We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chips!! amazing view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Fish & Chips

Scarborough Fish & Chips
Lot 1388 Jalan Tanjung Rhu, Langkawi, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 272 restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: English, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!! amazing view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You MUST come here for fish and chips!! for RM12 you get your deep fried battered moist dory fillet with homemade chips! totally awesome and in an amazing location! beautiful beach to sit on and lookout at the islands!! go drive there and check it out!! unreal!

very small so wait for a table or sit on the sand- it is worth it if you like a good fish and chips!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    54
    32
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came across this restaurant on a drive around the island. The view from the restaurant is stunning and the food was so good we went back the following day to try another dish, we were not disappointed. We ate snow fish on our first visit and another fish dish the following day. All the fish was wonderfully fresh, well filleted and cooked beautifully. Would highly recommend this laid back restaurant, the food and location are brilliant. The beer is really cold and the free wi fi is an added bonus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stop here if anywhere....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were out for a jaunt and fancied a beer, saw a sign for SCARBOROUGH FISH AND CHIPS, but hey they offered drought beer on the menu.

You can't quite see the set up of this little gem until you park up and take a pew at this beach bar /shack, but the location is second to none. Vibe and food don't disappoint. got the impression that clients from expensive hotels choose to lunch here for obvious reasons.

The John Dory fillet & chips and it came with a side salad which was yummy. Staff great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Set a course for this place based on Trip advisor reports...it was a wet miserable day, turned torrential the moment we arrived...and whilst the location is logistically lovely, this was a wild and woolly weather exhibition.. So much so, they set up a table inside their workspace for us (we were the only patrons stupid enough to be out at the time)...they moved the whipper snipper, bikes etc.... They could not have been more accommodating
Bottom line went from "what have we done", to an absolute little gem of a meal...1 snapper, 2 barracuda and 1 mackerrel...and 4 well satisfied stomachs. The salad opener was lovely...with a nice cummin touch. The vegies /chips with the fish were very tasty. Forget the roof leaks, the lousy weather...this was an adventure to be well remembered for a long time.
Thanks Guys...this was worth the drive..& under $50 for 4 people!! Next time maybe the view can be appreciated better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place but got conned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I read a advert saying that by bring it along I'll get a 10% discount, when it's time to pay they told me because I'm not a foreigner therefore I will not be able to enjoy the discount, it wasn't stated in the advert. I was fine until the waiter told me to come back next round with the advert and he'll chip in 10% discount for me, which I find is a conned job.

Overall the food was alright, nothing special. The only part I'll rave about is the view. The view is prefect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Fish & Chips also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Scarborough Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.