We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Datai Langkawi

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Datai Langkawi to your Saves list
The Datai Langkawi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Datai is an amazing experience, with the attentive staff and a great beach. It is well-maintained, and set in the rainforest, it is refreshing. Datai has an authenticity you don't find in a lot of luxury resorts. Overall a great place to stay and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on the property.

We can't help but be delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us here in the Langkawi rainforest.

We eagerly await your return to your new home in the rainforest.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    145
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
205
734
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iwade, Kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just arrived back from The Datai this morning and although severely jet lagged I felt compelled to post a review as quickly as possible.

First of all, having read some previous feedback surrounding the distance to the beach being too far or steep (it isn't and if you really can't face the 5 minute walk from the main complex then there are buggies that will arrive within minutes of placing a call to the concierge). Also if you're booking a Superior Villa in the rainforest then the clue is in the description and if you're in the jungle you will hear all the amazing animals, this is their home and they were there before the hotel, to us it just added to the experience. Yes you're under the canopy of the trees so the villas can be dark but again this just added to the atmosphere for us.

So to our trip, we arrived after a very long flight from London to Kuala Lumpur and then a domestic flight over to Langkawi, we had also been lucky enough to sit next to 3 crying babies for the 12 hour flight so we were exhausted. As we walked through arrivals there was a rep from The Datai holding up a sign for us and who greeted us warmly along with a uniformed driver from the hotel. We had booked private transfers so we watched a little smugly as others piled into minivans and we took our seats in a cool Mercedes with cold water and fragranced cold flannels waiting for us. The driver drove sensibly and told us all about the island and filled us in on some general information, he gave us regular updates as to how far the hotel was (about 30 mins from the airport) and pointed out all the flora and fauna.

On arrival at the hotel we met Joy the resort manager, very friendly and welcoming and assured us we could just drop her a line if we needed anything. We enjoyed our complimentary arrival drinks and then we shown to our deluxe room which, although the most basic accommodation tier in the hotel, was anything but. A huge bed, spacious room with dark wood fixtures and fittings and a large bathroom with 2 sinks, a bath and a separate rain shower, at night our beds would be turned down, chocolates left for us and fresh fruit every day as well as a rainforest newsletter.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very luxurious without being ostentatious and every single member of staff was smiling and helpful without being intrusive, you got a sense they really loved working at The Datai. There are 2 pools, one adults only which we really appreciated and the walk through the rainforest to the second pool was a 5 minutes away, then you are straight on the beach which is an area of outstanding natural beauty, with fabulous sunsets and very warm water.

For those of us that cannot travel without a good wifi connection this was never a problem and I was able to connect in the room and out in the pool areas. The Pavilion which is the Thai restaurant was our favourite, located on stilts over the rainforest with twinkly lanterns leading up to it, delicious spicy food made to your taste and attentive staff you just couldn't ask for more. The Gulai House was an excellent option to try out Malaysian cuisine and the Beach Club and main lobby bar provided more European food. On our second evening we arranged to have a romantic meal on the beach and it is an evening we will never forget, Abanez our personal butler for the evening took great care of us, made us feel really special and the seafood dinner was perfect. They had decorated our table with flowers and many nightlights and we sat eating, talking and listening to the sea - a very special evening.

Whilst there I also tried out the Spa where the treatment rooms are open to the rainforest, I had a hot stone treatment, Indian massage and a rejuvenating wrap. I have to callout out Indra the therapist who made me feel immediately at ease and having had these kinds of treatments in Dubai, Sri Lanka and the US I have to say the standard at The Datai was head and shoulders above any other, I was walking on air for hours afterwards.

My partner also tried his hand at the Thai cooking class which he found really fun and informative and he has picked up a few tips to bring home and try out in our kitchen.

On our last day we decided we would like to try out one of the Superior Villas in the rainforest and request a late checkout as our flight was in the evening. Not only did Joy accommodate this without an issue the villa was complimentary and we also got a tour of the amazing beach villas - truly stunning. With our villa we received a complimentary bottle of wine and to fully appreciate the beauty of these rooms you just have to stay in one, they are worth the extra money to be out amongst nature with the plus of also being in pure luxury with little extras like an iPod and dock and a daybed area.

Remember this is a place for rest and relaxation but I fully disagree with anyone who has written it is boring, you can go to the spa, take a walk through the rainforest, go on a nature excursion, chill out by the beach or pool or go for an excellent meal (they also do fabulous cocktails and mocktails, their mojitos were especially good and for the non drinkers a Datai Cooler was really tasty).

I really can't say enough about this hotel or its staff and we were genuinely sad to leave, special mention needs to go to Joy, Indra and Abanez for making it an unforgettable holiday (I hope this gets relayed to them) and also the bar manager down by the beach (unfortunately we didn't get his name) who organized the beach villa tour. We are already thinking about how we can come back for another visit as soon as possible. Don't hesitate, book The Datai its outstanding and as a frequent traveller it definitely tops any other I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Villa 17 is by a stream and well located to access everything in the resort and room 218 overlooks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are truly honoured that you were so keen to post a wonderful review of the property even despite the jet lag. We can't thank you enough.

