We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to the Datai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Datai Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Datai Langkawi to your Saves list
The Datai Langkawi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Thank you to the Datai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Eric and I are just enjoying the most magical experience ever in a Beach Villa. I am speechless. It is simply amazing. No-one would ever know we were here and yet if we want to we can meet with everyone else and have fun.

I must say that the staff are without exception the kindest and most willing to please I have ever met in the world. They always smile, are polite and remember our names year on year. I cannnot describe what a magical place this is. The beach is divine and the water warm. I can even lie in the sea and let the water lap over me, and with a glass of wine in my hand. This is absolute bliss. Thank you Susanah, Harri, Roland, Carlos and you know who you are as I have forgotten all your names after Cloudy Bay!!!! Do come and see for yourselves.

Room Tip: Just book the best room you can afford - they are all marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are most pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the brand new Beach Villas.

The staff will be thrilled to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay here at The Datai, especially The Beach Club Bar and Restaurant staff.

We will be celebrating our 20th Anniversary at the end of the year and it is our every hope that you and your husband will return in time to participate in all the festivities planned.

We look forward to receiving you again on the island soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    163
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
239
820
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here last year on a business trip and would love to be back to bring my partner next time! Fantastic location and the rooms are amazing....you truly feel you are one with nature! Just be careful and don't open your verandah doors or else you might have some uninvited monkey guests inside your room (this is what happened to one of my colleagues). The pool is fabulous and the scenery and backdrop is just fabulous. Had breakfast and lunch there as well and I also give the food top marks. Service was faultless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on The Datai.

We see your colleague has experienced some 'monkey business' here at The Datai. While they can be highly mischievous, trust that do not pose any harm. They are just keen to explore the fruit basket or the mini bar.

We are glad that you managed to use all our facilities on your business trip and can't recommend enough for you to return with your partner.

We look forward to welcoming to your new home in the rainforest.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A beautiful hotel nestled in the Rainforest. An amazing hotel, understated with fantastic service!
A beautiful setting, take a walk to the beach and you may see Monkeys and Wild Boar.

We really couldn't find a negative with this hotel or the service. The restaurants are all great!

Lucky you if you are going soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Datai.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is greatly appreciated.

We know that our ancient rainforest echoes the sense of place that guests long for in a holiday. Over the years, the area’s unspoiled beauty, pristine seascapes and host of natural attractions have drawn very special guests like you.

We hope you return to your new home in the rainforest and are treated to more of nature's magic.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you want to indulge...Datai it is. The location is superb as you feel the whole rainforest is yours. Datai offers you the best of both worlds, the Jungle and the Sea. You are zen and tanned!

What I especially loved about Datai:
1) The rooms and bathroom make you never want to leave...go for the superior villa where you are facing the stream.

2) The restaurants are top notch with excuisite fine dining experience which includes Western, Thai and Malay in three separate beautiful settings.

3) The beach is super overlooking the Andaman Islands. Just park yourself on the sofa's and enjoy the seabreeze.

4) Get breakfast served to your room daily and look forward to the chocolates when they turn down your room

I can't wait to return but will have to save up again for the Ultimate Indulgence experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are most pleased to hear that you have had such an indulgent stay with us.

The superior villa facing the little stream is also one of my favourite villas and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here at The Datai.

Allow me to introduce to you the 'Jungle Rendezvous' package which has been tailored specifically to Malaysian and Singaporean residents. This special price may be worth looking into should you wish to return later in the year. We are also hosting a range of festivities over the year end period to celebrate our 20th Anniversary and hope that you will be able to participate in this.

We eagerly await your return to the rainforest.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma-Ata, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a rest in "The Datai" from 19 to 25 July 2012. During this time, the rain was only twice. The first time, the rain was on July 19 at 15:30, when we swam in the sea, and it was amazing: warm salty sea and warm fresh rain, thrilled and went around the jungle and lagoon. Like a fairy tale. We laughed like children. Half an hour later the sun came out again. The second time the rain was in the evening of 24th of July and also a was warm and lasted over an hour. The next day the weather was clear again.
   We liked Hotel "The Datai" very much. This hotel is unique, it is right in the jungle, in the thickets of the rainforest. There is special installements against repel snakes and dangerous insects. So, if you want to visit jungle without danger to life, then this is the place. Just be prepared and do not be afraid when the runners pass you by wild pigs, covered with hair, and even with their piglets, or you see monkeys in over your head. The treetops parrots sit and crawl on land with iguanas. On the walls and ceilings of the hotel all the time running small lizards. In general, the outside walls are also jungle. If you are afraid to go from the hotel to the beach through the jungle (a walk on a footpath takes 10minut), then you can be delivered by electric cars, which they call the buggy.
   The beach is very long and very clean, with large tropical trees. There are tides before lunch and in the afternoon low tides. Since the beach is perfect, the entrance to the sea is always comfortable, and clean sand under your feet. Always be longer than half a meter high waves. Each day, the sea throws at different beach shells and coral. On the beach there is a bar and a restaurant, all food very tasty. Locker room - a separate house, which has everything: lockers with keys, where you can dress up and close their things, and showers in a tropical style with soap and shampoo, and toilets, sinks. Towels provide both large and small, white, you can change them as you want. All the servants are very careful and do everything with a smile.
   The pools at the hotel. On the territory two large freshwater swimming pools, one near the main building and the second near the beach. Some of the villas have a private swimming pool (small). All net.
   We had a room in the main building, the area 64sq.m. Large bathroom with two sinks, a large bath, separate shower and toilet. This room has a balcony, but we almost did not come out, the staff warned that the balcony door should be always close, because monkeys or squirrels or lizards ca run into...
   Overall we liked to go to the tropical jungle and still with high level of service.
   The entire lagoon date belongs to one owner. He built in the lagoon two hotels - the Datai and Andaman. Therefore, we can use the area and restaurants of both hotels. Andaman has a Japanese restaurant, and the Datai has Thai restaurant, so guests can go and try the food in this and in the other. But still if you want to experience the jungle, it is better to be in the Datai, as Andaman is more like a Turkish hotel where crowds many people, children, and there is no feeling of wildlife.
Also, we visited the Spa of the Datai. This is generally a single song. This spa is unique in the world. House where do massage, is located above the forest river surrounded by tropical plants. So that during the procedure, you will hear the murmur of the river, which flows directly under you and the birds singing, smell the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First, allow me to thank you for your kind feedback in regards to the hotel.

