We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The English Tea Room

The English Tea Room
Casa Fina Avenue | Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
0060134912343
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 285 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

They said they have the best coffee machine the island and I agree as my americano turned to be very good.

I also ordered corned beef sandwich and it was tasty. Their scones looked really nice (if I am not mistaken, it was freshly made in the cafe) but since I was having sandwiches, I didn't order it. Next time I am there, I will certainly try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    64
    15
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We'd just reached Langkawi and were looking for a place to grab a bite before exploring uunderwater world and chanced upon The English Tea Room. While the menu was not lavish, the pie, cake and ice-cream we ordered was great. It was a good break from the standard hotel menus combined with very friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The worse pie ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Me and my boyfrind was here a few days ago, the milkshake was really good. But the pie looked like puke inside all shortcrust pastry and was really disgusting. It was expensive and on the last page they had written in small letters that they adds 10 percent for service charge... In the middle of the meal came one of the workers and advertised her massage company for a few minutes. Really annoying!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor value and quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dropped by this place for tea in November with my family and ordered 3 sets of sandwiches and a pie as well as a milkshake and coffee. This entire order came up to RM70+ !! No issues paying that sum if the food matched the hype but I've tasted better. Friendly people manning the place though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Feel yourself in England during your stay on Langkawi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Come here when you tired of boring hotel breakfasts. Questions of the week. Don't forget to put coins into tipbox ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Tea Room also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to The English Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.