We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have To Come Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Happy Together!
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Have To Come Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

(Stayed for the second week of the June-July school holidays)

The holiday was wonderful. At the start there was a hiccup when I accidentally ran my carry on suitcase over a platter that was left out the front of a room - milk went everywhere. Aside from that, everything else was perfect. The views were the best, except when the rain came by.

The room was a little bit smaller than I expected (and what I am used to) and at the same time during the day there were renovators working on renovations nearby. The pool was great but when you swam close to the motor room a constant high pitched sound can be heard, as well as that there was not enough shade so I was prone to sunburn (need a tan anyway).

In terms of dining, I broke away from my 'picky eater' self and actually tried some other stuff which meant I fell in love with the chicken liver pâté and actually went out of my way to have it a few more times for the last few days I was there. Breeze was sensational and the entertainment was great (keep singing ladies!) and I especially enjoyed the mini burgers. Seasonal Tastes Restaurant also provided great food and I especially enjoyed the constant service from the same waiter, it seemed there is usually enough staff for every table to have personalised service.

The service all around was great, there were barely any staff but at the same time if you needed help with something or ordered some food then BAM!, one pops out of nowhere and you are instantly satisfied.

I have been here once before (when I was around 12) and can easily say that both times have been some of the best times of my life. The small number of other guests added to the exclusivity of the resort which is what I also liked.

I have been to other 5* resorts and hotels, locally and on an international scale so the benchmark would be placed pretty high and I can say this resort has joined the likes of The Langham and the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang Resort. Not only have I enjoyed this stay but my parents have too so this place is definitely on our list to come back to next time, maybe even hop into town and get more involved in the local culture.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Nicholas_M983,

Welcome back to The Westin Langkawi! Thank you for your time to post this inspiring review on our Trip Advisor .We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us .First of all, we apologize for the incident that happened during your room check in, we will make sure this kind of issue won’t happen again in future. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort; the combination of secluded green forest with the magnificent view of Andaman Sea is really a breath taking scenery. Thank you for mentioning our unique pools and we would like to apologies on the shortcoming regarding the sound from the motor room and insufficient of the shades. We have highlighted to our team and actions are immediately taken. Moreover, we are happy to know that our SuperfoodsRX have greatly satisfied your desire toward new dishes. We also pleased to know that our three beautiful ladies from De’ JAVA group were able to entertained you and have left you a memorable evening at the Breeze Bar. Thank you for your generous remark regarding your overall dining experience our newly renovated Seasonal Taste and our 24 hours In room dining. We would say that our associate tries their utmost in creating a memorable and personalize stay for our guests. Appreciate you bringing up the few shortcomings you have encountered to our attention as this will only assist in improving towards service excellence .We hope to welcome you and your family again for another relaxing stay in the near future

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    534
    207
    68
    40
See reviews for
485
832
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed at the Westin for 6 nights after 3 nights in Singapore. Really enjoyed our stay, everything about this Hotel is pretty much perfect. The staff, food, pools,cleanliness,room couldn't fault any of it. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear lindablower,

Thank you very much for your priceless feedback. We pleased to hear your requirements are being met with regards to our facilities as well as services. We would say that our associate tries their utmost in creating a memorable stay for our guests. We are really grateful for your comments and we wish to welcome you again near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the resort and had a wonderful friends getaway. We had the rooms with partial ocean view and it was very spacious and offers a great view of the ocean. The best thing about the resort is the staff. Everyone was very helpful, from suggestions on where to go in the island, arranging transports and assisting us with our requests (even when it was late at night).

The property is 30 minutes away from Pantai Cenang so it may be a little bit further out from the main restaurants and tourist spots. However, we did not venture out of the hotel much and spent a lot of time relaxing by the pool. Although the hotel was close to full occupancy during that particular weekend, we did not feel it. Deck chairs by the pool were easy to find.

