We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, place and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Blu Italian Ristorante

Mare Blu Italian Ristorante
B5-6, Perdana Quay, Telaga Harbour Park, Langkawi, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 320 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, place and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When we got sick eating in Cenang area, we ride scooter to Telaga Harbour. We expected we going to spent a bit too much money for dinner. But actually it is not as hurting as we think.
Beer at happy hour RM 3.00 per mug, still cheaper than Cenang's ransack bar (RM 5)
Steak came very good, my lobster was really nice.
Good view too and it is a proper dining place.
you pay same price for BBQ in Cenang, but at Mare Blue you get a proper food in proper quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DIYAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
851 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to eat, but be wary of the pasta dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When you stroll along Telaga Harbour with the gleaming white yachts and motor vessels, you spot the outside tables of Mare Blu from far; the tables are covered with spotless white tablecloths, Italian style. It is very inviting. A friendly waitress brings you the menu; the menu is a mix of Italian and general Western dishes. Generally, the service is right up to Malaysian Hospitality standards. My wife and I shared a platter of tomato bruschetta as starter; the bruschetta was freshly made and delicious. My main course was Fish and Chips. This dish was very tasty and the dessert, home made Tiramisu, stole the show. Sitting at an outside table of the restaurant, at the waterfront, with a view of the gleaming ships, is very pleasing. Why then, you will ask, stops the rating of the Mare Blu and the food at 4 points? I tell you why. My wife had a pasta dish with meat sauce for the main course. The tagliatelle was seriously overcooked, resulting in one big pasta lump, (not a little bit overcooked; you can wave that away, because cooking pasta to an ideal structure is a very precise job, but seriously overcooked) and this tagliatelle lump was literally drowned is the sauce. Although the taste of the dish was OK, I must advise the chef of Mare Blu to fine tune his knowledge on Italian cooking, especially on pasta dishes. I make a big point of this, because Mare Blu core business is of course serving Italian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Reasonable italian food for reasonable prices, nicely located in the Marina. The pasta all'carbonara was great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good value lunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We are stopping at Danna & have eaten twice here for lunch simple fare of pasta & pizzas the set lunches offer great value compared to the Danna tasty food & good service also the booze is reasonable prices especially on their extended happy hour 3 till 8 !

Helpful?
3 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife decided that she wanted a burger & chips, so off we went knowing that a really good burger was going to be forthcoming.
She never got her burger because we got sidetracked by the idea of the surf & turf platter for two. The meat, lamb & steak, was cooked to perfection & of a very good quality & soooo tasty, especially with the mushroom or pepper sauces. The salmon & lobster didn't disappoint either & the lemon butter sauce was great. The vegetables were also cooked superbly, being al dente rather than mushy or raw.
The puddings were great too, I had fresh mango & pineapple & my wife had the pannacotta & both were very tasty.
Another surprise was that happy hour lasts from 3:00pm to 8:00 pm when beers & certain spirits were all half price.
All in all, a lovely meal in a lovely setting

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manicmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Blu Italian Ristorante also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mare Blu Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing