We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The private villas with own pool are the perfect honeymoon location - amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Happy Together!
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The private villas with own pool are the perfect honeymoon location - amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We spent two weeks in Malaysia on honeymoon - week one in Kuala Lumpur and the Taman Negara rainforest and then a week of luxury at the Westin. As it was our honeymoon we splashed out on a private villa with pool and it was definitely worth it! 2 flat screen TVs, gorgeous massive bathroom, beautifully furnished, lovely outside area, big lounge and dining area and even a butler room - for your staff should you choose to bring them !! They showered us with thoughtful little extras during our stay including rose petal baths run for us during the evening turn down service, bottle of wine and fruit, inflatable toys thrown over into our villa pool and even a cake saying happy honeymoon. You also get a complementary massage on arrival in your villa if you don't want to go to the spa - arh bliss!
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and would always offer you a lift on a golf cart if they saw you walking somewhere - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast buffet (with all you can drink sparkling wine!!!) was amazing - best I've ever experienced... this was included in our stay price - so opt for it if you can.
The spa was very relaxing and luxurious and the pools were large and good for swimming and the gym is ample - often I was the only person in there!
The only negative thing I can think of is the seafront is not as beautiful as other parts of the island as it is near the port.
Just to check we had opted for the best hotel on the island we visited the 5* Datai for a drink - it was very beautiful and in a more remote, quieter part of the island but appeals more to an older generation I think - looking at the patrons. We enjoyed the secluded, romantic nature of our villa but enjoyed meeting and chatting to people of a similar age in the swimming pool bar and at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    534
    207
    68
    40
See reviews for
484
832
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

The hotel is located on a very nice property and is built in a modern style. Although we stayed in a room, we went and saw the villas which I thought were far nicer. So recommend stay in a villa. The pools are great and the atmosphere in the hotel is lively. The facilities are great for eg. the gym, water sports, spa etc. The beach, however, is quite grainy and its hard to walk on the sand. The housekeeping was not up to the mark, the furniture etc was not well maintained for eg glass marks on the wood etc. The service was also not exceptional. The food was above average but again not exceptional. All in all a good experience but the hotel could do much better with better housekeeping and service.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from Holiday of 7 nights at the Westin Langkawi and have to say it was beautiful. We were concerned after reading some of the reviews that were negative and all we can say to those people submitting those reviews is "get a life". The resort was well kept with a wonderful outlook over the sea and the pools were tremendous. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The srevice was fantastic and we were always greeted with a smile and the staff could not do enough for us. The beach was clean (despite there being reviews to the contrary)and well organised with loungers etc and on the beach front is the Heavenly spa which is heaven. We purchased a dining pass which entitled us to 2 lunches, 2 buffet dinners, cocktail and a 1/2 massage which meant a huge saving on the actual cost of purchasing each seperately. We were so impressed that we are booking again next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at the Westin Langkawi for two weeks in March 2009. The hotel was wonderful and relaxing. The beach was very good for walking along and collecting shells, as well as swimming in the warm and calm sea. It is a quiet beach and led to the beautiful pool at the spa, with sun loungers. The beach is quiet and romantic with pretty views. You feel as though you have the space to yourself. There are four pools, with the main one having a swim up bar. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping malls, coffee shop, and a bar with marvelous views over the harbour where you can watch the sun set in the evening whilst sipping wine. The staff at the hotel were so helpful and eager to ensure we were having a lovely time. Mohan Dass, the lobby host, and Gobalan Robiah, the guest service manager were generally in the lobby area when we passed through and offered advice on where to visit in Langkawi, the queries we had about local bird and wildlife, and were genuinely interested in our stay. The breakfast at the Westin is superb, and we tried the restaurant for dinner, with fresh lobster, crab and fresh meat, fish and vegetables offered. Excellent service at all times, and the food was of a very good standard. We did visit restaurants in Langkawi and thoroughly enjoyed the different tastes and culture. We were able to arrange car hire, boat hire, and a taxi for a day and in the evenings.The roads are easy to drive on. We visited uninhabited islands, except for monkeys, and had an amazing time on the cable car. Our holiday was amazing, we did do alot of activities and exploration of the island, it is so beautiful. We also sipped wine and cocktails in the evening, and read a book alongside the pool. We had carefully considered a number of hotels, but am certain the Westin Langkawi was the best choice for its location, careful attention to customer satisfaction, good food, lovely beach, and facilities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We were in Langkawi for our honeymoon and were so glad we decided to stay at the Westin as we had a really memorable time while we were there! :)

The service was impeccable when we arrived (drinks on arrival, etc.) and check-in went smoothly. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a lovely sea view villa with our own private pool, which we very much appreciated during our stay there.