We are delighted that you had a truly enjoyable stay. We know that our ancient rainforest echoes the sense of place that guests long for in a holiday. Over the years, the area’s unspoiled beauty, pristine seascapes and host of natural attractions have drawn very special guests like you.

We hope that you will soon return to experience the magic of this rainforest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in the rainforest.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just back from an amazing weekend break in Langkawi, staying at The Datai. The hotel is beautifully situated on a hillside which slopes down to a lovely beach. Our room was fabulous with a very comfortable bed, massive flatscreen TV and large bathroom. There are two pools (one near the dining room and one down by the beach) and a health club and spa. We ate lunch at the pool both days and it was great with numerous daily specials. For dinner we went to the Gulai which served superb Indian/Malay food and the last night The Pavilion which served extraordinary Thai food. We'd definitely go back as it was a superlative experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your prized compliment.

It is always such a pleasure to hear that guests like yourself have had such a wonderful time at The Datai. Allow me to relay this back to the team.

We will be kicking off our 20th Anniversary festivities later in the year and hope that you will return to participate in the celebrations.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

6th visit to The Datai and delighted to say it is as magical as ever! This hotel suits travellers who love nature and are looking for a relaxing holiday in a glorious setting with outstanding service. It is in the rainforest which is utterly fascinating and bewitching. We stayed in a Superior Villa (36), as we did last year. The Deluxe rooms in the main building are super but the Villas bring you right into the rainforest and much closer to nature. They are huge, very well appointed and we would recommend them thoroughly.
The other main asset of the hotel apart from the setting is the staff. Without exception they are friendly attentive and a total credit to the hotel.
Other reviews have mentioned construction/ noise but this appears to be complete as we had no experience of this. The new Gulai House retains the charm and feel of the old setting and the food remains superb as it is in the Pavilion. The Dining Room setting and staff are wonderful but the meal we had was not just as good as on previous visits. The Beach Club serves lunch and evening themed barbeques which are outstanding. The bar is set above the main pool and is a great place to chill and see the sea eagles soaring above the trees. You can get snacks and light meals here too so in our 7 days we were able to vary where we dined so we didn't get tired of the same menu/venue.
We spent more time at the beach this year and did the Beachwalk with Daia from Junglewalla. This was super, we learned a lot and Daia was a great teacher. The morning and evening walks with Irshad are very educational,fun and unmissable! Nature is the greatest show on earth and here you are in the front row!
We stayed in January which is in the dry season and had blue skies every day and the hotel was quiet. Not the place to come if you want night life and it is not really the place for young families but to chill out and relax its perfect. The Spa is beautifully located and the massages were brilliant, we miss them now we are home!
We asked to see the new beach villas which were incredible but we felt that they were very high tech and were not what we come to the Datai for. They are also very expensive indeed.
As you can tell we love this place and we could drone on forever but if you love nature, privacy and luxury with fantastic service it is hard to imagine better!

Room Tip: Superior Villas are huge and set in the rainforest. If you love being surrounded by nature these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for returning to The Datai and for providing us with our prized feedback.

We are extremely proud that you were impressed with our products and services and we hope that upon your future visits, we would have managed to raise the bar. We also know that our ancient rainforest echoes the sense of place that guests long for in a holiday. Over the years, the area’s unspoiled beauty, pristine seascapes and host of natural attractions have drawn very special guests like you.

Allow me to convey your kind words of the nature tours back to Jungle Walla. Irshad and team will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed them.

We look forward to receiving you back on the island.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Datai Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Datai Langkawi

Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Datai Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Datai Langkawi is situated on the northwest tip of the island Langkawi in Malaysia. Located in a 10 million year old rainforest and overlooking the tranquil Datai Bay, awarded by National Geographic as one of the Top 10 beaches worldwide, the iconic property enchants with mesmerizing nature, visionary architecture, luxury and bespoke service. It's 54 rooms, 40 villas, 16 suites and 14 beach villas offer views of the surrounding nature. The award-winning dining outlets pay homage to the exotic flavours and culinary tradition of the region. Leisure facilities include two swimming pools; an award-winning spa and Els Club Teluk Datai - the most scenic 18-hole golf course in Southeast Asia designed by the golf legend Ernie Els. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Datai Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Datai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Datai Langkawi
The Datai Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Datai Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.