

Room Tip: If you love nature try for a villa to feel a part of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

As returnee guests of The Datai, we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time and will be returning again soon.

We're also glad you still enjoy the ever changing menus at The Gulai House and The Pavilion.

Please rest assured that we will be changing the toiletry bottles due to other guests having similar sentiments as you. On your next trip back, you will see the new toiletries and we hope that you will enjoy them.

We are also actively looking into the rubbish situation that often floats in from Thailand and are working closely with our maintenance team to ensure a pristine and clean beach for all our guests. We hope this problem will be rectified before your next trip out.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Datai for 2 nights in March for a weekend getaway. We were primarily looking to relax rather than explore Langkawi exhaustively, and the Datai proved to fit the bill perfectly. We were particularly impressed by the following:

1) The property is stunning, combining rainforest and beachfront settings to great effect. One swimming pool overlooks the forest, while the other is by the sea. The rooms are atmospherically among the trees, while breakfast is served on the beachfront.

2) The restaurants were beautiful, particularly the Gulai House, which was set apart from the hotel right in the middle of the rainforest. Given the surroundings and views, I was expecting mediocre food, however, food quality was consistently high. We also appreciated the whiskey selection on offer at the bar.

3) There were small, high quality touches throughout that made our stay feel both special and stress free (for example, complimentary drinks from the bar when we arrived, the quality of the chocolates provided with turn down service, serving champagne at breakfast, the staff's willingness to serve us off-menu items by the pool when we couldn't find anything on the menu that appealed to us)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of The Datai.

We are glad to hear that you and your boyfriend had a truly relaxing holiday. We are also glad that you took notice of the smaller details like the chocolates at turn down and the staff's servitude and we are so grateful to see our guests appreciate this.

We hope to see you back again at The Datai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed over the long weekend holidays. This experience however did not meet expectations. The villa was not ready, the mini bar was not topped up, one lunch took over an hour to be served, there was a line of people waiting to be seated for breakfast. Food at breakfast disappeared faster than could be replenished. Service in general was a hit and miss.

In part, this was likely due to the large numbers checking in for the weekend holidays. It no longer felt as exclusive as it used to be. My feeling is that the occupancy rate had exceeded the facilities and space of the resort. There is a new road leading to the Datai. The old road has been blocked off for some development.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are terribly disappointed that we did not manage to meet your expectations. I can confirm that if you did stay over the Raya weekend, we were extremely busy with a nearly fully booked hotel. This is in no capacity an excuse and we look to evaluate this past busy period in ensuring there is enough staff on board to meet the needs and requests of every single guest.

We hope that this visit will not deter you from visiting us again. We do sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and prove to you that The Datai has not lost its exclusivity nor charm.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aesch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Yes, it is expensive, but come on, it's located in a very special place on Langkawi. We staid at a Superior Villa located in the middle of the Rainforest. An incredible experience and yes, sometimes a little creature makes it's way into the Bungalow, but nothing really to worry about.
The sound sensation when laying in bed is so special and unique this location deserves special marks for that specifically. The bungalow in very spacious, the bathroom specially, although, I would have left more space for the toilet and shower. The aircon was quite loud and we had to get used to it. The services allover (Bar, Restaurant's and the SPA) are expensive but all the staff we met were very helpful and very very kind and made our stay very special. The hotel needs work done and this was even mentioned at a cocktail party we attended, afterall it's 20 years old. The beach in incredible and the top pool beautiful for adults only :-) The Reastaurants (4 in total) have all very authentic and beautiful food (favourite was "The Pavillon").
Big plus (or not, depends on you), is that WIFI is available everywhere and in sufficient coverage.
I would go there anytime again, great place for relaxing vacations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us at The Datai and then to provide a review of your stay.

We are ecstatic that you considered your stay at The Datai an incredible experience. As mentioned to you, we are embarking on our 20th Anniversary this year and there are many plans to revamp the property. We will still be keeping to the legacy and charm that is The Datai.

We hope you will be pleased to see the slightly new and improved Datai on your next trip out.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
3.5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.6 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
9.4 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 14 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#6 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Datai Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Datai Langkawi

Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Datai Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Datai Langkawi is situated on the northwest tip of the island Langkawi in Malaysia. Located in a 10 million year old rainforest and overlooking the tranquil Datai Bay, awarded by National Geographic as one of the Top 10 beaches worldwide, the iconic property enchants with mesmerizing nature, visionary architecture, luxury and bespoke service. It's 54 rooms, 40 villas, 16 suites and 14 beach villas offer views of the surrounding nature. The award-winning dining outlets pay homage to the exotic flavours and culinary tradition of the region. Leisure facilities include two swimming pools; an award-winning spa and Els Club Teluk Datai - the most scenic 18-hole golf course in Southeast Asia designed by the golf legend Ernie Els. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your The Datai Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Datai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Datai Langkawi
The Datai Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Datai Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.