First, let me assure you that I will personally relay your positive feedback to Joy, Abanes and Indra. They will be pleased to hear that you had such a relaxed stay with us.

We're also very proud that our long-standing commitment to excellent service has been relayed in your stay with us and can only hope that future guests are touched by the very same dedication and hard work.

We're also glad you managed to stay in a Superior Villa. Its definitely a completely unique experience from the main hotel rooms or even the new Beach Villas. Being immersed in an ancient rainforest provides a touch no other hotel on the island could duplicate and we're extremely proud to have been blessed with the beauty that surrounds us.

We will be celebrating our 20th Anniversary later this year and as such have created a special package for the occasion. Please quote '20th Anniversary Celebration' on your next reservation to ensure you get an even better deal on your next stay.

From all of us at the resort, thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Datai is in very quite corner in Langkawi. Hotel has been built some time ago but the design is still so chic and modern. Also the rainforest garden with lovely yellow lightings make the whole property like a fairytale land. We enjoyed private beach with stunning sunset. But beach bed was not enough for all, drinking water was way too expexsive. Room was lovely little cottage with great amenities. Best thai style garlic lime fish dish ever in Malay. Can not find better fish anywhere in Thailand. Overall, good but remote from everything if you want to entertain kids. The only close thing was a monkey mountain where you hardly meet monkey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Datai.

We'd like to inform you that we constantly review our guests feedback so your future stays with us will always be better than the last. Having said that, we do note your comment on the day bed and drinking water. I will bring this up with our operations team and see how we can provide more day bed and drinking water at a more cost effective price point.

I will also relay your compliments of the Thai food to the chef at The Pavilion. He and the team will be happy to hear you feel his fish dish is better than any in Thailand.

We do hope you return to visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We travelled from London for a ten day stay in this wonderful resort. It was not long enough! The feeling of peace and tranquility being in the middle of the Rainforest is unbeatable. There is so much to explore and the beach is empty. The food in all the restaurants was excellent and the staff could never do enough to please. The hotel can arrange different excursions all of the island. IN addition the Datai has an exceptional spa experience. I would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The corner suites are wonderful -- incredible views over the treetops
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is the highest order compliment to hear that you wish to return to The Datai and for that we couldn't thank you enough.

We sincerely hope to see you and your family again soon.

thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights at the Datai for our honeymoon. It was an absolutely fantastic stay. The staff couldn't do enough for us (they remembered our names which was a nice touch), the food was amazing (try a private romantic dinner on the beach for something really special), and the location is perfect. I find it unbelievable there are any negative reviews of this hotel, as our experience has been outstanding. The Datai is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, and I can't imagine one better. Thanks to all the staff for making our experience so special.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Datai.

We couldn't be more pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is pure perfection - we stayed in a villa in the Rainforest which was beautifully appointed in a stunning setting. We had 4 days/5 nights there and never left the hotel........it was peaceful and very romantic. The food in all restaurants was great too........highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rainforest Villas are beautiful and a short walk to the hotel facilities or the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your wonderful recommendation of The Datai. We truly appreciate it.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Allow me to relay your kind compliments back to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back into your new home in the Langkawi rainforest.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our first visit to Langkawi and stayed at the Datai for 4 nights after a 3 night stay at the neighboring resort the Andaman. The Datai was an outstanding way to finish our stay, the resort is definitely our style in terms of design, location, service and facilities. Every morning you are reminded of how privileged you are to be in a location set amongst the beautiful rainforest and the abundance of natural wildlife. The resort is quite a distance from the main town and airport, however we were very happy to simply relax and the resorts facilities were more than adequate. The restaurants were great with Gulai House (set in the rainforest) being our favourite. A great location for rest, relaxation and rejuvenation and definitely a place I would be happy to return to. Thank you to all the staff for their attentiveness and passion for the Datai.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We cannot begin to express our delight in hearing that you and your partner left The Datai rested, relaxed and rejuvenated. It is our utmost priority to ensure this for each guest and we are glad this has been relayed in your recent stay with us.

The Langkawi rainforest is a magical place, one even we are still in awe with so we are proud that her beauty was admired and appreciated during your stay with us.

We do look forward to your return to Langkawi island, your new home away from home in the rainforest.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Datai Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Datai Langkawi

Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Datai Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1993, The Datai Langkawi sets a new standard of luxury and Asian-inspired design, and quickly became one of the world’s most sought-after and award-winning hideaway resorts. Located on the north western tip of the lush tropical island of Langkawi off the coast of West Malaysia, The Datai is truly an oasis of relaxation and tranquility surrounded by centuries-old virgin rainforest with a private footpath leading to an idyllic white sand beach, swimming pool and spa, and nearby golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Datai Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Datai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Datai Langkawi
The Datai Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Datai Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.