We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for Perdana Quay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Blu Italian Ristorante

Mare Blu Italian Ristorante
B5-6, Perdana Quay, Telaga Harbour Park, Langkawi, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 272 restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Devon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor for Perdana Quay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate here once while on holiday and both suffered the next day with dodgy tummies - the only time we had 'issues' during our stay in Malaysia.

The pizzas were pretty average and we were slightly confused by the raw mushrooms and cold slices of duck that appeared on one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    53
    46
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great setting but otherwise....nahhhhh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch this week. Had calamari, which was fried in oil that should have been retired a day or so ago. This was followed by a prawn spaghetti for my wife, which admittedly was pretty good. However, I had a spaghetti carbonara, which was Just awful. There was loads of cream in the sauce and there were some strips of what was probably turkey "ham" floating in it, which tasted like cardboard and had the texture of latex. Carbonara sauce is a basic Italian sauce and there is no excuse for an Italian restaurant that wants to be taken seriously to mess it up that badly. Service was inattentive and slow. The only saving grace is the location. I recommend someone wanting a meal and a drink overlooking the yacht basin to choose one of the other restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just okay food - good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had an okay dinner there with the family , lots of choice, we ordered pizza which wasn't so good but my son had fish and chips which were better. Price was about what you would expect - service was very good and location is nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, excellent food and price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Dined here twice whilst staying at the adjacent Danna Hotel. Excellent food and service, food is well priced or cheap if your used to eating in Perth. Large menu with a great range of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value set lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Don't let the lack of customers deter you. The set lunches, which offer a pasta at RM20, pizza at RM30, and a grill item at RM40, are a great value. I got the steak, which was a proper dinner-sized portion, and came with a perfectly dressed salad, soft drink, and a homemade dessert. Conveniently located to the cable car.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Blu Italian Ristorante also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mare Blu Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mare Blu Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.