We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunset drinks venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Restaurant & Bar

The Cliff Restaurant & Bar
Lot 63 & 40, Jalan Pantai Chenang | Pulau Langkawi, Kedah Darul Aman, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+604 953 3228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 284 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Where white sandy beach meets the clear blue water of the Andaman Sea, The Cliff dazzles the senses with its ingenious contemporary design, charming views and beautiful ambiance – picturesque during the day, stunning at sunset, magnificent at night! Located at the end of Pantai Cenang on the west coast of Langkawi, this is the island's newest dining and drinking spot.At The Cliff Restaurant, we are innovating ways of enjoying awesome food, introducing accompanying wine enhance flavors and ways of preparing local delicacies in a fine balance Malay and western.
Surrey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great sunset drinks venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went to their Bar for sunset drinks on a friends recommendation .
Located at the Southern end of Centang Beach. Great to relax and people watch as the Sun goes down. We had a bottle of house white which was reasonable in cost and taste accompanied with bar snacks.

A must do!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    143
    50
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Best lamb shanks ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We went to the Cliff Restaurant without having heard anything of it previously, just thinking that it looked like a good place to watch the sun go down. We wanted to sit at out table and wait for the sunset but we were steered toward the bar. We had a cocktail while waiting for our table to be ready. (But there wasn't any table preparations being made). As it turned out this was the spot to be, with a lovely view of the beach as the light dissappeared and the beech life wound down.

I ordered the Langkawi style lamb shank dish. It was simply fantastic. probably the spiciest lamb shanks that I've ever had, certainly the best, most flavoursome that I've ever had. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great waterside location in Langkawi, wasted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place could be so much better. Give it a go but be realistic in your expectations. The restaurant was not busy. The food was ok. My rendang sirloin would have been so good sliced & medium rare. It was well done. The waiter was eager to please and intrusive to our meal.
Weirdest thing, I almost paid for the mix up over an expensive bottle of fizz when I settled the bill via card/pin at the counter, despite checking that it had been corrected when the bill was presented at the table?
We won't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely anniversary meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant a few days ago for our 1st anniversary. We went to the bar first for a few cocktails whilst watching the sunset. The bar and restaurant are both in a fantastic spot for this. Then we went into the restaurant for dinner which was lovely. The portions are large. My food was delicious and so was the wine and cocktails. The only downside was that the main course arrived literally as soon as the empty starter plates were taken away. This felt a bit rushed which we didn't want on our anniversary meal. I know this may suit some people but I think they should ask people whether they are ready for their main course as we would have appreciated a gap in between. Other than that our was fab.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely restaurant in Cenang! We were staying at the Meritus Pelangi and was about a 15-20mins walk along the main strip of bars and restaurants.

The restaurant itself is a lovely setting elevated above the sea and the staff were friendly and attentive.

We had Thai green chicken curry, mutton masala, mixed vegetables and two portions of rice! Both dishes came with a complementary glass of white or red wine and my fiancée had a liquor afterwards. The bill was £26, which for a lovely setting and excellent food was very good value indeed.

The only thing is the restaurant was very quiet so was nice and romantic but there wasn't a huge atmosphere. I think during high season with a full restaurant this place would tick all the boxes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to The Cliff Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.