An additional touch was the Westin airport lounge, which we could relaxed while waiting for our flight home. Definitely makes going back home less painful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ytravel18,

Thank you for your time to post this inspiring review on our Trip Advisor .We are glad to know that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us .We are delighted to hear your kind words about our partial ocean room and the wonderful ocean view from the room itself. We also glad that our friendly and helpful associates was able to accommodate and doing extra miles in providing your needs during the stay. Thank you for mentioning our unique pool and it facilities .We also appreciate your generous remark on our Westin Airport Lounge which had offered you and you friend access to a graceful and comfortable place to relax before taking off for next destination. We hope to welcome you and your friends for another relaxing holiday in the future at the Westin Langkawi.

Be well

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed two nights here on a weekend trip with friends. Our room was nicely decorated, very clean and modern. The hotel pool is huge, overlooking the ocean, with a small swim-up bar and great cocktails. The hotel fronts a long beach with calm water, and the location seems less windy than hotels we drove by on the opposite side of the island. The breakfast buffet was great, catering to many tastes, although temporarily located near the car park due to some renovations going on in the main building. Staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the live music in the bar at the end of each night. Hotel location is very good -- walking distance to town where we caught the Damai Indah for an afternoon sail and also rented scooters for an afternoon drive around the island. Overall, a great stay and would return again if in Langkawi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear CompassAndCamera,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa and you have enjoyed 3 nights stay here with us. We are delighted to hear your good words about our rooms which exude a modern charm amidst and offer wellness in a stylish retreat. Thank you for mentioning our unique infinity pool and our amazing cocktails at The Splash bar. We also appreciate that you have mentioning our lovely beach and our wide range of signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. We are proudly to announce that our Newly Renewed Seasonal Taste Restaurant is now open! Moreover, we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our live entertainment at The Breeze. Thank you for mentioning our resort strategic location which near to main town yet secluded in the green of the forest and view of magnificent Andaman Sea. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything you can ask for in a full-serviced resort. The beach is not as amazing as Pantai Cenang but Westin makes up for it by having 4 pools. What I loved about it is that even if it had 100% occupancy for the long weekend, it never felt crowded. There was always a free lounge chair by the pool and the beach. Lovely rooms - spacious, generous toiletries, fluffy towels & robes, relaxing balcony (beware the monkeys & big komodo lizards that may pop by!). Perhaps they can improve some of the room amenities to make it sound-proof: i.e. door stoppers, oiled hinges... Staff are eager to please, room service was fast (less than 30 mins), they have a wonderful gear lending programme tie-up with Reebok so no need to bring your own workout items. Could use with more local food items on their menu but overall satisfied with the selections as it caters to a more upscale, international clientèle: typical breakfast fare but has healthier options with their Superfoods menu. Must try is their Pineapple Ginger Mojito and Nasi Lemak! :) If you want a bit more privacy when topping up tans or lounging, the rock pool is a better option and it's right next to Tide restaurant as well (look for the thatched-roof cabana facing the beach for a more private lounge area). The big infinity pool has a swim-up bar which is quite awesome and has designer lounge chairs facing the ocean. Our favorite was Breeze because it has sweeping views of the resort and the Andaman Sea and has a private couch nook at the front.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear julie_tsunami,

First of all thank you for your valuable feedback and we are truly delighted you enjoyed your previous stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our unique pool and others facilities which have met your expectations. We are delighted to hear your good words about our rooms .These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You’’. We also glad that our friendly and helpful associates was able to accommodate and giving their best service during your stay. Thank for recognizing our Westin Gear Lending program which designed to help you pack light and stay fit whenever you're on the road. Moreover, thank you for recognizing our wide range of signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and recommending some of the best food and beverages fresh from our kitchen. We appreciate you mentioning our fresh water rock pool; which captures the healthy essence of fresh water, artfully landscaped with rounded boulders and surrounded by lush tropical foliage and our infinity pool which will amazed anyone with it endless stretch of blue sky and azure Andaman sea view. We glad you have a relaxing yet luxurious experience in our Breeze bar. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our resort for another rejuvenating stay again

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here. We were upgraded to a Garden room which was pleasant to look out on to. The room was very comfortable, appropriately furnished and clean. We had a small issue with ants on the first morning, but the staff dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently. No more ants were seen!

