We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay if you have a car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi to your Saves list
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 119, Pantai Tengah, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good place to stay if you have a car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

cons: poor wifi connection, location not exactly by the beach, walls are quite thin,no fridge in the room, small rooms with not much views

pro:complimentary breakfast, albeit a very limited choice; staff are generally helpful.
pool is quite clean.hair dryer is also available

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    173
    91
    21
    25
See reviews for
71
171
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Price: Relatively cheap

Location from beach: 10 minutes walk

Amenities: WiFi, Bath towel, Shampoo, Toothbrush, 2 bottled water everyday, complimentary breakfast, safe box, TV (with 5 channel), hair drier, common water filter(hot&cold) in the public area, swimming pool, etc

Downside: No mini bar to store your beers and chocolates, the walls are not noise proof (it get's a little annoying when your neighbor decides to switch on their idiot box)

Plus side:
Friendly staff who are ever ready to suggest places of interest in Langkawi,
Tucked away from the main street of Cenang so it's a great place if you looking forward for a quiet getaway
Convenience shop right across the street
10 minutes walk to eateries along Pantai Cenang
20 minutes walk to Langkawi Underwaterworld
5 minutes drive to boat pickup/ drop off point for island hopping
20 minutes drive from Langkawi International Airport
35 minutes drive from Kuah town

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back of the hotel. At the time of my travel, my room overlooked green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Looking for a hotel with Internet connection. Rang them before I went to make sure there is one. Staff said "Yes, we have WiFi". So booked their deluxe room. Arrived at hotel at 1130 am, contrary to popular belief that they let you check in early, but not so. Staff took 20 minutes to check in a guest and I have to wait for so long before being turned back. I don't mind the bureaucracy of the system, but one staff is checking in a guest while three staff at the back leaning and chatting amongst themselves. There are few more people behind me.

Arrived back at 2pm. As my check in is completed, a guest has complaint Internet not working. Staff reassured us it will work in a short while. So went to my room and settle down before going out. The room is a lot smaller than it looked on the picture. Very very basic and bear in mind this is a deluxe room. When I came back I noticed the door is not locked and my door was ajar. Then realised the lock does not work. All this time while we were out!!! Called maintenance which were fixed promptly. Luckily not busy season so nothing went missing. Even left money on table.

Air-cond is not cold despite left on when we left. Shower does not have hot water. Told the maintenance staff and they just shrugged. Internet still does not work. Complaint to reception and all they can tell me "This is not the hotel's fault. If the things are not working, it is the suppliers' fault. They should be blamed". And I told them "No, the hotel is responsible for everything that is happening in the room. of course it is the hotel's fault". The staff response was and I quote exactly "Yes, it is the hotel's fault then. So?". All the other staff looked at me as though I done something wrong in the reception.

HOW RUDE! No apologies, no offer to change the room whatsoever, Bearing in mind my manner was good all along until the staff said "so?" and no apologies. Showers and air cond worked the next day.

Second day. The Internet works partially. You can only go to search engine. And this is another conversation I have with staff. "but we got wifi...". "But I cannot go anywhere". "You can go to Google", "Yes I know but it won't search and I can't go to other websites". "I know but our wifi is working just the Internet is not". What a load of rubbish. Another guest received similar treatment because he came down to complain as well. The staff defence is just "But you can go to Google!" even though i brought my laptop and show them that it won't search and won't go to other websites.

The Internet has not work throughout the 3 days that I have stayed. At least the manager (Chinese dude) has the courtesy to explain the reason and try to set my laptop up. He rang the TM people to try to fix it. That's all I want to see. At least try to do something rather than telling me suppliers fault bla bla bla. It worked temporarily but not working again.

Breakfast was crappy. They make fresh omellete upon request. Apart from that, the rice was stale (only the first day). Noodles were okay but basic. Small selection of cereals and fruits. Bear in mind this is my comment and I am not a fussy eater...

Me and my girlfriend sat by pool the final night and order a'la carte food. The food is actually better and good value. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Shame that their hotel service is crap.

My conclusion. If this hotel is new, so many things are already wrong. I dread to think how it will be when it operates for longer. This is worst hotel experience ever, I stayed in 7 inns in China and despite a lower ranking hotel (2 stars) at least their air-cond, shower, lock and Internet actually works. Room was bigger too. I also went to other hotels but they are higher stars than this one so not fair to compare them (which is obviously better) than this hotel, Good food though, so I would at least say it is worth a visit just to eat.

Very disappointed and definitely my worst hotel experience ever. I will not return to this hotel ever again. As a business manager myself, I understand things could go wrong. But what I am really pissed off about is that I got no apologies and they all just look at me like I was causing a nuisance. And I want to stress that I did not raise my voice at any time.I also want to point out that I went there in middle of October, so not even a high season. No excuse for saying "too busy" or whatever excuse they come up with.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are their most expensive yet still quiet small. Choose other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

hotel is very nice and clean... swimming pool is the best as its very clean and we dont get chlorine smell so its nice to swim for a long time... hotel staff is really nice and helpful. if you are planning a trip to langkawi do stay in this hotel they hav a store inside the hotel which wil provide you bikes for rent and all gud gud packages for water sports. we got all our packages from there and all the package were really gud. the lady in the store is very nice she wil help u to choose the packages so tat u dont waste your money.. everythin is walkable distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is much nicer than it looks in the photographs, so I was very pleasantly surprised! It is just off the Cenang beach, so you do have to walk a bit to get to the beach, but its away from the crowds and bustle, so that is a good point. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast has a good spread of local and continental cuisine.

Take the 35 RM island hopping tour from the hotel. Its so convenient and total value for money. Great fun and well organised!

The dining area is very open and great to relax. It opens out onto the swimming pool which has a spectacular background of hills, greenery and grazing buffaloes, very relaxing! Take a room that faces the swimming pool to get this view every morning!

However, the doors are very thin and allows all sorts of sounds to get in and out of the room, so sleep could get disturbed.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Overall the hotel is great. but the refrigerator is not available. The day after island hopping and day activities, a cold drink is a complimentary items! Cold & hot water is available near by the escalate. The buffet style breakfast include omelet, bread, salad, fried noodle & rice, coffee & tea, orange juice, cereal breakfast, fruits. It not so much choices but enough for me. The staffs are friendly and check-in & check-out procedure also efficiency at counter. Ventilation is a bit of the problem because the window not mobility.Sound proofing also need for improving.The hotel is near by the spa centers and restaurants approximate 5-10 minutes by driving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanbu al-sinaiyah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We always want to stay by the beach when we are in an Island, but we give this hotel a try for a night only, since its new, we love new hotel as well.

We changed the room because it was twin bed, we want a double size bed. they changed the room fast and easy. And give us a better view of the pool and the greenery behind the hotel.

colorful hotel, clean room, comfortable bed, delicious b'fast, near many restaurants. but location, not by the beach, quite far.

Room Tip: pool view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Address: Lot 119, Pantai Tengah, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fave hotel Cenang Beach is a brand new select service hotel located in Cenang Beach in Langkawi, Malaysia. It is the first of its kind on the island to offer such a perfect mix of style, functionality and good value. Leisure and business travelers not only have the beautiful beach at their fingertips but also a selection of facilities on site to accommodate them during their stay. Enjoy tasty snacks at the eclectic coffee shop, relax at the bar and lounge, soak in the sun at the swimming pool and roof top sundeck, or indulge in a spa treatment. Throughout the hotel is free WiFi as well as meeting rooms available for all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.