We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Blu Italian Ristorante

Mare Blu Italian Ristorante
B5-6, Perdana Quay, Telaga Harbour Park, Langkawi, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 272 restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Norfolk.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife decided that she wanted a burger & chips, so off we went knowing that a really good burger was going to be forthcoming.
She never got her burger because we got sidetracked by the idea of the surf & turf platter for two. The meat, lamb & steak, was cooked to perfection & of a very good quality & soooo tasty, especially with the mushroom or pepper sauces. The salmon & lobster didn't disappoint either & the lemon butter sauce was great. The vegetables were also cooked superbly, being al dente rather than mushy or raw.
The puddings were great too, I had fresh mango & pineapple & my wife had the pannacotta & both were very tasty.
Another surprise was that happy hour lasts from 3:00pm to 8:00 pm when beers & certain spirits were all half price.
All in all, a lovely meal in a lovely setting

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    53
    46
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
““Great food! very crowded””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a great meal here last night. Really great pizzas and desserts to die for.Definitely worth a visit. reservation recommend.. & thanks for the staff.. also the price quite expensives..hihi..anyways,2 thumbs up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took a walk along the harbour on our first day and Mare Blu was the busiest restaurant which is always a good sign so we decided to eat there. We had a great view of the harbour and had a bottle of wine watching the sunset turn to night fall.

We have eaten there twice during our stay and both the pizzas and pastas have been delicious, but the pizzas have been our favourite with the thin base and cooked in the pizza oven. We were staying at the Danna and found the value for money at Mare Blu was great as two pizzas and a bottle of wine was 200 RM.

The only slight negative we had on our first visit it was a Saturday night and the restaurant was full but it seemed they were short staffed as we had to wait 20 minutes for some chillies and felt we were rushed through our meal. However the second time this was not an issue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to the Mare Blu early one evening, to watch the boats in a delightful setting.
The restaurant is on the Perdana Quay, in the Telaga harbour park, and most of the seating is outside on the quay side. The complex was apparently originally built to resemble a harbourside mooring in the South of France, and it is new, different and spotlessly clean.
We hadn't eaten here before so decided to try it. We weren't disappointed.
We ate the Filet Mignon, which was probably the best we've ever had, anywhere. Happy hour meant that the beers were half price until 8pm so we tried these too --good.
Everything was perfectly cooked to our liking and the steak was very large, served with jacket potato, with soured cream, and a ratatoulie with local vegetables, which was also good.
We returned on the 2nd night with the intention of trying more of the menu, but both decided on the delicious steak again, this time followed by a desert of fresh pineapple, mango, strawberry ice cream and a light ginger sauce - delicious!
Night 3 saw us back again: same menu as it was so good!
Good service, friendly owner, gorgeous place and a lovely ambience. Will definitely go back on our next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Delicious food.We loved the Mare Blu and ate there 4 times during our 10 night stay.The staff were very friendly and the location stunning.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Blu Italian Ristorante also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mare Blu Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mare Blu Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.