We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The English Tea Room

The English Tea Room
Casa Fina Avenue | Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
0060134912343
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Langkawi
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and had a nice and simple chicken sandwich and chocolate milkshake. It was a great escape from the hot and busy street and I would go back again. The menu isn't exhaustive so it's great for a light snack and to rest your legs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    64
    15
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice authentic English afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice little place in a corner just opposite the Underwater World. Had the Devonshire Afternoon Cream Tea which was very good. Authentic baked scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam. Good tea. Nice, quiet atmosphere, good for a chat with friends and family. Some nice decorations from England. Friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi District, Malaysia
2 reviews
“I will not come again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Price above average. "Amazing" to see their Chicken salad where you can only found 3 small slice of chicken. Definitely not a fresh salad while they served. Their Instant croissant is absolutely not worthy. In all I would not come again to this outlet...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were drawn to this place by the promise of a traditional English tea with 'home made scones' 'home made jam' and 'fresh double thick cream'.

The premises was quaint, very mis-matched and lacking any kind of charm but it was fine. Less like an English tea room and more like the dining area in a fish and chip shop. The tea was served in a lovely teapot etc. with fresh tea leaves which was really lovely.

As we waited we heard our scones go in the microwave? I can only assume that they are not fresh but frozen in batches after baking and then defrosted when needed. When they arrived they were piping hot (a little weird) with the sickliest shop bought jam and Anchor spray can cream...so that would be a fail on every one of it's advertised promises then.

Oh and for good measure, the cheesecake wasn't homemade either. I know it's not England but you could try a little harder. What a disappointment!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Expensive but not that good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The chicken pie had almost no chicken inside and it's very expensive. The service is too slow and everything overpriced. An expresso 5Rig it's a still.
For the price of a pie and an expresso we can have lunch at a restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Tea Room also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to The English Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.