We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Baron Resort Langkawi

Save Saved
You added De Baron Resort Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Baron Resort Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bandar Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 121 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I got this hotel on a really good deal on Booking.com. I would have been really disappointed if the price wasn't low. If you are planning on staying in Kuah and if you want a place close to the Jetty and if you don't mind an old damp room take the standard rooms in this hotel. Maybe the superior rooms are good. But the standard rooms were average.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    40
    21
    30
See reviews for
43
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room which had a great view of the sunset. The view was simply stunning. However, the same cannot be said about the room. The carpet in the room was dirty and no bottled drinking water was provided. It would be great if they can improve on these things. If you intend to go to kuah town, it is just a short walk about 10-15 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellence service from staffs and on-time room service.
I stayed here for 3 nights and I enjoyed the Langkawi Eagle view from the resort.

However, the room design seems to be a little bit out of fashion, a refurnish will definitely boost the level of the hotel.

It was not a bad choice to be honest, but if you have any better option, go for it..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is not bad. We got a room a nice big room and clean bathroom. Only downside is that the hotel maybe lack in manpower as dirty plates from room service can be seen stacked outside the corridor for the duration of three days we were staying over there.

Since we are staying on the opposite side of the main building, we will need to cross over the parking lot into the main building to access the swimming pool, beautiful sea view with great sunset and where the restaurant is located. The food is edible but it took them almost an hour to serve our food. Very slow service although there aren't much guests around.

The location is quite good as it is only 5 minutes drive to the town where stores selling duty free products are located. It is about 15 minutes drive from the jetty and 35 minutes drive to Pantai Cenang.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Front desk was hopeless, allow other guest to cut queue even i was there first & check in process was slow. Receiptionist ask to check in 1 hour later due housekeeping not yet done. After checking-in, we were told that our superior room is located across the road.When we entered the second building, the lobby looked old & with no one (staff) to guide us with the location of the rooms.
The room was reasonable big with spacious bathroom.Complimentary drinks (mineral water,coffee,tea) was given on the tv table.
Breakfast was just okay, with limited choices. Don’t expect service with a smile, We stay at this hotel for 2 days because of the beautiful seaview, especially during sunset, swimming pool was well maintain and its location very near to the town. Just 5 minit drive you will reach Wonderland Restaurant (food there was delicious & the price is reasonable).

Room Tip: Choose room that facing seaview more worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The goods: nice clean n big family room.nice pool for kids.great sea view from the room n pool.great staff n service.

The bads: there's no aircond from lift way to the room,its so hot....very minimal breakfast option n not tasty at all..

Tips:request for seaview room..its worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

i have read some review from internet and worried so much before i go to this hotel (because we book and paid for the room, cannot cancel).

for the reception part will be a bit weak, cuz less receptionist. we reached the resort and waiting the housekeeping cleaning the room almost 1 hour (we already checked in at around 2 something but they told us actual check in time is 3 o'clock)

at last, they arrange a very nice and clean room with the nice seaview scene for us, and we are not a fuzzy people so we can accept the room and the service ( i found the washroom lighting has been broken so ask them arrange technician come to repair, it's was done when we come back after our lunch)

i didn't ask for their service always, but satisfied with the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Baron Resort Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Baron Resort Langkawi

Address: Bandar Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Baron Resort Langkawi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your De Baron Resort Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Baron Resort Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Baron Resort Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.