We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy, not maintained” 1 of 5 stars
Review of D'Coconut Hill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added D'Coconut Hill Resort to your Saves list
D'Coconut Hill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Gunung Raya, Langkawi, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creepy, not maintained”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days during our honeymoon trip and first of all we were happy that we had rented a car because its far from everything and you dont wanna stay in this hotel during the day.
Even at night... First of all it was quite creepy to walk arround in the hotel, for example one of the restaurants that they dont use anymore was becoming the housing of bugs and birds. The swimmingpool was not maintained at all. The food that we had their was so bad, the blankets that were laying on our bed have been laying their probably for a long time already and because of the height and the humidity, their was humus growing on our blankets.....

Positive things: rooms were really spacious and view from tower was amazing.

Its nice to go and visit the tower but please dont sleep in this hotel.
They could make such a nice place of it but it just needs a full new management.

Visited in september 2011

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    2
    18
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice family retreat
As a family we were looking for a quite place to spend few days yet close enough to the beach, and that when a friend suggested D’ coconut hill resort. We arrived to the place late at night and since we informed the hotel management earlier we found two members of the staff waiting for us at and he was very helpful as he took our luggage to the rooms as his colleague finished the checking in forms. Our rooms were very spacious, clean and the family loved it, the balcony was overlooking the pool and the view was simply amazing, the staff offered to send the breakfast to our rooms in the morning or to have it in the hotel restaurant and I honestly can’t remember the last time I had breakfast in bed, the food was nice and warm and the share was huge. the best experience was having a cup of coffee in the balcony as you are enjoying the fresh air and the nice view. before we depart for a tour in the island the staff asked us if we were interested in trying Malaysian meal in the evening and so we agreed, in the evening and after a hot shower we were treated a very nice meal that we couldn’t resist but to eat to our fullest. the second day and after another nice breakfast but this time in the hotel restaurant we were told that we can enjoy a nice view for the sunset from the hotel’s tower and it was really AMAZING, it lasted for one hour during which a member of the staff kept serving refreshments to everyone. in the end I would like to say that I will go back there again for sure, the place may not seem like a hotel for some people and that because it wasn’t constructed for that purpose (I don’t want to spoil the story for you) the staff and the manager were very kind and very reliable.
We simply loved it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Somebody, at some point, had to write a business plan for this hotel. Some banker must have believed in it.
The plan might have gone something like this:
- Let's build a hotel on the top of a mountain, 30-40 mins drive from the nearest tourist restaurants, banks, beaches or other attractions.
- Let's charge a lot of money.
- Let's give our guests nothing at all to do.
- Let's put in a swimming pool, but let's never clean it.
- Let's hire creepy, sunglasses wearing, indifferent staff from Egypt who have little interest or ability in making our high price paying guests feel welcome or appreciated.
- Let's make the absolutely worse food possible to feed them, as alternative restaurants are very very far away.

That should work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Overall the view was beautiful and clean hotel I stayed at and the beds were very comfortable. The people that worked there could not do enough for you. Our room was very clean, staff were very friendly, and the resort grounds are well kept. We requested for additional amenities and a late checkout and was accommodated without any problems.
You have to keep in mind that a lot of people reply when they have a bad experience, then they have to consider age differences, people with kids vs. those without, what they really want, etc. they have to consider all the variables. I personally trust the opinions of people that I know first. Especially if they tend to like the same things as me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I can see a lot of dissappointed guests regarding hotel's restaurant but never thought that it's too severe. 5 of us came to the tower and we wanna try 'DINE-IN BENEATH IN THE CLOUDS'. It is too DISGRACEFUL that the expensive restaurant have NO RICE eventhough Langkawi have extensive paddy rice but there's no rice in the hotel. Can you imagine that?? Shouldn't have any excuse for that because it's already printed in the limited ugly menu cards. (only have 2 menu cards and we have to sharing it like kids!) Worst come to worst when we have to cancel 2 orders because it's a snail who cook our food!! Still have a chinese family who just got 1 of their order although they've arrived almost 1 hour early than us. Rotten vegetables in our sandwich, bad fries no fried very well but the price is killing us!! SHOULD NOT TAKE A SPOON IN THIS RESTAURANT!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

first of all service was below par,location is a bit to the top,the weather cause the stairs to be slippery and allot of insects but the rooms were not bad and if your lucky to see the view its wonderful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We drove up to Gunung Raya and went up to the lookout tower. The employees were idling and smoking in the lobby and it stinks. I asked for directions to use bathroom and got a vague reply. I found it at all in the cafeteria which is dirty and dusty, with dead bugs and cobwebs everywhere. I quickly use the bathroom and ran out. Doors were missing from hinges and broken glasses, the place stinks and dead bugs and garbage everywhere. The place desperately needs to be torn down.
Do not pay RM10 to go up to the lookout tower. It is not worth it and very disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D'Coconut Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Coconut Hill Resort

Address: Gunung Raya, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#17 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D'Coconut Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your D'Coconut Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Coconut Hill Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Coconut Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.