The daily breakfast was great. So many options for differing tastes, decent coffee too. The freshly squeezed OJ was a highlight for me.

We dined at Tide twice and once at the theme buffet. The prices were as expected for a resort restaurant. I'm sure there a cheaper places nearby to eat, but after factoring in taxi fares and effort there probably wasn't much in it.

The pools... oh the pools. Lots of sun (and some shade) beds available poolside. We found some that were hidden down below the rock pools looking over the beach. Very pleasant place to spend the afternoon, reading. The infinity pool effect was slightly disappointing due to the metal railing that is presumably there to stop drinks toppling off the edge.

All the staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and welcoming. Highly recommended resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear clairefie,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa and you have enjoyed 3 nights stay here with us. We are delighted to hear your good words about our rooms and we glad you loved the room upgrade for you to enjoy the wonderful view of the resort from your room. Thank you for recognizing our wide range of signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and dine at our Tide Restaurant. We appreciate on your great remarks on our unique pools especially our fresh water rock pool; which captures the healthy essence of fresh water, artfully landscaped with rounded boulders and surrounded by lush tropical foliage. It is also very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. However, we would like to apologize for the shortcomings which you had faced during your stay. We appreciate your recommendation towards our resort to the world and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband, 14 yr old daughter and I recently spent 6 nights at this amazing resort. Check in was the smoothest - we were seated, given cool drink and refreshing cool towel. We were offered a reasonable rate for ocean view upgrade and so glad that we did. The room had a balcony and view over the main pool (there are 3) and down to the beach - which is small but cleaned daily.

Staff were always attentive and we loved the "happy hour" cocktail/mocktail each night. There are BBQ nights (seafood and meat/chicken) held by the pool, weather permitting. We did find that the menus were slightly pricey so took advantage of the amazing breakfast, which is served until 11:30am so you can enjoy a sleep in before breakfast. We found we didn't need a large lunch and either ate in the one of the restaurants or walked/taxi into the town for a meal. Our daughter has food allergies and the staff/chefs really did their best to cater to her requirements.

The rooms are spacious, we had 2 queen size beds. The bathroom was modern with a large shower. There is a room safe and scales (great to weigh luggage). We found the beds not the most comfortable ever but that's a small downside.

It's a 10 minute walk to the jetty or shopping outlets or a short taxi ride if you're not into walking. we hired a car (through the hotel) and spent a day driving around the island. We were also surprised at the "brand outlet" shops in the town as well.

The pools are great the there is a tennis court, small gym (but has all that you need) and a kids club for under 10's. We did take advantage of the great Heavenly Spa and thoroughly recommend the Heavenly Massage - it truly was heavenly!

The resort is about 25-30 minutes from the airport and I would certainly recommend this resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 2306 - 2316 are beachfront on the main restaurant level and overlook the main pool/bar. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear MegErPhil,

Thank you for your time to post this inspiring review on our Trip Advisor .We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and we are happy to know you have a great experience with our seamless and sensory welcome check in . We are delighted to hear your good words about our rooms and room upgrade for you to enjoy the wonderful view of the resort.These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You’’ .Thank you for mentioning Heavenly shower and it is also very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. They truly the hearts and souls of the resort! .Moreover, We glad you enjoyed your overall dining experiences and the extended breakfast hours with our SuperfoodsRX cuisine. We delighted to know that our chefs able to catered your daughter needs during dining. Thank you for mentioning our unique pool and others facilities which able to accommodate you during the visit.We glad you mentioning our award winning Heavenly Spa which had immerse your mind, body and revitalize your soul in a peaceful sanctuary of serenity . Thank you for endorsing our resort to the world .We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.