We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Favehotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Save Saved
You added favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 119, Pantai Tengah, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay at the Favehotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My travel agent booked my accommodation at the Favehotel, Cenang Beach, Langkawi. I was a little taken aback at the taxi ride as the hotel seemed to be right out in the sticks and away from the main drag. However, the hotel does what it says on the box. The prices are extremely reasonable for the standard of the hotel. It is immaculately clean, the staff are over and above friendly and helpful and the entertainment is excellent. It is a 5 minute walk to the main drag, visible from the hotel, but well worth it for the peace and quiet. The brochure pictures do not do the hotel credit as the view from the rear of the hotel, by the swimming pool is simply stunning. pure jungle and greenery. For a budget hotel, it really takes some beating.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room at the rear of the hotel, away from trafic noise and a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    135
    78
    18
    23
See reviews for
54
140
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Very clean, good service, wonderful breakfast and lovely staff.
Very handy location, and a laundrette right across the hotel. A few minutes walk to the sea and everywhere.
Not too far from the airport. I think it cost us MYR 20 to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and that was good. Didn't notice a fitness centre but I think there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Contrary to a few reviews which talked about the hotel lacking in cleanliness, I found fave to be well maintained and serviced. Overall had a pleasant stay at fave. All major landmarks and beaches on this part of the island are at walking distance...
The breakfast though limited in variety was good..had tried the restaurant on a couple of occasions for lunch and found the food to be good though the service could have been faster. The internet in the room worked perfectly well and so was the reception on the TV and the AC. Overall no concerns really....
About the noise...the doors bang quite loudly by design, something which can be looked into. Otherwise unless you have a very noisy neighbor or a group deciding to have a nice chat in the corridor, it wont bother you much..
Had a pleasant stay for the 2 days we stayed there and will recommend fave to you if you are looking for a decent hotel which is centrally located..i.e. if you don't mind walking a few minutes...If you want to be ON the beach, then I guess fave is not the choice for you.

Room Tip: Even a road facing room does not get much noise as the traffic on the road is sparse
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pros:
- 5mins from Pantai Tengah, 15mins from Pantai Cenang by walking.
- Clean, with pool and quick wifi
- Live band in bar with nice food.
- Choices of food and spa in 5mins by walk

Highly recommended, you go Langkawi for the beaches, not the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately I am not able to give a good rating to this hotel even though I was fully aware of other opinions before I booked my stay. The fact that I lowered my expectation and still got unpleasantly surprised says it all.

First of all, the room cleanliness was not the priority of the hotel staff. Since my arrival I had a feeling that the floor in my room was not cleaned for quite some time... and then it got even worse. At least two times my room was not cleaned even though I asked for it and notified the house keeping that I was leaving in a few minutes. They promised to return, but no one cleaned my room and replaced my towels. When I came back it was too late to do anything about it. What is more, there were ants on my desk. The room was quite spacious and that was probably one of not so many advantages.

One of the biggest problems was the noise. I thought that other people were exaggerating, but it was all true. One could easily hear the neighbours or people walking in the corridors. What was even worse was that the staff using a trolley late in the evening to transport suitcases to rooms. It was so loud that a dead person would hear it.
There were times when they ran out of food, drinks, cutlery or seats during the breakfast and it took really long time to do anything about it.

The pool was so extremely shallow that it was not comfortable even for kids to swim in it. There was not enough chairs outside and they were constantly occupied by the same people (even when they left for lunch or whatever it was). There was no policy of using the swimming suit while in the pool or it was not enforced. I saw people entering the pool in their clothes many times and no one from the staff reacted on that.

Some of the hotel staff were helpful and had the right attitude, but the others simply did not care.

Taking into consideration that I was on vacation and my goal was to relax and leave all the problems behind, I cannot really accept the level of service offered by this hotel. Too many times I was disappointed with the service or even angry with different problems and that is the last thing that one wants to experience during a getaway. Definitely not worth the effort.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are way quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

a horrible cheap tacky hole of a place........

looks good from outside and thats the best part, staff have no clue, took more than 40 minutes for us to get checked in even with a printed booking confirmation from them.

they gave us the wrong room 3 times, we were booked into a quiet deluxe room but twice gave us standard rooms at the front of the hotel which is on a very busy road.

rooms are small, the air con switches off after 10 minutes use and then you need to remove and re insert the room key card
there is constant piped music in the corridors,
walls so thin you can hear someone having a crap in the toilet next door!!!!!!
internet signal is non existant even at the reception.
room key cards dont work after each use
breakfast items are not restocked once they are finished
rooms and showers dirty from last multiple guests
room cleaning consists of waving a vacuum around but not actually sucking anything up and straightening the bed sheet, rooms were often not cleaned until after 5pm.

hotel is far 20 min walk from the decent beach, crappy beach at end of the road though.

far better hotels around as we found out after making a few visits , they are a LOT cheaper along the beach strip. The locals were stunned at the price of Fave compared to normal rates
3x as much.

Fave...... just dont! An ibis is 10 X better.

Room Tip: room a back - front is ok if you like the noise of mopeds and cars tooting horns and revving engines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights on 18th Feb 2013 and 22nd Feb 2013. The other dates we opt
to stay in Berjaya Langkawi Resort.

The hotel gave us the front road view room which comes with a lot of traffic noise. Walls of this
hotel is really paper thin as I got a lot of noise coming from the neighbor. Sound proofing is terrible in this sense.

Room and bathroom looked new and clean. No mini bar to store your drinks and chocolates.
Tea and coffee making facilities were non existent in the room as well.

Buffet breakfast was alright. Nothing special. Not worth the money you spend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Address: Lot 119, Pantai Tengah, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fave hotel Cenang Beach is a brand new select service hotel located in Cenang Beach in Langkawi, Malaysia. It is the first of its kind on the island to offer such a perfect mix of style, functionality and good value. Leisure and business travelers not only have the beautiful beach at their fingertips but also a selection of facilities on site to accommodate them during their stay. Enjoy tasty snacks at the eclectic coffee shop, relax at the bar and lounge, soak in the sun at the swimming pool and roof top sundeck, or indulge in a spa treatment. Throughout the hotel is free WiFi as well as meeting rooms available for all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.