We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Mid-Day Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Fish & Chips

Scarborough Fish & Chips
Lot 1388 Jalan Tanjung Rhu | Mukin Air Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
12-3522236
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 286 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: English, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Welcome Mid-Day Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Excellent fish , great setting and friendly service

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    43
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Loved this place. Very down to earth, but serving good honest food. Fresh and tasty fish. Batter not quite as light as another reviewer advised in the local guide, but pleasant nonetheless. Transport may be required to get to this place as its on the top righthand coast, but it was certainly worth the effort. Apart from offering great scenery and quiet roads to reach the cove, it is also set on a lovely beach, so you can swim during your visit too. Cool down with a beastly cold lager and enjoy. A welcome addition to the Langkawi Restaurant scene I would say.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

After hiring a car for the day (which we highly recommend) we decided to take a tour round the island. After visiting the cable cars we decided to take a drive out and came across Scarborough Fish and Chips and being British had to stop! Although it may not look much from the road the setting and the service will not disappoint. The staff were attentive and friendly and the food on offer fresh and well presented. The Dory fish and chips were lovely and the batter light and crispy - just like back at home. The setting is idyllic with lovely views and clean beach. If you eat at Scarborough Fish and chips you have free access to the changing room and shower so you can make use of the beach whilst you are there. Well worth the drive and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So good we went back twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is a hidden gem. Right at the start of Tanjung Rhu, the setting can not be beaten, the service is very friendly and the food simple but extremely good. They thoughtfully provided little childrens plates which were well designed for the purpose and little knives and forks. They even gave the kids toys to play with on the beach. The atmosphere was just so nice, with just a handful of tables. I couldn't belive how cheap it was for the quality and setting.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Laid-back gem - great view and food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had lunch twice at Scarborough and really loved the easy, laid-back vibe; fabulous food and extremely friendly and welcoming staff.
Although from the road we weren't sure about the restaurant (it's protected by a prefab concrete wall and there was a dog barking in a caravan as we walked up the drive), the moment we sat at one of the breezy tables with the fabulous view, we instantly felt we had found a gem!

Lulled by the sound of the sea and with sing-along '80's classics playing on the radio, we felt ourselves absorbing the relaxed vibe immediately. Service is friendly and prompt and the fish and chips (in English batter) were delicious. The owners are warm and welcoming, and they even lent our little boys some buckets and spades so that they could play on the beach, while we enjoyed the breeze, view and carefree ambience.

Scarborough is a true island paradise!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Fish & Chips also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Scarborough Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.