We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort; poolside service needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Pay 2 (FREE NIGHT)
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great resort; poolside service needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a great hotel and resort for a weekend break. Room was spacious and clean (twin room contained two queen sized beds). Pool area was nice and had plenty of loungers in the shade.

We were informed on checking that breakfast was available until 11.30, but when we arrived at the restaurant the next morning were told breakfast had finished early due to a function. This was quickly resolved by bringing us breakfast to our room.

Service at the pool area could be improved - lots of staff around, but very few taking orders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Liz880,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. We are glad you had a great time staying with us during your weekend break and appreciate you encouraging remarks about our beautiful pools and nicely rejuvenate rooms. I appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention in regards to the service from Splash poolside bar for further improvement. We are anxiously hoping to see you real soon for another rejuvenating stay here with us at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    573
    214
    71
    45
See reviews for
521
898
42
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Westin Langkawi is a really nice resort. I would stay here again just for the beautiful views from the lobby bar and pool. Also, the breakfast buffet is great and has free flow mimosas. However, there were many things that left us quite disappointed with our two night stay over Easter long weekend 2014:
- our room service did not leave us with any new towels or bottled water. So we came out of the shower wet with no way to dry off and woke up thirsty in the middle of the night with nothing to drink.
- we arranged the hotel car to take us to our catamaran at 9am and pick us up at 430pm. We had an email confirmation. But while we got dropped off, they never came back to pick us up. Even after reminding the driver who dropped us off that we had a pick-up at 430. As we had not brought any cash with us we ended up having to ask strangers for money for a taxi back to the hotel. And despite numerous complaints no real compensation was offered.
- three times we requested a bucket of ice for chilling wine, and each time we got delivered a small bucket of ice for mixing drinks that would not hold a bottle. After the first two mistakes I was very very clear on the third request which I made in person at the front desk. And still we got the wrong ice bucket. So annoying.
- we ordered a bottle of wine at Tide Restaurant but were instead brought the wrong (more expensive) bottle and charged the higher price. We only discovered this error last minute during check out.
- our "Garden View" room had a tiny dark hole of an outdoor sitting area. Really ugly and unpleasant. Make sure you pay the extra $$ for the ocean view. It's not cheap but trust me it is terrible not to have it.
- upon arrival at the airport we got picked up by the hotel transfer car in an ugly little Toyota. Not what you'd expect from the Westin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Nathan F,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We would like to thank you for highlighting our beautiful resort, magnificent view and unique pools also recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Our stylish buffet breakfast is well-known by its widespread variety of nourishing food with a free-flow of sparkling wine which provides every guest a luxurious yet renewing breakfast experience.
On the other hand, we was very disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience due to some lapses that you faced during two nights stay. We truly understand how frustrated it can be, me and my team would like to apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. We have taken note on your comments of the poor services rendered by our staffs, and a retraining is on the way to avoid similar occurrences in the future. Despite the challenges you experienced we would take pleasure in welcoming you back for another occasion so that you could experience the resort as it is meant to be.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel was lovely - beautiful setting, nicely decorated room, great pool and a fab breakfast buffet. However I hadn't realised there was no real beach to speak of here and it wasn't very nice to go in the sea here. View from the pool was great over the bay. The hotel is quite remote so has a captive market on food and beverages making it very pricey. We got a cab into Kuah a few evenings but there were no really good restaurants with any kind of view.
Nice hotel but if you have gone all the way to Langkawi, you want a white sand tropical beach...

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for the ones with a view over pool or ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Raj B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments during your recent stay at our resort. We are glad you had a great time and enjoying your stay in our rejuvenated rooms, also for recognising our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. In regards to the beach, we do agree that the our beach here obviously not blessed with the best beach. It was a great pleasure for us to serve you and we hope to welcome you for another renewing stay with us.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's only fair to rate this compared to other Westins.

It's a great hotel, but a bit tired.

Here's the good and bad.

***GOOD***

* Amazing location. Simply beautiful
* Clean, large rooms
* Free-flow champagne w/breakfast!!
* Food very good

***BAD***

* The pool needs updating or repairs. The grout was all discolored and peeling away. Just felt really old and tired.
* The grounds could use some updating -- it was not lush at all, no flowers, or bushes, or that many trees

But overall a great hotel for a weekend getaway. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear twaterwoman,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort and spectacular location and for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Our stylish buffet breakfast is well-known by its widespread variety of nourishing food with a free-flow of sparkling wine which provides every guest a luxurious yet renewing breakfast experience. I have taken note on your comments about the pool condition and the ground, I have addressed this with my team immediately. It was a great pleasure to have you and I hope that we may welcome you again if your travel plan bring you here.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice enough resort, but when I saw a snake on our balcony last night, with sleeping children in the room, I was quite upset. I didn't want staff coming down and waking the kids, so first thing in the morning I went up and explained the scenario. Got admonished for not reporting it immediately. They waived breakfast, but a poor substitute for a really upsetting experience. When you pay for luxury you expect it, not snakes and a telling off. Very disappointed and wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Don't go with garden view you might get a snake from the bushes on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Greentbd,

Thank you for chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your stay in Langkawi. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. I am sorry to hear your experience about a snake on your balcony and I have addressed this with my team to avoid future re-occurrences as this was a natural habitat that may occur unexpectedly. Living in the middle of the nature we are treating the resort regularly to minimize insects or other creatures. I understand from your comments that you might not return but I hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is our fourth stay at this wonderful resort to celebrate my wife 50th birthday, both my wife and myself have been lucky enough to stay at the best resorts in the World, but this by far and away out stripped them all.
It really is just heaven on Earth. From the moment we arrived at the resort, until leaving 3 days later, everything was just how you imagined it to be and more, The staff are very friendly, always smiling and very willing to assist with any matters. The pool & the breeze bar is really amazing.
 Although it is a big resort you have a choice lazy around the pool or swim on you own private beach or take a walk around the resort wonderful gardens.

We found the Concierge to be very helpful, and if you want to get out of the resort, they are quite happy to point you in the right direction to other restaurants on the Island.(I would recommend the dinner and show by the pool it has to be, if not already, the number 1 in the World .
Amazing that`s how we describe this resort. If you are thinking of tranquility and peaceful relaxing time & looking for that 5 star treatment away from all the built up we would seriously recommend it.
We would like to thank Mr. Fadzil Hassan manager of housekeeping and his staff for a wonderful memory they gone out their way to make this event a memorable one for us thank you.

We will be definitely back for our 5th visit.

Mr & Mrs Faisal Lakmas

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Vince L,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, and I am glad to know that this is your fourth visit with us. We appreciate very much your encouraging remarks about our wonderful resort, unique pools and private beach. On the other hand, it is also very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates specially at concierge department, as they truly are the heart and soul of the resort. I am truly delighted to know that one of our associate, Mr Fadzil were able to fulfil your needs during your stays. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and I hope that we may welcome you again for your fifth visit.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel was very good. The setting was fantastic and scenery was amazing. The only downside was Kuah town is very poor so hotel was quite isolated and food and drink was a little expensive but very good quality.

The kids facilities with the exception of the pools were only average, the ply ground was tiny and poor so never seemed to be used. Still had a great time though.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are like two double beds which is great for family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mancste2014,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, magnificent and amazing view. I appreciate your comments about the kids facilities such as pools and play ground. I will ensure that we better handle your said issue to improve our service standards. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and I hope that we may welcome you again.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.