We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambong Ambong to your Saves list
Ambong Ambong
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

12th Aug'13 Excellent service provided by all the staff! The rooms are beautifully done and very clean.
The bed is very comfortable with enough pillows for you to rest.The bathroom amenities are more than sufficient. Unlimited free wifi.Well-equipped rooms and kitchenette.
The services of staff are excellent, esp Nizam and the manger Anna.
Location is the best that you can get because you can enjoy the best of both worlds as in lush green tropical forest as well as a minute walk to the beach.

The only two drawbacks are:
1. You have to take a cart to reach the hotel room since it is located on a steep hill.
2. There's no Restaurant in this Hotel. Though the provision of breakfast is there, the staff fills your kitchen with breakfast every night which is sufficient.
3. This Hotel is not at the beach. Hence the pain of going up and down steep hill to relax at the beach is cumbersome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We wish we are in a rainforest by the beach, but we are not. Our claim to fame is we are one of two hotels in Langkawi that has a rainforest environment ( and the only one 5 minutes from a shopping mall) whereas there are many beach hotels.

The staff is ever willing to drive our guests who want a ride to any of our beaches. The steep climb can be trying especially after a long day, but the driver is on duty daily until mid-night to take our guests up to their rooms in the buggy. By early next year our health food cafe should be ready.

Thank you for the great review and for the helpful comments. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
95
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolutely love this relaxing resort... The staffs are friendly & helpful! The late lazy breakfast in the room is so enjoyable. Sunset view from the cottage is so romantic for couples! Toilet cleanliness is good. Comfortable bed & pillow, which make me lazy to get out from the bed. Seafood restaurants are reachable in 5 mins driving distance. Overall is excellent for a relaxing stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review which very succintly captures our ethos, friendliness, comfort, relaxation and comfort within a natural rainforest.

Please come back again to stay in our new suites and enjoy the great views of the Andaman sea from the balcony while soaking in a wooden bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfect! Rooms are great and the staff is extraordinary. The hotel is placed close to the jungle and is great to relax. The Beach and several restaurants are only a short walk away!
If you are looking for a hotel to relax that is not too far away from beach and Night life... this is your stay!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for being so appreciative. Every compliment we get , encourages the staff to try even harder and later this year we will be introducing several innovations that will make our guests enjoy their stay even more. Please come back and sample our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our stay at the Ambong Ambong was fantastic.
The room, views and the service was stunning.
Monkeys swinging through the trees, a nice relaxing pool to cool off in every afternoon and a lovely breakfast each day made our stay very special.
A big part of this was the staff at the hotel. The service was exemplary. Small touches such as bringing us a beer whilst we sat by the pool were very well received.
The hotel is a bit out of the way, but there is a lovely beach 5 minutes away and some great restaurants within 10minues. The Jamaican themed bar around the corner is very chilled and Unkaizan is one of the best Japanese restaurants I’ve ever eaten in.
The management deserve a lot of credit for how they have designed the hotel and the staff they employ. We were travelling around SE Asia last year and I always look back fondly at our perfect week at the Ambong Ambong
I can confidently say that without doubt, this was our most pleasurable hotel stay ever.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We try to make our guests feel as if they are staying with kind and thoughtful friends in very comfortable surroundings with helpful but unobtrusive staff always at hand . I am glad we were the highlight of your holidays and please visit us again.

P.S. You were lucky Nizam gave you a beer. He has been known to offer guests a lethal cocktail of his own concoction. Maybe he will get you the next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a studio room at Ambong Ambong for a just a Saturday night stay for 2 of us on a quick couples retreat. We couldn’t be more please with the accommodations, the staff, the service, the location… all top notch and at $175/nt taxes included an extremely good value.

The room itself is very thoughtfully laid out, with 3 spacious sitting areas, a balcony, a kitchenette, tons of closet space, and a sufficient bath room. The contemporary décor, tile floors, and modern amenities were accompanied by many tiny useful details that elevate the stay to another level; for example, mosquito repellent coils for sitting outside, a bottle opener/corkscrew, remote control for the AirCon, a sarong complete with instructions on how to tie one, a handmade bag to store the extra toilet paper, your own umbrella and sandals in the foyer, a laundry basket for dirty towels, ceiling fan on the balcony, room darkening curtains to separate the kitchenette and bedroom areas, and so many more. We’ve stayed in so many hotels and resorts, but this one had my wife saying that this was “by far the best room we’ve ever stayed in”. The room also included a continental breakfast already in the fridge, ready to serve and eat on your own private balcony whenever YOU are ready – no need to rush off to some common area before they close like bigger resorts – and included fresh local fruits, a variety of breads (toaster provided), juice, milk, coffee (real ground coffee with a French press – just like home!), jams, local honey. The fridge is also stocked with sodas and beer at no extra charge.
The property itself is, as noted, located on the side of a very steep hill. You may opt for calling the hotel office and they will pick you up at the base of the hotel property and drive you to your room, although the stairs up provide a short well-lit walk up through the lush forest and flowers (I’m a frequent hiker so no complaints from me). The designers have done a wonderful job inserting the facilities into the hillside without diminishing the natural beauty of the place, and you truly experience the splendor of the rainforest here, yet still with a decent view of the water and sunset. Ambong Ambog is also conveniently located just a brief 5 min walk from numerous dining options, stores, and pubs, and of course, the beach itself.
I can’t say enough good things about the staff here: very friendly, helpful, and accommodating to our needs and requests.
If my journeys ever bring me back to Langkawi, I will definitely be a repeat guest at Ambong Ambong .

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views - try Room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
..
One of our earlier guests told us that the perfect holiday for him is a holiday when he can do all the things he does at home in a different setting. In some way, this has been one of our objectives: provide our guests all the comforts of home ( but minus all the domestic chores! ) and the option of doing something different if they want to ( parasailing, yoga, Ayurvedic treatments and so on).

Can we flatter ourselves that in your case, we achieved that?

And most certainly you will return; there is a local belief that once you have swum in the Lake of the Pregnant Maiden ( which I think you did, if memory serves) , Langkawi beckons you forever, be warned !! ( LOL)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I and my family stayed three nights in ambong-ambong hotel, they are provided us a great experience in rainforest environment and the hotel room was warm enough. The most excellent part is they are provided a super nice services to us. Even though this hotel is not provided any kids activities, their staffs were concern on whoever bring along their kids. I was very relax during my trip and very enjoy on their special arrangement for my anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the review. Come back again and try out our packages of yoga, Ayurveda, massage, meditation and nature walks that are designed to heal the weary body and soul.

Alternatively, effective from mid October, you can choose specially designed packages that allow you to do most of the above in the privacy of your own suite under the direction of a personal instructor. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed three nights in ambong-ambong and were more than satisfied. Anna and Nizam gave us a warm welcome, the apartment was very nice and clean and the surrounding sound of nature made it perfect.
The staff was always helpful. We could relax at the refreshing pool and did some yoga at the wooden deck next to the pool. All in all it was more than we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for a great review, and if you enjoyed the yoga and the natural surroundings, please come back because we are pushing ahead to develop that aspect for our guests. A new deck for yoga and meditation is being built right now and we are developing programmes so that during their stay with us , our guests will be totally immersed in a healthy, healing and relaxing life-style, so do watch out for this space
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambong Ambong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.