We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel for a any kind of stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb hotel for a any kind of stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants good quality place to stay for any sort of occasion - provided you can afford it! The check-in process was effortless and was personally attended by this very informative customer service representative. We asked to be checked in to for the newly renovated rooms recommended after reading other reviews posted on TripAdvisor. Westin is known for their beds and the room is pretty spacious. It has a modern settings with everything almost new in the room. The breakfast spread was amazing. So much too eat and if you're the type who could stuff in enough to get by lunch, then you won't be disappointed. Didn't check out the spa but the pool was excellent. We rented a car from the airport but I'm sure this hotel provides transfers to Kuah town.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to book you in the newly refurbished rooms. The rooms are beautifully done up and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear taggnas,

Thank you very much for sharing these priceless feedback. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you are comfortable in our newly renovated room. The finished look of refurbishment reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand’s philosophy of Westin, For a Better You – and positioned as the benchmark for superior product quality on the island, ensuring that our guests indulge in a relaxing and rejuvenating Westin Journey. Thank you also for highlighting our SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast which is well-known by its widespread variety of nourishing food with a free-flow of sparkling wine providing guests a luxurious yet renewing breakfast experience. Last but not least, thank you very much for recommending Westin as a brand to everyone! It was a great pleasure to have you with us and I hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    898
    500
    199
    65
    37
See reviews for
450
776
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I travel frequently and am thrilled I got to experience the Westin Langkawi. Superb site, well maintained, friendly staff, great food, wonderful facilities. A great romantic retreat for honeymooners or even a place to bring the kids (they'll love the rock pool).

Cannot recommend it highly enough - brilliant!

Room Tip: Facing the pool means a great view - but out back means really serene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear WallyBalloo,

Thank you very much for you kind review. I appreciate a lot your feedback recognizing our accommodation, services and facilities. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and a special thank you for your recommendations towards The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you again for another renewing stay with us.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel, Westin' in Langkawi is one of the most luxurious and beautiful hotels i have been to. The food, especially the breakfast buffet has a fantastic wide variety of choices. The dinner has interesting themes which are very tasty. The rooms have nice view of the beach.The rooms are fancy and set at a high standard. We had a fun time. The kid's club is also very good and keeps the kids occupied. Overall, I had a excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sarah N,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is very kind of you to highlight our cuisine and I am so pleased to know that your dining expectations were met and I am sure the chefs are pleased to know that as well! I appreciate a lot your feedback recognizing our rooms and Westin Kids Club®. We hope to welcome you and your family back here in the near future.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Everything about my stay here was fantastic, I would recommend it. I attended a family wedding, and it was truly amazing. Would love to go back. The staff are Friendly and helpful, the breakfast had excellent choices, the beach was gorgeous and the 3 pools with lots of sun lounges, gave us lots of choices to simply relax.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear smac77,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback. I appreciate for your kind words with our relaxing atmosphere, private beach, unique pools, friendly associate and SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and a special thank you for your recommendations towards The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. My team and I are looking forward to welcome you for another rejuvenating stay with us.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Been to Langkawi couple of times, but decided to stay here for the first time after reading much of the mixed reviews on the TA forum. One of the reasons for choosing this hotel is the amazing view overlooking to sea at the Infinity pool {1 adult infinity pool - 4ft, 2 children pools (1 ft & 2 ft), and 1 rock pool}, its privacy & serene location, in addition to its close proximity to Kuah town (less than 5 min drive) with plenty of food choices & duty-free shops available. Loved to swim at the Infinity pool as the water is not cold, but rather lukewarm.

Checked in on 20th April for a 2 nights stay. No complaint about the Superior Newly Renovated Room (take note Superior Room doesn’t have any view nor balcony, it only has driveway view).
Room come with amenities such as overhead shower (no bathtub),DVD player, wide screen flat TV, coffee maker, ironing board & personal in-safe etc. The only dislike is the bathroom glass panel which is visually transparent when one taking showers (no privacy if you are sharing room with your mate or friend).

Check out was pretty fast with the assistance of friendly Ristinto. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of choice (with free flow of J.P. Chenet wine). We are glad that we “chanced” up with the outgoing Minister of Tourism Malaysia at the “Seasonal Tastes Restaurant” on the Sunday morning breakfast.

You may want to make yourself comfortable by relaxing at the Westin airport lounge located at the departure hall before your journey home.

Overall, it was a good stay & enjoyable one.

Room Tip: choose newly renovated rooms. Take note that Superior Room only has driveway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear kristopherKL,

Thank you very much for your precious feedback. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our peaceful location. Our resort situated on private beachfront yet it is only one kilometer from the main harbor of Langkawi, three kilometers from Kuah duty-free shopping centers. I am always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, our resort offer wonderful panoramic views of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and the endless stretch of the blue sky. I appreciate the highlight on our unique pools, and our infinity pool is definitely one of the main highlights of our resort. Besides, I am glad that you are comfortable with our check out process. Thanks for highlighting our SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Our stylish buffet breakfast is well-known by its widespread variety of nourishing food with a free-flow of sparkling wine which provides every guest a luxurious yet renewing breakfast experience. My team and I are really grateful for your comments and we wish to welcome you again.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in another 5 star hotel in langkawi prior to staying at the westin. Service was extremely poor across the entire hotel from waiting too long for meals, to waiting over an hour to have our luggage delivered. the hotel had beautiful views however after booking a sea view room and then receiving a room looking out at a tree blocking the majority of the view. Problems seem to be isolated to this particular westin because others have been fantastic. service compared to other 5 star hotels is way off the pace.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear jamesmck89,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I was very disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience on your stay due to some lapses at services. My apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. Please rest assured that all your feedback and reviews have been acknowledged and taken note of, and have been informed to respective departments in order to look for immediate improvements. I can only hope if you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you and to show you our improvement on your next renewing stay.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Even though this hotel is not near restaurants or shops there is no need leave the hotel. Breakfast is great with plenty of choices, 2 restaurants and lobby bar are good for dinners and the pool bar is good for lunch if you are still hungry after the big breakfast also a short walk to the yacht club for dinner is a nice option, wi fi in the lobby was excellent. Half an hour taxi to Cenang beach has plenty of casual beach restaurants try Raffis, especially the green curry yum. We were a party of 5 mums and really enjoyed this hotel would highly recommend. Friendly staff and cheap meals.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear LloydMelbourne,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I appreciate a lot your feedback recognizing our SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast, Breeze lounge and Splash poolside bar. Also, many thanks for highlighting out associates and their services. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and a special thank you for your recommendations towards The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you again for another renewing stay with us.

Be well,
Michael Schlueter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.