We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double room road side” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amzar Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amzar Motel
Save
You added Amzar Motel to your Saves list
Lot 1659, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 126 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Double room road side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a few reservations when booking here with the reviews it had got about the owner ,Well I can honestly say he has been great with us during our stay very helpful and friendly the rooms we stayed in are on front street might be noisy for some but we like to watch the world go by
staying here seven weeks in total while we go away the owner is looking after our luggage for us nothing is a problem we are on the top floor which they are brand new first customers to stay here come back again no problem

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I didn't actually stay in this hotel although they had a room available (95RM). I have to say i have never seen so unwelcoming and rude receptionist, aand i've been in quite a few places.

First of all, they won't let you see the rooms. He only yold us to look at the wall and check the pictures. No matter how we insisted to see the rooms. Well, after a while he mumbled something and basically escorted us out of the reception, locked the door on the way out and led us in the yard, pointing to one of the buildings saying "its in 2nd floor". We followed him with our bags, just to notice that suddenly we are at the 2nd floor waiting to see the rooms and the guy is across the yard in someplace that appeared to be his living quarters. He looks at us for a while and then just starts to walk back to the reception.

So no, you don't get to see the room. No, you don't get even a slightest bit of what could be called even a moderate customer service. And no, i wouldn't advice you to go and try this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

On 26 Jun 13, I send my Japanese friend to check in at Amzar Motel, the rooom looks nice however there was no air conditioner remote control provided in the room. My friend went to reception counter to ask for the remote. The owner, Hj Ismail was there and with a rude gesture he said ' I'm not providing the remote because I don't want people to play with it'..'You want to stay,you stay or you can find another place to stay'.. very rude explanation for an old man.
Have to very careful whenever you planned to stay at this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this place in the 45 ringgit a/c room. Great location, off the street and quiet. Toilet is manual flush - you use bucket and water, cold water shower. Walls are very thin, unfortunately on 2nd night our neighbour was making a lot of noise and tv on from 3.00am. Tv has no english speaking channels. Rooms could be a bit cleaner. Towels and soap are provided and the beach is across the road. I would stay here again. Each room has a little verandah and chairs and there are lots of places to hang out your clothes to dry. 50 ringit deposit is taken.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed there from 28-30 September 2012 in Room 402 (with balcony) at RM95 per night. That's the only room type available during our check in time. Average size room with two single room. Nice comfy mattress and pillow. Great water pressure with water heater.

The next day, checked the other type of room i.e. RM35, RM45 and RM75 and later decided to stay with the RM95 room. Really recommend to pay extra a bit more for more and better convenience. The only different with the other room types are the toilet. If you are particular with the toilet, then, I really recommend to take this RM95 room.

Service was good but the housekeeping didn't clean our room on second day, but that doesnt bother us much as we hardly spend our time in the room.

Location wise : very good and convenient to reach most part of Cenang attraction i.e. the Underwater World and beach. Fronting the Sandy Beach resort, this motel provides good value for money. Many restaurants alongside the road.

Room Tip: take the family room at RM95 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My friends and I spent two nights at this motel during our trip to Langkawi, and we weren't disappointed. The room pricing was among the lowest in Cenang Beach area, starting from RM 35 per night.
The RM35 chalet with fan was full, so the three of us opted for the air-conditioned chalet for RM45. Our room was very clean and spacious, comfortable for the three of us although it was meant to accomodate two people.
The toilet is very clean too, although they did not provide hot shower. But you wouldn't need a hot shower in the tropical weather.
The surrounding of the motel was quiet and peaceful, and there is a water dispenser in the middle of the compund where you can get free hot water or icy cold water. They also provided an iron for everyone to use.
There were some mosquitoes around, but since we kept the air conditioning on, we hardly noticed it.
The staffs are quite friendly, and they offered island hopping and Payar Island snorkelling package too.
There is also a convenience store right next to the lobby, and a restraurant at the other side. All in all, we were very satisfied with out stay and will definitely stay there during our next trip to Langkawi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

Was staying in Charlie motel (disgusting.) n was recommended this place by staff @ red tomato cafe.
So next morning checked it out with various other hotels etc.
Me & gd agreed on this place as it was quiet , best value n super clean with hot water air con balcony .
Staff friendly enough, free wifi didn't get it in room but didn't matter.
Location excellent right in the centre
Of everywhere n 2 mins from reception cross road down small side street path n bang white sand n beach!!
Recommend hotel n wud go bk!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amzar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amzar Motel

Address: Lot 1659, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amzar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.