The villa was lovely and very romantic (and the air-conditioning worked perfectly were we there! :) ). There were complimentary flowers, water, wine and fruit on arrival, which was a lovely touch. The bedroom was very spacious - with a very comfortable super kingsize bed , a sofa and a large flat-screen TV. The bathroom was even larger though - with a double-sink, bathtub and a huge shower room! The complimetary toiletries were really nice. There is an outside massage table as well if you ever wanted to request the services of a private masseur from the hotel's spa. The lounge was large, light and airy - with a large flat screen TV , a DVD player and lots of seating space. We borrowed a few DVDs from the hotel's entertainment centre on a few of our nights there. There is a kitchen with a sink, fridge and microwave, if you need it (though no cooker). However, the best feature of the villa for us was the private pool at the villa - we thought it was great! :) We even managed a swim in a thunderstorm in our little pool while we were there! :)

The hotel itself was impeccably kept, and all the public pools looked really well kept. We only tried out the public pools once while we were there, but it was good fun - and there were always towels available around the main pool. We loved the beach which was walking distance from our villa. Admittedly, the beach wasn't the best beach in Langkawi (i.e. not a secluded white sand beach), but it was nice nevertheless. We found the beach lounges very relaxing and managed a quick dip in the warm sea while were there. (It was a little bit muddy in parts though.)

The hotel has quite a good gym, a Wii room, a pool table and bike hire. There is also a water sports centre if you want to hire a kayak, etc. for non-motorised water sports.

The buffet breakfasts at the Westin were excellent, especially the local Malaysian cuisine and the freshly made waffles / pancakes / crepes! It was also great to get piping hot eggs, done in any way you like, straight from the pan. The assortment of fruit, pastries, fruit smoothies, etc were also fantastic! We didn't eat dinner at the hotel while we were there though as we decided to try the local cuisine while we were out and about instead. We did, however, have a drink at the Breeze bar on one of our days there. The drinks at the bar were, admittedly, quite expensive but the view is lovely and the cocktails were quite good.

The service was excellent were we there and the small touches (e.g. our daily 'message in a bottle' and mini-pastries, the turn down service, etc.) just made our honeymoon amazing.

Thank you Westin for a most fantastic honeymoon which we will remember for the rest of our lives! :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constantine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

i have enjoyed my stay at the westin langkawi,the hotel is located in a great area,beautiful beach, the room is very clean,the service is super,the people who work in this hotel is incredible,always with a smile and ready to help.
the food is top (breakfast,lunch and dinner).
when we have returned to our country,my son has told to everybody than the westin langkawi is the best,and everyone must to go there once a life.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

From the minute we arrived in the Westin we were treated like royalty the staff couldn't do enough for us. I was blown away by the views from our ocean view delux room, it was amazing. The bed was heavenly slept so well. The Breakfasts were fab as other posters have stated so much choice and the fresh pancakes made in front of you are melt in the mouth!

The poolside bar was cool, swimming up for a cocktail! Each afternoon at around 4pm staff would come around to the pool with a "gimmick" of the day which was different each day, sometimes chocolate cake, sometimes fruit etc, nice little touch.. We got spa treatments as well which were top class, so relaxed after them.

You can hire a taxi from the hotel for 4hrs for 100 ringits, which is very good value we got our driver to bring us to Datai beach which was nicest beach i've ever been on and then he brought us to the cable car that was enjoyable too.

Ate most nights in the restaurants in the hotel, cannot fault the food in anyway or the choice/service etc.

We went to Charlies in the yacht club beside the hotel one of the nights I didn't think the food was great but it was very cheap and so were the drinks.

I loved everything about the Westin and would go back in the morning!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.